Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates

Therapist

Philadelphia, PA 19115

PA LCSW: CW017155

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

S
3 months ago
Dr Gene has been a great blessing and wonderful counselor to me, highly professional, very caring, very empathetic, his expertise is hands-down.
I went for counseling sessions with Dr Gene Denvers in 2014, 4 years ago, when I was going through physical abuse trauma flashbacks, anxiety, inter-cultural/inter-racial relationship problems with my boyfriend (now husband, we both went for couple counseling with Dr Gene), issues with my parents and family, difficulty asserting myself and esteem issues. His counseling for me individually first and then my husband (then boyfriend) together with me, had been such tremendous help and it leaves an impact which continue to benefit us today. We still remember the questions he asked us, his suggestions and homework for us that helped us so much. 4 years down the road - I am happily married for 3 years and counting, with my husband who also went for couple counseling with me by Dr Gene; I have spoken up to my abuser, resolved the hurt and made peace; dealt better with my anxiety; asserted myself better at work and had better self esteem, able to say no better. I had lost contact with Dr Gene after relocating in 2015, and I was reading a book the other night and felt that I need to let others know how good his counseling was and I had never let him know how I was doing after all his great work, so I found him on this site and decided to write this review as he so much deserved. When I told Dr Gene about my trauma and problems, I felt that he understood what it was, what it meant to me and how it affected me. He was not just listening or hearing. He truly understands and that is one of the most valuable thing about choosing him as my counsellor among other things. You won't feel like you were talking to a wall or a machine or a person who just sits there to take notes and nods. I felt like I was sharing my problems with an expert who knows, who can help me and who did. He is truly an expert on relationships and helping couple understand each other better. I am an Asian and my husband (then boyfriend) is a Caucasian. We had some communication problems back then that was pulling us apart and withdrawing from each other. Dr Gene helped us to understand by using the questions and guiding us to share, how much communication, cultural barriers and misunderstanding we both had of each other. As a result, we both now communicate better when problem arises, my husband no longer withdraw and I no longer made it worse, but we both learned to lean toward each other. Dr Gene is great, and wonderful at trauma counseling, as I had went through with him. It hurt a lot at first to talk about the past trauma and I cried for days, I was encouraged to go back for counseling and surprisingly, after sometime, the hurt got better, and I was able to see the bigger picture of everything, accepted everything and I found peace. Thank you Dr Gene for playing a big part in my healing process. He also taught me how to assert myself, how to say no, and he also helped me to look at my thoughts and how I can start thinking a different way which can help me better. There is a lot more I would thank Dr Gene for. He is real. He feels with you, he rejoices with you when there are good news. He also encouraged me when times are getting hard or rough- e.g. my abuser coming to town and I got to meet him. It went well. He is great at family dynamics counseling, say if you have problems with your parents or issues in your family, he is great for that, he helped me to see my family problems in perspective and how I can respond or be better dealing with those issues. Thank you Dr Gene Denvers for making my life an easier one. May each client who walked out your door find peace and hope. Don't hesitate, give Dr Gene a try. I'm not sponsored by anyone for this review. Just out of thankfulness in my heart and seeing how much people do need counseling.
D
6 months ago
The Real deal
I have been to a number of therapist over the years and most are frauds. They take your money, waste your time and leave you feeling worse than when you came in. They sit and listen to you offering no solutions or help. Dr. Devers is a radically different therapist. He is super knowledgeable, insightful, and wise. He can be challenging at times to help you see more clearly or move forward out of your comfort zone. Many times I feel like the last thing I feel like doing is going to talk to a therapist but with every visit I am so edified by his wise council. He offers real assistance and real strategies. He gives you a book to record your reflections and experiences. Really I can't say enough.
P
6 months ago
I’ve got this
“I’ve got this” is something I can confidently say because of the guidance given to me by Dr. Gene, and not for any one specific challenge I may be facing, but for all. It’s a mindset he helped me to remember and that is to not lose sight of what I want, because as important as it is to consider others, I matter and you can only truly find peace and direction when doing what is best for you. I have left every session with Dr. Gene better than when I came and thinking about things in a way that I might not otherwise have. My experience has been nothing but positive and will continue to be an influential part of my life.
A
7 months ago
Simply the best!
Gene is the greatest! He has counseled my (now) husband and I through life changes - moves, jobs, family issues, pre-marriage, marriage, first-year of marriage (and all the lovely challenges, adjustments, and excitement it brings), and no matter what we throw at him, we always leave Gene's office - and his therapy dog, Wyatt - feeling like we really accomplished something and moved forward. Better and stronger as individuals and as a couple. I cannot recommend this duo enough ! Thanks for all you do, Gene!
