Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates

Therapist

9343 Krewstown Road

Ste 92

Philadelphia, PA 19115

PA LCSW: CW017155
Open Today 8:00AM - 7:30PM

counselingphiladelphiapa.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

E
9 months ago
High Quality Service
From the moment I walked through the doors of Philly Family Life Counseling, I was met by a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Dr. Devers made me feel comfortable and he is very easy to talk to. I recommend Dr. Devers services to anyone who needs a kind, caring and trustworthy professional to express your most personal experiences with.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
I truly appreciate your time and effort to write this review and am grateful that we are able to share a strong therapeutic fit. Thank you for reminding me of the grace in Paul’s words, “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” Philippians 4:12
B
10 months ago
Professional service and high quality
Gene works professionally with great technique. Very grateful to have him as a therapist as he has helped me tremendously.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your thoughtful words and for you sharing your wisdom and courage throughout our conversations. “This is a new year. A new beginning. And things will change.” ― Taylor Swift
M
12 months ago
Excellent Therapist - Highly Recommended
Dr. Eugene Devers is an excellent therapist whose care and compassion goes beyond expectation. At each session, I feel a sense of safety, warmth and respect, which makes it easy to discuss and overcome my obstacles. I came to Philly Family Life Counseling needing to discuss a traumatic event that, for a long time, I tried to ignore. Dr. Devers' response was exactly what I needed. He listened; and for the first time, I felt like someone could understand my plight. After hearing me out, he offered solutions, encouragement, and assurance of my ability to overcome. If anyone is looking to be heard and supported by an amazingly compassionate person, I'd highly recommend Dr. Devers. His vast knowledge of what works in therapy, coupled with his warm, funny, authentic personality, is a tremendous gift
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your generous and uplifting words. I am thankful for your words and your ability to trust in our conversations. We all have pink elephants that we deny; yet we repeatedly step in the elephant dung anyway ;-). Thank you for your wisdom and courage. Together we will develop tools to enable you to consistently cloth yourself in safety, warmth, and respect. I am always here to help the pink elephants become visible and named
B
12 months ago
Helping a Loving Couple
We as a couple, are very grateful to Gene Devers. Gene used his keen intellect and skilled counseling ability to listen to our issues and to guide us towards a closer, more harmonious union. Gene's soft, but firm compassionate manner helped us to become enlightened to the central themes of the disharmony in our relationship. Through his use of humor, skill and divine guidance he helped us to channel our mutual love for each other in a more positive fashion. We thank God for our experience and we thank you, Gene, for your patience. Bob and Sandy
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your kind words, I much appreciate the relationship that we developed. I am grateful that I was able to fit with both of you in a way that was helpful. However, you both brought the important courageous gifts of faith, hope, and love to your relationship. Together we merely developed the tools necessary to encourage each other to trust those gifts. I am reminded of a biblical quote from Proverbs 3, 5-6: “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will direct your paths.” Remember that I am always here if you need me.
M
1 year ago
The Marriage Whisperer
We were at the lowest point in our marriage and not exactly optimistic when we walked into Gene's office in 2013... Gene listened. Really listened. Asked questions to make sure nothing was misinterpreted. Everything about the way he listened said "I care".His eye contact, his gentleness, his compassion for each of us as individuals. The more he listened, the more we began to open up. His questions were insightful. And sometimes a real challenge. He nudged us to look at situations from a point of view other than our own. I learned more about my husband in 2 years of sessions than I had in the first 16 years of marriage. And I'm grateful we took those 2 years, because I can see where we have both learned how to lean into one another, instead of pull away from. There are just some lessons in life that take time to internalize. We knew we were confident enough to talk to and hear one another by the time those 2 years were done. We had the wise words of "the marriage whisperer" embedded in our hearts. Thank you, Gene.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your touching words. It was a joy working with you both, as we explored your relational core that is interwoven around the shared values of faith, hope, and love. Thank you for your courageous openness inviting me to share in your personal and private conversations. Hopefully thus quote of T.F. Hodge will better enable you both to continue to lean in toward each other, “Quite often it's not about what is said, but what isn't. And even when it's spoken, read between the lines. Listening with the heart is just as important as hearing with the mind.” Remember, I am always here if you again need to talk.
L
1 year ago
Kind, Caring. And Compassionate
