Reckless Diesel Performance

Auto Repair Shop

175 East Interstate 30

Garland, TX 75043

Open Today 8:00AM - 6:30PM

dallasautomobilemechanic.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

S
5 months ago
Be careful
Had my truck worked on. I should give 1 star but feel its unfair. I would give 2 and a half but you can't. I have several dislike of the business practices but not enough to drop them to a 1 star since everything was fixed in the end. Considering Kyle (my sales rep) wanted to charge me an extra hour of labor for their mistakes and this place has a 4% increase charge on credit/debit card use is RIDICULOUS! Also Kyle lied to me. Review time. I can't wait to see the company response to my review. Dropped off truck on Thurs. evening and Kyle said it would be done Fri. or latest Sat. morning. Paid deposit for parts and got charged 4% extra for credit card use. 1st WTF! Did not get a call all day till Fri. evening before they closed that they had a problem loading tunes that it would have to be left with them over weekend and would not be able to get back to it till Mon. I asked what about Sat. and Kyle said they only work on special projects on Sat. You would think I am dropping $3k would be a special project. No biggie. I called Mon. afternoon and Kyle said they should have it done in next hour or so. Called again at 5:30pm and Kyle said they where still having problems and would not be done till tomorrow which would be Tue. Next day I get a call at about 7am and Kyle left me a msg, said that they test drove it and it was parked beautifully upfront but would have to charge me an extra hour for the extra time they took. WTF #2, He said it so calm too like it was just A OK. Got to the shop and paid balance plus another 4% fee for credit card. WTF #3 OMG I forgot about that fee. I fought over the extra hour and Kyle removed told them it was not my fault. I asked Kyle about the work done and tunes. Kyle did not know anything about the work that was done from what it seemed. Claimed they drained DEF fluid, Nope! Claimed I had DSP5 switch, NOPE! It had 5 numbers on a sticker around the switch but it was a DSP4 switch. He did not know the level of tunes and looked online and game me the wrong info. My old Juice Edge Tuner power cable and negative cable was cut out to remove it instead of just grabbing a socket wrench and removing it. I left and started driving the truck home after about 5 mins I could hear clutch fan engaged and was like WTF! (#4 by the way)last I heard that was in Arizona while I was towing my RV. Checked my dash gauges and truck coolant temps where 290 degrees and climbing extremely fast. Normal is 192 degrees and towing in Arizona temps get to 225 degrees. Pulled off the freeway right away turned truck off. Went to the hood could already smell coolant. Opened the hood and saw coolant everywhere and the worse part, tools on my radiator! WTF #5. I called and Kyle answered and told him the issue. Said they did not have a tow truck working right now and sorry that there was really nothing he could do. He said your insurance should have a tow truck for free. Said that they test drove it and nothing was wrong with it. Was extremely pissed beyond imagination. I was starting to call my insurance when Kyle called back and said they where sending a tech to look at it with a tow truck not to call my insurance. Tow Guy gets there but was not a diesel tech but very helpful. He loaded truck on flat bed and we got back to the shop. Kyle was no where to be seen. About 30 mins later they roll out and test drive truck and come back. 10 mins later they bring truck back around and give me the keys. We go back and check it and its all clean and EGR coolant line is fixed. I asked to speak to the diesel tech and he explained everything to me about the work. I asked about the DEF and he said that they did not dump the DEF fluid. Which is ok but was lied to by Kyle. Overall I would be very weary of this establishment and would not trust Kyle at all. One final note Kyle was also trying to keep my factory parts. Said it was a regulation. There is no such thing considering the work that was done to truck is lets say special. Pics on google reviews of tools on radiator and also coolant line.
A
10 months ago
NICE PEOPLE SLOW SERVICE
The people and staff are friendly and try to be as helpful as they can. I have taken 2 trucks there for repair the first took several months to get out. Each time we went to pick up they vehicle wasn't completed. They seemed to be under staffed and there seems to be a lack of communication with the repair process. Wrong parts received, waiting on parts and ready by the end of the week answers goes on for at least 3 months and longer on my visits. After months of waiting with no status calls from Wreckless at all, I have to go down there and check on the progress or lack of. What ever the case the trucks always have to go back because something was not done properly or even finished If you have lots of time and in no hurry go ahead and give them a shot. Make your own check list to remind them what they were supposed to do. Test drive before you head home. They will eventually get it done. I am mostly disappointed because it not an easy thing to find a place that works on these over grown work & play trucks of ours. They have a lot going for them there if they would just as I say and go by "PLAN YOUR WORK THEN WORK YOUR PLAN" and get these trucks out in a reasonable time I wouldn't have to be looking for another shop. My last repairs and modifcations bill was over 4200.00 I have a lot of work to still get done on all my trucks and they know it. The staff is very nice!
