Painting with a Twist

Paint and Sip

2527 Central Ave

St. Petersburg, FL 33713

Open Today 24 Hours

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

1 week ago
Fun! The staff were great!
Ally was a great instructor and made a seemingly difficult painting easy for us to complete and have a beautiful new decoration for our home. This place is great for groups and dates.
2 weeks ago
Highly Rushed
I am beyond disappointed with the class that we just took after speaking with a few other couples that took this class I feel these concerns need to be addressed. We just "finished" the hope and faith set class and I just want to start off by saying the instructors and the painting it self were awesome! Great concept but this NEEDS to be a longer class majority of the people I talked to tonight felt highly rushed which created an atmosphere of anxiety to finish which I know is not what taking these classes are all about. Now I have taken other classes at this exact location before and never felt rushed this way, this is a highly detailed painting and for inexperienced painters, it can be very difficult to keep up with the instructors. I believe only about 6 people got up to get their photo taken at the end because so many of us were trying to finish up. I understand you have you SOS classes but not all of us have the time to go in again and I'm sure a lot of us were expecting to hang these up on the wall as soon as we got home.This needs to be a 3-hour course there's just too much to get done in a two-hour time span, even the instructor said she was trying to rush to fit this all into the limited two hours we had tonight and she's experienced. I would have definitely been willing to pay extra money to spend even just an extra half hour on this painting. Just to sum everything up we did still have a great time and hopefully will be back again soon but this exact class needs to be longer. Downtown Saint Petersburg location.
Response from Painting with a Twist
Jeanie, Thank you so much for your review and comments. We are certainly disappointed that the class was not up to our 5 star standards that we expect. We will certainly talk with the instructor as to how we could improve on the steps so that this class can be finished in the 2 hour time allotted. It is up to the creating artist to determine as to whether a painting should be a 2 or 3 hour class so we will also talk with the creator since it was one of our studio's artists that created these paintings. We are happy that you still had a good time and plan to come back. If you still need to finish your painting and are not able to come in during our SOS class, we can certainly accommodate you to come in at another time to work on your painting. Sincerely, Leslie Gay
2 months ago
Quality time out!
My best friend and I have been to Painting with a Twist in St. Pete 3 times now! We always have amazing instructors and come home with some pretty cool paintings! Everyone is so friendly and they have a great sense of humor! I would definitely recommend for an evening out!
Response from Painting with a Twist
Kimberly, Thank you so much for the review and your kind words. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your classes with us and hope you will come back many more times. You have made our evening!
4 months ago
Middle School Here We Come!
Mary was AWESOME!! AWESOME! AWESOME!! I scheduled a party for my daughter and her friends who are all 5th graders. They had the BEST time and Mary was a patient instructor. We all had a BLAST. Thank YOU Painting With a Twist for being there for us to enjoy!!
Response from Painting with a Twist
Dionne, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you and the young ladies had a great time. We will be sure to let Mary know about your post. We hope to see you again soon!
5 months ago
Great time!
First of all, the instructor was super nice. My husband and I celebrated our 20th Anniversary doing things we've never done before...and this one of them. We had a blast and was very happy with the outcome of our paintings! Our son thought we had purchased them . LOL (love it )
Response from Painting with a Twist
Sheri, Thank you so much for your review. We love that you were able to do something new with your husband and that you chose to paint with us. It was a pleasure to have you in our class. Happy Anniversary!!!
6 months ago
Great night of laughs, friendship and painting
I attended a painting with twist evening tonight with my daughters. Bobby was outstanding!!!!!! He gave instruction along with laughter. I have previously attended another class in Tampa, it was okay...this one was outstanding. Bobby was conscientious, gave clear instructions all the while smiling and making us feel comfortable. I would ABSOLUTELY attend another class by Bobby. Oh, he also chose great music lol
Response from Painting with a Twist
Karen, Thank you so much for the great review! We appreciate your feedback and we will be sure to tell Bobby how much you enjoyed his class. You made my evening! We hope we will see you again soon!
6 months ago
The most money I've paid to be stressed out
