Renewable Energy Design Group

Solar Contractors

Charlotte, NC 28270

General Contractor: 72193
NC Electrical: 90408

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

M
12 months ago
REDgroup did an outstanding job on our Solar PV array
I had a rooftop Solar PV system installed in November 2015. Jeff, Christian, and entire REDgroup team were very helpful throughout every step of our project. They were consistently punctual with arrival times, scheduling, and other aspects of the project. I met and spoke with representatives from several other solar PV installation companies, but REDgroup were by far the most professional, detailed, and helpful. We are very happy with the solar array and have even had 2 months (out of 6+) so far with no net power usage from the grid! REDgroup helped us maximize our array to best take advantage of the available rooftop space and the tax incentives. In the end, their estimation of the tax incentives were also the most accurate of all the proposals we received. I enjoyed working on the project with their team and definitely recommend REDgroup if you are interested in Solar.
I
1 year ago
As great as a sunny day!
An all around great experience. The professionalism and expertise of RED Group is outstanding! From the initial consultation to the many follow up questions I had they were very responsive. The work was done exactly as we planned and in the time predicted. My savings have even been a little above what they projected. I would recommend them to anyone and would use them again in the future.
A
1 year ago
The Renewable Energy Design Group has been very good to work with. We received excellent service at the time of installation and follow-up and support has been wonderful. I highly recommend this group for all your solar needs.
K
1 year ago
Great to work with!
Renewable Energy Group designed and implemented a solar panel configuration at our residence. It was a large residential installation (30 panels). Everyone that we worked with at Renewable Energy Group was attentive to our needs and very professional. In fact, they were all just plain nice! They did a thorough job explaining the technical aspects of installing solar panels, and they were accurate about the resulting energy savings. The installation was efficient, and the work area was left clean at the end of the job. We are very happy with our solar panels and are the envy of our friends and neighbors!
M
1 year ago
So much more than a basic installer.
There are plenty of companies out there that can throw up a bunch of solar panels on your roof and call it a day They'll get the job done and be out of your hair in no time. Will they spend the time making sure they give you exactly the best system for your needs? Probably not. They want to get in and out quickly. Will the person that does your initial assessment have a thorough understanding of all the options available as well as the regulations and incentives to help you make the best decision? Not in my experience. Will they save you lots of money because of the volume they do? No way. I had most of the solar installers in the area do an assessment for us. None were as knowledgeable and passionate about the solar industry as RED Group. You're dealing with a small family owned local business that wants to build a relationship with you rather than drop in to do a service and get out as quickly as possible. They'll give you completely unvarnished advice and work with you to make the best decisions for your specific needs. I'm an Electrical Engineer by day, so when I had very specific questions about solar installations, Jeff and RED group were the only local installers that could answer my questions and were excited to do so. When I had questions about my mid-life roof, RED gave me very honest input and options helping me decide to replace our roof before doing solar. That delayed any business they got from me, but it resulted in a much happier customer in the long run since I shouldn't have to touch my panels for 20 years. Most of the other installers sent out someone that knew less about solar than I did and had no experience evaluating roofs or the longevity of a system. One final thought: The quotes I received from some of the bigger solar installers in the area were all higher than RED Group in case that's a factor to you. Honestly with the level of service they provide I would expect them to be the high bidder, but that just wasn't the case. For our system they were the low bidder and provided by far the best customer service.
B
1 year ago
RED Group - you can't beat them!
RED Group installed a 5.4 kw system for my home. They did an awesome job and were very willing to accommodate my schedule to be available for final hookup at my house. The system is working properly and the installers were courteous and friendly. Christian, who was the leader on-site for installation, was very knowledgeable and found the most non-intrusive route both through my yard (navigating a septic field) and wiring into my home. Jeff, the owner, took care of issues with the local planning department and went to the County Board of Commissioners to help push through an amendment to local rules to enable homeowners in our county more flexibility in obtaining residential solar power. I would recommend to you (if it is affordable and doable) and to RED Group to hardwire with ethernet from the system's box to your router to avoid issues with wi-fi if you want to see how your system is producing. Not a big deal and not important to the bottom line, but it is cool. Overall, the experience was good, the system is working great (though the lack of sun recently hasn't been helpful!) and I highly recommend RED Group for your residential solar needs.
S
1 year ago
Great Install!!!
I am very satisfied with the whole process. Christian was great to work with, very polite and professional. The installation went very smoothly, they used top of the line panels and equipment. I have recieved many compliments on the installation. RED group did such a good job installing everything it is hard to even see the solar panels from the road. The electircal was hooked up very neatly as well. This is a great company to use for a solar system. They beat the competitions' price by a large margin. After installation I was confused on how the net metering would work and they helped me get together with Duke and helped me understand how it works.
G
1 year ago
Very pleased
Jeff Red wine did the majority of work on my solar system. I was impressed by his careful and clear presentation of the options and costs available and that he didn't try to "sell" me on any particular setup. He only offered recommendations when I requested them, pointing out pros and cons for each system. The finished product was installed at the promised price. Now in its third year, my solar has preformed according to estimates. All in all, I'm quite satisfied.
R
1 year ago
Great job
I was very happy with REDgroup. They put in 20 solar panels for us. We developed a problem with one of the panels, and they quickly came out and replaced it.
V
1 year ago
REDgroup as our installer
Jeff was very very helpful with the selection and the process. His Team was on time and on site when they said they would be. If weather caused a delay, I was informed and provided a new date and time. The Team handle all the the documentation and calls to the County and Electrical company. The documentation for me was great, easy to read and in a book so handy to keep up with. Support was available when I had questions. I would highly recommend REDgroup for any of your renewable energy needs.