Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates

Therapist

Philadelphia, PA 19115

PA LCSW: CW017155

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

D
1 month ago
The Real deal
I have been to a number of therapist over the years and most are frauds. They take your money, waste your time and leave you feeling worse than when you came in. They sit and listen to you offering no solutions or help. Dr. Devers is a radically different therapist. He is super knowledgeable, insightful, and wise. He can be challenging at times to help you see more clearly or move forward out of your comfort zone. Many times I feel like the last thing I feel like doing is going to talk to a therapist but with every visit I am so edified by his wise council. He offers real assistance and real strategies. He gives you a book to record your reflections and experiences. Really I can't say enough.
P
2 months ago
I’ve got this
“I’ve got this” is something I can confidently say because of the guidance given to me by Dr. Gene, and not for any one specific challenge I may be facing, but for all. It’s a mindset he helped me to remember and that is to not lose sight of what I want, because as important as it is to consider others, I matter and you can only truly find peace and direction when doing what is best for you. I have left every session with Dr. Gene better than when I came and thinking about things in a way that I might not otherwise have. My experience has been nothing but positive and will continue to be an influential part of my life.
A
2 months ago
Simply the best!
Gene is the greatest! He has counseled my (now) husband and I through life changes - moves, jobs, family issues, pre-marriage, marriage, first-year of marriage (and all the lovely challenges, adjustments, and excitement it brings), and no matter what we throw at him, we always leave Gene's office - and his therapy dog, Wyatt - feeling like we really accomplished something and moved forward. Better and stronger as individuals and as a couple. I cannot recommend this duo enough ! Thanks for all you do, Gene!
D
3 months ago
Don't know where I'd be without Gene...
I began seeing Gene over two years ago with my now, X-husband. It was at the end of a severely mentally abusive, manipulative marriage that Gene, genuinely tried to help save. He saw two people, joined together, with children involved, who appeared to want to be together. He also saw my x for what he was, without being judgemental, and helped me realize through my damaged soul that I was not a crazy worthless piece of garbage that my x had convinced me that I was. I was a damaged child with unresolved issues. Despite seeing multiple therapists, Gene was the first one who helped me realize it wasn't all my fault and my depression was not the cause of the end. My depression intensified in a marriage where mental abuse thrived and feed off of my bruised, yet always loving heart. It wasn't until my sister died (just a few months into therapy with Gene) when I finally realized I was dying too, slowly on the inside and it was time to start living. After I split from my x, I continued to see Gene, and still do, on my own. Life has thrown even faster and more dangerous curve balls my way and Gene has been there every step of the way. I cannot recommend him enough, nor could I ever thank him enough. I am not sure where I would be today and if I would even be here. Mental health is so important and finding a good therapist is no easy feat. Check out Dr. Gene Devers! I promise you, he's the best. ❤
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
I appreciatively offer you, as a token of my appreciation, the words of e e cummings, the 20th Century poet & writer, “It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.”
E
3 months ago
Professional and friendly
I have been coming here for over a year now and I would highly recommend Dr Eugene for any of your therapy needs! What a long, wonderful, hard, exhausting but, rewarding journey that we have had together. What a great job you and your staff are doing! Keep up the great work!
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
I am thankful for your words and your ability to trust in our conversations. Nora Ephron’s words, “Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim”, seems a fitting encouraging goal for all of our journeys.
E
1 year ago
High Quality Service
From the moment I walked through the doors of Philly Family Life Counseling, I was met by a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Dr. Devers made me feel comfortable and he is very easy to talk to. I recommend Dr. Devers services to anyone who needs a kind, caring and trustworthy professional to express your most personal experiences with.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
I truly appreciate your time and effort to write this review and am grateful that we are able to share a strong therapeutic fit. Thank you for reminding me of the grace in Paul’s words, “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” Philippians 4:12
B
1 year ago
Professional service and high quality
Gene works professionally with great technique. Very grateful to have him as a therapist as he has helped me tremendously.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your thoughtful words and for you sharing your wisdom and courage throughout our conversations. “This is a new year. A new beginning. And things will change.” ― Taylor Swift
M
1 year ago
Excellent Therapist - Highly Recommended
Dr. Eugene Devers is an excellent therapist whose care and compassion goes beyond expectation. At each session, I feel a sense of safety, warmth and respect, which makes it easy to discuss and overcome my obstacles. I came to Philly Family Life Counseling needing to discuss a traumatic event that, for a long time, I tried to ignore. Dr. Devers' response was exactly what I needed. He listened; and for the first time, I felt like someone could understand my plight. After hearing me out, he offered solutions, encouragement, and assurance of my ability to overcome. If anyone is looking to be heard and supported by an amazingly compassionate person, I'd highly recommend Dr. Devers. His vast knowledge of what works in therapy, coupled with his warm, funny, authentic personality, is a tremendous gift
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your generous and uplifting words. I am thankful for your words and your ability to trust in our conversations. We all have pink elephants that we deny; yet we repeatedly step in the elephant dung anyway ;-). Thank you for your wisdom and courage. Together we will develop tools to enable you to consistently cloth yourself in safety, warmth, and respect. I am always here to help the pink elephants become visible and named
B
2 years ago
Helping a Loving Couple
We as a couple, are very grateful to Gene Devers. Gene used his keen intellect and skilled counseling ability to listen to our issues and to guide us towards a closer, more harmonious union. Gene's soft, but firm compassionate manner helped us to become enlightened to the central themes of the disharmony in our relationship. Through his use of humor, skill and divine guidance he helped us to channel our mutual love for each other in a more positive fashion. We thank God for our experience and we thank you, Gene, for your patience. Bob and Sandy
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your kind words, I much appreciate the relationship that we developed. I am grateful that I was able to fit with both of you in a way that was helpful. However, you both brought the important courageous gifts of faith, hope, and love to your relationship. Together we merely developed the tools necessary to encourage each other to trust those gifts. I am reminded of a biblical quote from Proverbs 3, 5-6: “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will direct your paths.” Remember that I am always here if you need me.
M
2 years ago
The Marriage Whisperer
We were at the lowest point in our marriage and not exactly optimistic when we walked into Gene's office in 2013... Gene listened. Really listened. Asked questions to make sure nothing was misinterpreted. Everything about the way he listened said "I care".His eye contact, his gentleness, his compassion for each of us as individuals. The more he listened, the more we began to open up. His questions were insightful. And sometimes a real challenge. He nudged us to look at situations from a point of view other than our own. I learned more about my husband in 2 years of sessions than I had in the first 16 years of marriage. And I'm grateful we took those 2 years, because I can see where we have both learned how to lean into one another, instead of pull away from. There are just some lessons in life that take time to internalize. We knew we were confident enough to talk to and hear one another by the time those 2 years were done. We had the wise words of "the marriage whisperer" embedded in our hearts. Thank you, Gene.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your touching words. It was a joy working with you both, as we explored your relational core that is interwoven around the shared values of faith, hope, and love. Thank you for your courageous openness inviting me to share in your personal and private conversations. Hopefully thus quote of T.F. Hodge will better enable you both to continue to lean in toward each other, “Quite often it's not about what is said, but what isn't. And even when it's spoken, read between the lines. Listening with the heart is just as important as hearing with the mind.” Remember, I am always here if you again need to talk.