First, let me say.... I am NOT an artist and this adventure was at least supposed to be fun. Several ladies at work had gone to the location in Tampa and said they had a blast. I booked a "date" with my hubby for Valentines day. Maybe that was my first mistake as there were 30 some people in the class. The instructor, Bobby Riedel, was a fast talker and a fast painter. He would instruct us to watch him and then not give us time to do what he had just done before he was on to the next step. Some folks would paint ahead of him so that they didn't fall behind. We were also told to get up and walk around (not once, but twice during the class) to see what everyone else was doing and say something nice about it. I would have preferred to focus on what I was trying to do rather than turn my attention to what anyone else was doing. Then he would choose someone's work in progress, have us stop what we were doing and turn our attention to another attendees efforts. His constant chatter added to the stress, especially when he reminded us that he had already completed two backgrounds and if we were still working on ours we needed to catch up. The one bright spot was a woman who worked there that walked the class and was available to help those of us without natural talent. She was kind and let me know that I could come back for a session to finish my work. Needless to say this "art" will go in the garbage so I'm not reminded of the fun I didn't have but paid for. Super disappointed. There are other studios nearby and I might give it another go someday. They can't all be like this.
Response from Painting with a Twist
Dear Cathleen, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate finding out the things that did not work in a class as well as the things that did work. We will discuss your review with our artist. We are truly sorry that the class was not fun for you as we really pride ourselves on keeping it an upbeat atmosphere. The painting you chose to do today did have a lot of details and many colors so painters would have had to move quickly through the steps to finish within the 2 hour time frame. You may find another painting much more to your liking. Also our weeknight classes tend to have fewer painters so more personal attention may be available. We are glad that Mary was able to give assistance. You are welcome to come to our SOS class on the first Saturday of each month to work additionally on the painting. Having been a customer before opening Painting With A Twist, I know that sometimes you connect better with a different artist. So that you do not give up on us completely, I am sending you a complimentary gift certificate for you to try us again.
7 months ago
Great quality painting and drinking!
I brought seven friends with me to Painting with a Twist and we all had a great time with the painting! Our instructor did a great job guiding us through the steps, although I was a bit slow with the drinks in me. She made sure to detail each movement on the painting and what kind of brush/colors/stroke needed. There were even small breaks and a little give-away contest inserted into the program. Some may find such a style a little slow, or restrictive, but the website gives you the chance to give comments about the painters' level of experience when signing up online. My final score comes not from my slightly wonky end painting end result but from the fact that you must bring your own drinks/food if you need to sober up; putting in an optional small bar and still leaving it up the the customer if they want to bring drinks could help propel this 'paint and drink' experience above others in the St. Pete area, although I haven't been to the others. Regardless, Painting with a Twist was a wonderful and rewarding time that costs a bit but with the step-by-step guidance to help you create your own work of art- even if you're drinking.
Response from Painting with a Twist
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with Painting With A Twist. We appreciate your recommendations and we will certainly take those into consideration. We hope you will return soon for another painting class!
7 months ago
Great Night, Great Fun, and Amazing Staff
This was my first time trying this as I went with a group. Duffy was so friendly as was his partner. They were helpful, comical, and willing to work with everyone at their own pace. Their easy step by step instructions were easy to follow and they provided so much positive reinforcement throughout the process. Having really no talent with art, they helped step by step through the process, added humor, music, and fun throughout the night. It was a great experience and I'm glad I had the opportunity to go and experience this.
Response from Painting with a Twist
Thank you so much for taking time to write your review. We appreciate the feedback. We will let our artists know that they did a great job. We are glad you found your inner artist. We hope you can come back and paint with us again soon!
11 months ago
Had a wonderful time, as did our entire group (& I assume entire class due to the energy throughout and broad smiles at the end)! Can't wait to do it again! Even as we were leaving our entire "crew" (definitely an appropriate term, as we are all either employees of, managers for, or own a pirate themed bar/restaurant!) could be heard exclaiming "When can we do it again???"!!! Our instructor was not only a gifted artist, but an excellent showman, so that there was never a dull moment! As an instructor he was also genuine and took time to make sure that all were not only enjoying their time, but making a work that they could personally be proud of; the instructor also made the lesson such that anyone-from someone with zero experience to someone who paints frequently on their own-could truly enjoy the class and experience in it's entirety. The "assistants" (for lack of a better term) were also very helpful and on the constant ready to re-supply paints, give tips, and keep morale high! I've personally heard everyone in our group literally say "That was the best time that I've had in a long time!"! So thankful for such a wonderful experience, and will definitely return! (Note: not that it really matters, but this review is coming from the one person in our group wh DOESN'T drink [i figured I'd add that in incase any other "non-drinkers" are tentative to attend a class]!)