Ralph's Home Inspection Service

Property Inspector

9136 South Chappel Avenue

Chicago, IL 60617

License: #450002399

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

L
4 months ago
Inspection
Ralph took his time and explained everything I would definitely suggest Ralph for your home inspection
M
7 months ago
Thorough inspection
Robert was early to our appointment. He was very thorough with his inspection. He was helpful and shared valuable information.
L
10 months ago
Very unhappy
Robert came out to the house. He missed dripping water stains that were ceiling to floor in the finished attic and also pooled water stains in the ceiling. I showed him photos of what he missed and he was unapologetic and refused to offer me any kind of refund or pay for the additional inspection I had to have on the roof and interior because he missed it. He has unaccountable for his poor work. As a realtor and investor I am very disappointed with Ralphs home inspection service
Response from Ralph's Home Inspection Service
There may come a time that you discover something wrong with the house, and you may be upset or disappointed with your home inspection. Intermittent Or Concealed Problems Some problems can only be discovered by living in a house. They cannot be discovered during the few hours of a home inspection. For example, some shower stalls leak when people are in the shower, but do not leak when you simply turn on the tap. Some roofs and basements only leak when specific conditions exist. Some problems will only be discovered when carpets were lifted, furniture is moved or finishes are removed. No Clues These problems may have existed at the time of the inspection but there were no clues as to their existence. Our inspections are based on the past performance of the house. If there are no clues of a past problem, it is unfair to assume we should foresee a future problem. We Always Miss Some Minor Things Some say we are inconsistent because our reports identify some minor problems but not others. The minor problems that are identified were discovered while looking for more significant problems. We note them simply as a courtesy. The intent of the inspection is not to find the $200 problems; it is to find the $2,000 problems. These are the things that affect people's decisions to purchase. Contractors' Advice The main source of dissatisfaction with home inspectors comes from comments made by contractors. Contractors' opinions often differ from ours. Don't be surprised when three roofers all say the roof needs replacement when we said that, with some minor repairs, the roof will last a few more years. Last Man In Theory While our advice represents the most prudent thing to do, many contractors are reluctant to undertake these repairs. This is because of the "Last Man In Theory". The contractor fears that if he is the last person to work on the roof, he will get blamed if the roof leaks, regardless of whether the roof leak is his fault or not. Consequently, he won't want to do a minor repair with high liability when he could re-roof the entire house for more money and reduce the likelihood of a callback. This is understandable. Most Recent Advice Is Best There is more to the "Last Man In Theory". It suggests that it is human nature for homeowners to believe the last bit of "expert" advice they receive, even if it is contrary to previous advice. As home inspectors, we unfortunately find ourselves in the position of "First Man In" and consequently it is our advice that is often disbelieved. Why Didn't We See It Contractors may say "I can't believe you had this house inspected, and they didn't find this problem". There are several reasons for these apparent oversights: 1. Conditions During Inspection It is difficult for homeowners to remember the circumstances in the house, at the time of the inspection. Homeowners seldom remember that it was snowing, there was storage everywhere in the basement or that the furnace could not be turned on because the air conditioning was operating, et cetera. It's impossible for contractors to know what the circumstances were when the inspection was performed. 2. The Wisdom Of Hindsight When the problem manifests itself, it is very easy to have 20/20 hindsight. Anybody can say that the basement is wet when there is 2 inches of water on the floor. Predicting the problem is a different story. 3. A Long Look If we spent 1/2 an hour under the kitchen sink or 45 minutes disassembling the furnace, we'd find more problems too. Unfortunately, the inspection would take several days and would cost considerably more. 4. We're Generalists We are generalists; we are not specialists. The heating contractor may indeed have more heating expertise than we do. 5. An Invasive Look Problems often become apparent when carpets or plaster are removed, when fixtures or cabinets are pulled out, and so on. A home inspection is a visual examination. We don't perform any invasive or destructive tests. Not Insurance In conclusion, a home inspection is designed to better your odds. It is not designed to eliminate all risk. For that reason, a home inspection should not be considered an insurance policy. The premium that an insurance company would have to charge for a policy with no deductible, no limit and an indefinite policy period would be considerably more than the fee we charge. It would also not include the value added by the inspection. Get Outlook for iOS From: Lisa Malamis Sent: Saturday, July 20, 2019 10:50:49 AM To: Robert Williams Subject: Re: Your Home Inspection Report is Ready I have taken your recommendation and asked the owner about the leaks. He says that they were there before the roof was fixed a few years ago. Which means that they were there when you were there inspecting the property and you didn’t find them. Robert because you didn’t find them I now have to get a roofer out there to make sure that there are no active leaks which is going to cost me another $250. What kind of remedy do you supply to your customers when you miss key components of the inspection? The recommendation she is referring to comes directly from the report that she did not read. It is as follows: Roof inspection limited/prevented by: Many leaks occur only under conditions of prolonged rain, and these conditions may not be present at the time of the inspection. CLIENTS ARE ENCOURAGED TO ASK THE CURRENT OWNER ABOUT THE PRESENCE OF ANY ROOF LEAKS.
K
1 year ago
Robert did an excellent job! He really took his time inspecting the house and answered any questions I had!!!!
K
1 year ago
High quality service
Very good inspector. He made sure to inspect every part of the house and explained everything in very good detail.
A
2 years ago
Very Friendly, Efficient and On-Time!!!
Robert was awesome, he beat me out to the house and was ready to go with the home inspection had everything ready and at last minute couldn’t ask for a better Inspector!!!!
K
2 years ago
Professional and thorough
Robert throughly inspected my home and had very helpful suggestions. He arrived promptly and was very professional.
M
2 years ago
Very informative and curtious. Amazing service.
T
2 years ago
He is amazing!
R
2 years ago
Great inspector!!!!
I would definitely refer this company hands down, took his time and explained any issues in detail. Very professional!!!