D
8 months ago
Don't know where I'd be without Gene...
I began seeing Gene over two years ago with my now, X-husband. It was at the end of a severely mentally abusive, manipulative marriage that Gene, genuinely tried to help save. He saw two people, joined together, with children involved, who appeared to want to be together. He also saw my x for what he was, without being judgemental, and helped me realize through my damaged soul that I was not a crazy worthless piece of garbage that my x had convinced me that I was. I was a damaged child with unresolved issues. Despite seeing multiple therapists, Gene was the first one who helped me realize it wasn't all my fault and my depression was not the cause of the end. My depression intensified in a marriage where mental abuse thrived and feed off of my bruised, yet always loving heart. It wasn't until my sister died (just a few months into therapy with Gene) when I finally realized I was dying too, slowly on the inside and it was time to start living. After I split from my x, I continued to see Gene, and still do, on my own. Life has thrown even faster and more dangerous curve balls my way and Gene has been there every step of the way. I cannot recommend him enough, nor could I ever thank him enough. I am not sure where I would be today and if I would even be here. Mental health is so important and finding a good therapist is no easy feat. Check out Dr. Gene Devers! I promise you, he's the best. ❤
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
I appreciatively offer you, as a token of my appreciation, the words of e e cummings, the 20th Century poet & writer, “It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.”
E
8 months ago
Professional and friendly
I have been coming here for over a year now and I would highly recommend Dr Eugene for any of your therapy needs! What a long, wonderful, hard, exhausting but, rewarding journey that we have had together. What a great job you and your staff are doing! Keep up the great work!
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
I am thankful for your words and your ability to trust in our conversations. Nora Ephron’s words, “Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim”, seems a fitting encouraging goal for all of our journeys.
E
2 years ago
High Quality Service
From the moment I walked through the doors of Philly Family Life Counseling, I was met by a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Dr. Devers made me feel comfortable and he is very easy to talk to. I recommend Dr. Devers services to anyone who needs a kind, caring and trustworthy professional to express your most personal experiences with.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
I truly appreciate your time and effort to write this review and am grateful that we are able to share a strong therapeutic fit. Thank you for reminding me of the grace in Paul’s words, “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” Philippians 4:12
B
2 years ago
Professional service and high quality
Gene works professionally with great technique. Very grateful to have him as a therapist as he has helped me tremendously.
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your thoughtful words and for you sharing your wisdom and courage throughout our conversations. “This is a new year. A new beginning. And things will change.” ― Taylor Swift
M
2 years ago
Excellent Therapist - Highly Recommended
Dr. Eugene Devers is an excellent therapist whose care and compassion goes beyond expectation. At each session, I feel a sense of safety, warmth and respect, which makes it easy to discuss and overcome my obstacles. I came to Philly Family Life Counseling needing to discuss a traumatic event that, for a long time, I tried to ignore. Dr. Devers' response was exactly what I needed. He listened; and for the first time, I felt like someone could understand my plight. After hearing me out, he offered solutions, encouragement, and assurance of my ability to overcome. If anyone is looking to be heard and supported by an amazingly compassionate person, I'd highly recommend Dr. Devers. His vast knowledge of what works in therapy, coupled with his warm, funny, authentic personality, is a tremendous gift
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your generous and uplifting words. I am thankful for your words and your ability to trust in our conversations. We all have pink elephants that we deny; yet we repeatedly step in the elephant dung anyway ;-). Thank you for your wisdom and courage. Together we will develop tools to enable you to consistently cloth yourself in safety, warmth, and respect. I am always here to help the pink elephants become visible and named
B
2 years ago
Helping a Loving Couple
We as a couple, are very grateful to Gene Devers. Gene used his keen intellect and skilled counseling ability to listen to our issues and to guide us towards a closer, more harmonious union. Gene's soft, but firm compassionate manner helped us to become enlightened to the central themes of the disharmony in our relationship. Through his use of humor, skill and divine guidance he helped us to channel our mutual love for each other in a more positive fashion. We thank God for our experience and we thank you, Gene, for your patience. Bob and Sandy
Response from Philly Family Life Counseling, Dr. Eugene G. Devers & Associates
Thank you for your kind words, I much appreciate the relationship that we developed. I am grateful that I was able to fit with both of you in a way that was helpful. However, you both brought the important courageous gifts of faith, hope, and love to your relationship. Together we merely developed the tools necessary to encourage each other to trust those gifts. I am reminded of a biblical quote from Proverbs 3, 5-6: “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will direct your paths.” Remember that I am always here if you need me.