Route 22 Service Center

Auto Repair Shop

93 County Rd

Westbrook, ME 04092

Open Today 7:30AM - 4:30PM

westbrookautomechanics.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

A
2 months ago
Just What You Want
Steady, competent, good-humored folks. Shop is visible immediately behind office desk. No doubts about this place.
L
2 months ago
Great Service
They always find the problem that I try to describe with a sound and repair it quickly and correctly the first time around. They also have a very courteous staff and save me money so I don't have to deal with an expensive dealership fee. I do highly recommend them to others. Thank you for great service.
D
3 months ago
Great service, very professional
We have been bringing our vehicles here for about 8 years. It's a convenient place in Westbrook where you will get very high quality service by professionals. I got a nail in my tire and they got me right in and took care of it. Excellent, excellent, excellent place to take your care for all your maintenance.
R
4 months ago
Service is Their Middle Name
If it is the big things, Route 22 Service Center takes their time to make sure your repairs are done right. If it is the small things like changing a directional signal light, you're in and out in nothing flat. These guys are the best.
D
5 months ago
Proud of his business
Dan and had a disagreement about pricing, after much discussion we came to what I saw as a fair agreement. Dan is clearly very proud of the business he has built.
J
5 months ago
Professionalism
We have just started using Rt. 22 Service Center and are very pleased by their approach to helping you with your car issues. Everyone had a great attitude and I always feel they are being forthright with me about what needs to be repaired and the cost of repair. I had a few opportunities to see them interact with other customers and they have a professional approach with everyone and all genders.
D
5 months ago
100% part mark up! Beware
Nice enough guys on the surface... But they are gouging people on part mark up! I was charged over 100% mark up on NAPA retail parts. (Example: $194 for a $96 pulley, just one of the parts...) This is unreasonable. My car was undrivable as it was so I had no choice but to have them do I the work. When I confronted the owner on the part prices he claimed they pay well over NAPA retail for their parts. This makes no sense as shops ALWAYS get a volume discount from parts stores, but he insisted it was true. I offered to gladly pay a very fair 20% over NAPA retail, but this was outright rejected. Do yourself a favor and get a second opinion before using these guys. I have informed management at the company I work for about their part prices as well. I think the company will see big savings not maintaining their vehicles here any longer...
Response from Route 22 Service Center
Thank you for using Route 22 Service Center for your car care needs. After reading your remarks regarding a recent visit and repair at our facility I did a complete review of the estimating and pricing procedures used with your repair. I found that we had priced parts from three different suppliers including the dealer and labor was based on published times. Same procedure we have followed with all customers. The parts we used for your repair were only available from one supplier that day and priced below Dealer and another foreign parts suppliers retail price. I also found the final total was below our initial estimate. The repair was completed on time and the vehicle was ready to use for your transportation home that night. Parts mark up fell within industry standards. We found you had based your parts pricing on internet prices which is set up for the "do it yourself" home repair person. We offer a parts and labor warranty as most shops do. You stated a normal/fair markup of only 20 percent. Remember that when you buy a part from Napa, VIP ect. you are usually going home to put that part in yourself where there is not a large overhead like any reputable repair facility has. At $20 markup we wouldn't be able to sustain running a business at $80 per hour ( $30) average less than a dealer. Also we made concessions with you that day, to try and make you happy. The idea you had no other choice was false. There are many other choices in the Portland area. You had the choice to take your vehicle elsewhere knowing the estimate given, but instead wanted to argue after the repairs were done. We strive in fixing your car right the first time and back it up with a warranty. We also strive for complete customer satisfaction.
P
8 months ago
Consistently reliable, prompt, high quality service and repair
I have used Rt. 22 Service for many years for my old Jeep and my latest Honda Pilot. They have tackled everything from simple oil changes to replacing the heater core in my old Jeep. They always are able to get my vehicles in within a day or a few days at the most. Everything was done well. No complaints. They also pick me up and drop me off at work so they can keep the car. I highly recommend this business.
S
9 months ago
Finally Found The Good Guys
What a great group. The repair estimate on my 2005 seemed daunting. After researching, in addition to talking with a VW dealer, I found that my wiring problem was a common one. VW had the part for my old car handy. In fact, I could have gotten it fixed at the dealership for MORE than Route 22 quoted. They showed me the breaks in the old part, as well. I will most definitely return and recommend them to anyone who asks. Nice job!
E
9 months ago
Always great service
Brought my car in for a tire swap and oil change and everything was exactly what I expected. Good service, great price, pleasant people and even a ride to work! I'll certainly be back :)