Dr Devers is a kind and caring man that gets involved and truly listens. You look forward to your sessions and to seeing him, as a person. I went for grief counseling after losing my mother, an experience, I thought I could not live through. He made this experience bearable and gave me the tools needed to live thru it, not just get thru it but "live" thru it.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
I truly appreciate your words, openness, courage, and trust. Remember, I am always her for you. I would like to share a quote from C.S. Lewis, “Grief Is Like A Long Valley, A Winding Valley Where Any Bend May Reveal A Totally New Landscape.” Enjoy!
S
1 year ago
Great Work...Know's his Stuff
Gene is awesome and helped my girlfriend and I learn about the sources of our differences as well as help us figure out how easy it was to obtain a solution to the road bumps we were encountering. He's very good at exposing you to yourself. Which is HUGE for personal development and which is why my girlfriend and I are happier than we've ever been and we couldn't thank Gene enough for the guidance. I highly recommend him and will certainly refer him to family members and friends who may be in need of some guidance in the future.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your awesome words and your willingness to share. There is a quote in Taoism, “Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.” Continue to be strong and courageous.
A
1 year ago
Wise man!
I have been seeing Gene for some months now for depression and relationship struggles. Because my spirituality is so important to me, it was vital I found a counselor to relate to. Gene hits the nail on the head every session--I haven't felt this good in a long time. I am making strides toward health and my relationship is better than ever. I do not quite know what his "magic" insight is but he gets to the heart of the heart very quickly and helps me refresh my thinking patterns. He is a kind, warm and consummate professional with astounding capabilities in so many areas of his vocation. I have a journey ahead of me and plan to work with Gene as long as it takes. He is a therapist among therapists; he knows what he is doing and takes his clients' well-being very seriously. Gene is a wise, empathetic man, whom I trust to help me be a healthier person. I am very grateful for his time and interest.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your words and your trust, and allowing us to grow from our conversations. I came across this quote by Jeffrey Gitomer, a motivational speaker and author, and am sharing it with you: “Resilience is not what happens to you. It’s how you react to, respond to, and recover from what happens to you.”
R
1 year ago
Warm, Insightful, Funny, Grounded Counsel
I remember first meeting Dr. Gene. He greeted me kindly, put me at ease, and concerned himself with my hopes for a "good fit" in therapy. I never felt pressured and was repeatedly given the space I needed to grow in my humanity, throughout the process. I saw Dr. Gene for more than a year, usually once a week. He used a combination of client-centered active listening and a cognitive-behavioral approach, often pointing out my all-or-nothing thinking. Dr. Gene also incorporated an understanding of my faith life that helped me move beyond scrupulosity, away from internal division, toward an openness of life and all its struggles and joys. He helped me manage significant relationships and become more productive at work, and always did so with a touch of humor. I would often leave the counseling office with a sense of peace, and on those instances of particular difficulty, I left with a reassurance that I was not alone and had a wise and caring guide by my side to walk with me toward the brighter days. I highly recommend Dr. Gene, and I wish you the best in your journey. There is hope! Dr. Gene will make you laugh, will provide gracious insight, and will help to restore a compassionate inner voice that you can carry away from therapy and into the full spectrum of life experience.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your thoughtful and affirming words. I truly enjoyed our conversations and wish you well as you continue your journey. Remember that I am always here if you should need me. Be well and use your tools to create contentment.
J
1 year ago
I have been in counseling before, but Gene was a different experience. I came to him because of marital problems. He first said to me "you're not broken and you don't need to be fixed". I thought well that was good to know. As we continued over the weeks he showed me (and my husband) how to use the different" tools" in the tool box for situations in our marriage. He would say "you continue to use a screwdriver to hammer a nail into the wall when it doesn't work". We talked about not doing the same "dance" with each other when problems arose. Once we started to gain more confidence in ourselves, especially me, we found ourselves changing for the better. We started seeing the light of what Gene was teaching us. We spent 2-1\2 years with Gene and we are doing so much better than when we first started. Gene is a very knowledgeable and compassionate therapist. I miss talking with him. I recommend Gene very highly not just for marital problems but for any situation you have. God bless you. Thanks Gene!!
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your kind and generous words. I deeply appreciate your willingness to share your success. I encourage you to care for your new tools, and use them confidently, strategically, and appropriately. Be well, and continue to broaden your contextual perspective.