Paola Family Dentistry

Dentist

21 W Wea St

Paola, KS 66071

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

paoladentist.com/

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

G
2 weeks ago
approved A+
well trained, gave lots of options, Dr. was very courteous and knowledgeable, very impressed with the dental hygienist, they know their trade well
R
2 weeks ago
Outstanding care and service. had a crown replaced. Everyone was very sensitive to my needs and made sure I didn't experience any pain or discomfort. Thanks!
B
1 month ago
Always very kind and professional and very good dental care Dr Howard an staff are very professional I have been with Dr Howard ever since he started his practice and I always think he gives good advice and let's you decide what you want to do. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a great dentist. Thank you B Creelman
L
2 months ago
friendly and professional care
S
2 months ago
Excellent
I am not one who likes any kind of dental work but I have found Dr. Howard and his staff to be excellent at taking care of my dental needs. He works very quickly and is always making sure that I am conformable while in the chair If you need dental work and are nervous about going to the dentist, I highly recommend Dr. Howard and the staff at Paola Family Dentistry. The prices are fair and the service is excellent.
D
2 months ago
Professional and Friendly
I am having a crown put in and will let you know more after a week or two after I have it. The initial part went well and now we'll see how the second half goes. Used advanced gadgets I have never seen before. The mouthpiece was awesome.
J
2 months ago
Professional Friendly Educational
Nice job, I was handled by 3 people all of which were highly professional. My teeth were cleaned in a gentle yet effective manner. I was educated on options moving forward but was not pushed for an up sale. AWESOME experience
B
2 months ago
I thought the staff was very nice and thoughtful of how I was feeling through the whole process. Everything was done in a timely manner and yes I would recommend this business to others.
B
2 months ago
June 20 appointment
I arrive early for all appointments, yesterday I was 45 minutes early, fortunately Dr Howard's office had a lull and took me in early allowing me to make it to a commitment on time later in the morning. The Hygienist Clarissa was very nice and we had a great conversation about chickens, turkeys and kids. She was also very efficient when it came to cleaning my teeth, painless and quick, she took the time to explain things to me, this was a very positive experience, which seems to be the normal at this practice.
H
2 months ago
Great dentist, employees need improvement.
The first visit was great, and I give them 3 stars only because Dr. Howard is good at what he does. It's hard to understand why my last visit went the way it did. My husband's been there to and was put at ease with their services. He was sceptical due to prior dental work elsewhere. There was an issue of them asking for payment as I was told my account was paid in full but during my husband's visit they told him I had a balance due. I didn't like it but they explained what happened and worked with us on payment. However the last visit was unacceptable. I couldn't believe how insignificant my dentist office made me feel. I was scheduled for a routine healthy cleaning, went to check out and they said I had a $45 copay, (It's supposed to be covered 100%) then said they'd know the balance once billed through our ins. The receptionist wasn't nice about it. I said how do I pay for services I didn't consent to and she said that's not how dentistry works, followed by I know it can be easy for you to get frustrated with us when it's really the ins. that is the problem. She told me that I should know what services are covered and that they check coverage as a courtesy. I told her I already called my ins. the day prior to verify what was covered and I told the dental assistant I didn't want services other than what was covered %100. So thank you for trying to make me feel that I was unworthy of services at your office and act like I knew nothing when in all actuality I did. I was so upset and started crying by the end of the conversation. She said I don't understand why you came back for the second visit since it wasn't covered by your insurance 6 months ago. So she was looking into my prior visit. I shouldn't have to explain anything to her but I tried anyway. They asked me to come back for a deep cleaning on a few of my teeth and I was told how much out of pocket it would be. So the visit prior to this last one I knew there would be out of pocket expense. That had nothing to do with this visit. The dentist later explained that most ins. bill a certain way after a periodontal cleaning has been done which is covered at %60 through my ins. They then have to continue with billing as periodontal cleaning instead of as a regular healthy clean that would be done every 6 months like normal that'd be covered at %100. (They were assuming my insurance billed a certain way even though they hadn't checked into it, because if they had, like I did, then they would have known exactly how to bill it.) Fast forward to later>>> I called my ins. back to verify what they were telling me as to why I would need to pay and why they had to bill this way. The ins. Co. assured me they didn't have to bill this way and it was my choice whether or not I wanted a regular healthy or periodontal cleaning. I went back in after I had calmed down and asked to talk to the dentist. She said how about we sit down and talk about it. She then made me feel that I wasn't good enough to talk to the dentist. I ended up calling after I calmed down again and asked to talk to Dr. Howard. Same lady says, did we not resolve everything for you! Again making me feel like I had no right to talk to him. (No you made me feel like I shouldn't be coming there because I can't afford all the dental care that I need!) That's what I should have said but I said no I don't want to talk to the receptionist I want to talk to the dentist. She was short, said I'll talk to him bye bye and hung up. He called back and explained everything in a nice way. Which should have been explained before I was sitting in the dental chair. Thank goodness the dentist is super nice. I wish people didn't look down on others and make them feel unworthy. Probably shouldn't assume that's what she was getting at but that's how it felt. Your small rude actions can really affect someone. For a brief time I was weak and felt like maybe I didn't deserve treatment but that's not how it should have been. It's a patient's right to choose where and how they want to be treated especially when they already know what their insurance covers! I shouldn't have been made to feel like it was a privledge to be there when it was my right! I just remembered I hadn't mentioned about when I first walked up to check in. They said they tried to verify my appt. by calling and by email and I hadn't responded. Apparently they weren't planning on seeing me in the first place. The other receptionist said we'll do it this time since we had the wrong number. So again I must feel so privledged that they would even see me in the first place. I did receive the email, I checked later, and I did remember confirming my appointment beforehand by email. I would love to see the dentist again because he seemed genuine but it's not worth it to me to be treated that way by his staff. I do hope he talks to her as he stated he would. I will find another dentist just as great somewhere else where I feel welcomed.
Response from Paola Family Dentistry
Heather, we are sorry about your experience in our office. We strive to take excellent care of all our patients and will take your comments into consideration and use them to improve in the future.