T
11 months ago
these passionate diesel mechanics saved my bacon
When my water pump seized and ate my serpentine belt in the early afternoon 2 hours from home on my delivery route I thought I was in for a rough evening. I called two shops who would not even work on a diesel, then called Reckless Diesel Performance, they recommended a tow company who was superb and fast and had the parts almost as soon as I got there. They worked my truck into their workload had the pump in, the belt back on and put me back on the road inside of two and a half hours. That truck is a huge part of how I make a living, when I first got there all I could do was pace but seeing the work they had done on their trucks and the work they were doing in the shop while I paced around outside helped put me at ease about trusting them with my truck. I am sure that there are cheaper options out there, but when you depend on your truck like I do it's worth paying for quality and when the service is as friendly and comprehensive as what Reckless provides its worth every penny. I plan on using them as my regular diesel mechanics from now on.
H
11 months ago
My experience with reckless diesel service is excellent,they helped me out with my water pump and did a great job. Thank you. I will call them again in the future if I need something for my truck.
A
1 year ago
Under promised. Over delivered.
Thanks! Quoted me "about $550" to replace the turbo on my 06 F250 and said it could "probably be done by the end of the day." Dropped the truck off at 8am, got a call at 1:30pm that it was done. All for less than $490. Truck runs great! Thank you!
S
1 year ago
Professional, Quick and Awesome Service
Took my 6.0 for oil change and fuel filters after their inspection they found some front end problems. They fixed the problems and had my truck back within the next day. Truck rides so much betwr. Def would recommend them.
R
1 year ago
bullet proofing F550 6.0
I have a fleet of more than 20 diesel trucks and this company is the best repair shop we have ever used, they were quick, professional, and did very good work. I would recommend them to anyone who is looking to have repair work.
D
1 year ago
Quality service, knowledgeable, communication could be improved
I am very happy with the quality of work to rebuild my transmission and add a tow tune. However, I did just pick it up and have not put the truck in front of my fifth wheel to really test it. My truck was there for about three weeks due to some parts sourcing issues and transmission not functioning correctly when they installed and tested it. I appreciate that they pulled it back out and kept working on it until it was right. I think communication about repair status could be improved. My repair should have taken two weeks or less. I did not get any updates for the first 10 days until I called. Delays happen and there were good reasons, just would like to get more proactive communication. Perhaps a customer portal on the website for updates? My service writer was knowledgeable and took the time to understand how I use my truck and made some solid recommendations. I was presented different options and think I got a good value. I did quite a bit of research beforehand and knew about what it would cost to get what I wanted. If repair status updates had been more forthcoming, I would have rated 5 stars. Everything else was very good. Plan to visit again when my injectors start going south.
B
2 years ago
Professional and Friendly
I found Reckless on the web and carefully looked thru there site to see what kind of services they offered. As I was reading thru the site I noticed that the issues they were talking about concerning the F250 were the exact issues I was having so I called and talked to them about it and they reconfirmed the problem once I told them what was going on. I dealt with Josh mostly but everyone that I came in contact with was very professional and friendly. I will be going back with any and all issues. Great work on my repair.
Response from Reckless Diesel Performance
Thank you for allowing us to provide you with excellent service that we strive to provide for every customer. We appreciate your business!
C
2 years ago
Quality Service and Very Professional
Josh and Andrew at Reckless helped me to understand about a full delete on my 2015 Ram 2500. They answered every question I had and were very knowledgable about the work and services they provide. I drove all the way from Oklahoma to take my truck to them and would do it again no questions asked. I did a full delete and they had it done in a day and it runs better than I had hoped for. Would recommend these guys to anyone!
Response from Reckless Diesel Performance
Thank you for allowing us to provide you with excellent service that we strive to provide for every customer. We appreciate your business!