Rochester Asphalt, Inc

Asphalt and Pavement Contractor

2904 County Road 15 Southwest

Byron, MN 55920

Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

rochestermnasphaltandconcrete.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

C
4 months ago
Five Stars
R
5 months ago
We had a safety issue resulting from the new drive in Circle 1. There was a severe slope at the bottom of the steps in Unit 1932 which was dangerous in the winter last year. I called Rochester Asphalt multiple times during the year and was told they would look at it. They never did. The owner's wife fell because of this recently I understand they finally looked at it early this winter and nothing was done. In general they did a great job but this is unacceptable.
G
5 months ago
Friendly and timely
They could have done a better job with the grade. We have a puddle in a critical location that turns to ice. Although one of the owners was frequently on site for overseeing the project, we needed to assure the workers followed the plan. Avoid the offer of free landscaping.
D
5 months ago
Prompt service and decent, but not outstanding, job.
We had a double coat of driveway sealer applied by Rochester Asphalt late this summer. While the final result looked good from a distance, to the point where neighbors made positive comments, there are some shortcomings to the job overall. I am fairly fussy and have done this job myself from time to time, so I am aware of what will contribute to a lasting job and what will lead to more rapid deterioration. 1. Prep. It is critical to have a clean surface. The cleaning equipment that the crew that did our driveway used was impressive and fairly effective, but left some areas that had small thin patches of mud. These patches were left previously on the driveway by vehicles and lawn equipment. I would have scraped these all off myself prior to RA arriving, but the crew showed up so soon after we called for the seal coating that I did not get them all, despite scurrying around and doing as many as I could before they arrived. I don't want to complain about the prompt service, but I think we called in the late afternoon, and the crew showed up early the next morning...! Anyway, the small mud patches are separating from the driveway now, taking the sealer with it. There are not a lot of these, maybe a half dozen or so, generally an inch or two in diameter. 2. Crack filling - three things here... (1) the crack-filling tool was not heating properly and caused the crew problems. (2) Quite a few significant cracks were missed. I pointed out some and the crew did respond and fill them, but there were quite a few other cracks that were missed and not filled. (3) The larger cracks that were filled are already cracking again, after just a few months. Apparently the material used was pure tar, which I know gets brittle when it is cold, which is the case now. I'm no expert on asphalt repair, but I noticed that the material that was used to repair the parking lots and bike trails at IBM where I worked went years without cracking. Whatever it was was amazing stuff. It was applied the same way. 3. Interface between driveway and garage. We do not have a concrete "apron" in front of our garage, the asphalt goes right up to the garage concrete floor. There is about about a 3/4" gap between the asphalt and the concrete. The crew was not equipped to fill this crack. They recommended a product that I could purchase to fill this, that came in a caulk-gun cartridge, and the crew applied some to the crack, filling about a third of it. But this was grey and did not look very good. So I dug it all out (this was a pain) and purchased the crack sealant (a urethane material) in black, and filled it all myself later. This has been the best product of this type I have used so far, but it looks like it is failing too in the cold, due evidently to water getting underneath and lifting the asphalt, tearing the seal between the asphalt and the concrete. 4. The driveway seal material itself is somewhat slippery. I don't know if there is a higher friction version, but this winter when I started using my garden tractor snow-blower to clear the driveway, it had a hard time making it up the slope of the driveway, despite locking differential, wheel weights, and chains. This tore up a lot of the new sealer and it will not look very good in the spring. This happened the last time we had the driveway sealed, too, I thought maybe it was a fluke that time. It is even worse this time with two coats of sealer, so the cause is apparent. When the tractor scrapes off enough sealer that it contacts the asphalt underneath, it gets plenty of traction and goes right up the slope of our driveway. I have remedied this by adding more weight to the back of the tractor (an additional 120 pounds), but it still slips occasionally. 4. This one is not a real big deal, but the spray pattern used to apply the sealer was visible after the job was completed. Applying it myself with a brush and squeegee I have been able to get it to the point of being very uniform and consistent. I think spraying is still a lot better way to put it on, though. The bottom line is that the job done looked pretty good right afterwards, but it will not look so good this spring. The crew that did the work were friendly and very energetic, I cannot fault them on the work they did, but I think their results could have been more impressive with equipment that worked and the right materials. As a customer, I would suggest that you make it clear what the expectations of the homeowner are for prep. Is Rochester Asphalt going to take care of all of the cracks, including ones along the edge of the driveway (I ended up filling the worst of these afterwards) and filling the gap between the driveway and the garage? Knowing exactly what you will do would enable me to do whatever other prep is needed and help me ensure I get the maximum benefit and protection from your seal-coating. You did a good job installing our driveway and I want to ensure it lasts a long time.
L
5 months ago
experience to date
Rochester Aphalt paved my driveway and area in front of the barn in 2013. Water was supposed to drain off the area in front of the barn. It does not, rather it pools. Cracks were supposed to be fixed when fixed in 2015 when spacing was cut in and also when reseal-coated in 2014 and 2016. The cracks are currently open! When recoated this year it rained on it hours after. In several areas ;the coating lifted off. I talked to the office staff multiple times. Ultimately no one got back to me. I smeared crack sealer on the areas myself and also filled the spider cracks that were not filled when the seal coating was done.
R
5 months ago
We were very happy with both the quality of work, and the employees who served us.
B
5 months ago
Good work, the drive way looks great, Thank you
M
5 months ago
McDermott Concrete apron and blacktop
The installers did a fine job and explained the project and answered our questions. The concrete apron still looks very good. I am somewhat concerned about the durability of the blacktop. There appears to be some tiny cracks forming. How soon should the blacktop be seal coated? How expensive is seal coating?
J
5 months ago
Project done well
The job was done very well and looks so much better.
W
5 months ago
The blacktop project was a huge improvement over my existing driveway that was 30 years plus. I was alittle concerned over the delay in getting the work done as well as a noticeable seam right in front of my house. Both of these issues were perhaps unavoidable. Thanks again for a job well done.