Ruth M. Ohata, DMD, Inc

Dentist

275 Ponahawai St.

Suite 204

Hilo, HI 96720

Open Today By Appointment

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

D
3 days ago
Great pediatric dentist
Always friendly and sweet
G
2 weeks ago
Excellence
We have been very fortunate to have Dr. Ohata and Dr. Kau help our children with their dental needs. They are thorough, and are always committed to making it a positive experience for my children. I have never had to wait long, which is awesome with little ones. And also love their awesome staff. They are all helpful and patient. Thank you for your wonderful work! We will always feel blessed to know you!
L
3 weeks ago
Professional, kind, patient
I wish I had found this dentist office sooner...the staff are extremely patient and understanding especially since I care for five disabled children; three of whom are current patients there. In my daughter’s case, her anxiety and emotions were on a high...the staff took the extra time she required including talking through each and every step calmly. Although her tears began to roll down her face, Dr. Kau was compassionate as he spoke to my child. He described what was to be done, what to expect and/or what it would feel like. As a parent, who could ask for more...GOD BLESS YOU DR. KAU & STAFF
L
3 weeks ago
Friendly staff and doctor
They explain what they are doing and make your child feel very comfortable. Amazing staff. Thank you
A
1 month ago
Always a pleasure!
Every appointment is fast and easy and fun for the kids. We love Dr. Kau!
J
1 month ago
So appreciate Dr. Ohata seeing Elina on short notice! You're awesome :)
T
2 months ago
Incredibly impressed... Fantastic service!!! Dr. Kauʻs professionalism and genuine concern are rare. He is truly gifted, and he is a blessing to all children.
So you know, Iʻve never written a review... but my recent visit to Dr. Ruth Ohataʻs office leaves me inclined to do so. I took my son to see Dr. Ammon Kau, dentist in Dr. Ruth Ohataʻs office, and the experience was AMAZING! Any parent who has children with dental inhibitions should schedule an appointment with Dr. Kau... After just one visit, heʻs gained my full confidence, and, more importantly, my sonʻs. I extend my highest recommendation. My son is autistic. My son adamantly REFUSES anything or anyone in his face. Dr. Kau AND the staff worked with him... comforted him... and got him to allow them to brush his teeth, floss his teeth, AND apply floride! I was floored. Dr. Kau is extremely insightful compassionate, and he is well-informed on autistic symptoms and behaviors. He attuned to my sonʻs comforts and discomforts and smoothly connected with him. With just one visit, Dr. Kau gained my sonʻs trust. Dr. Kau was against performing anything traumatizing to my son. When my son continually refused the bite thingy for the xray, Dr. Kau stopped attempts. He assured me that it was okay, and eased my anxiety. Dr. Kau suggested and was willing AND ENCOURAGING to bring my son in on multiple "short-visits"... even if for just 10 minutes... just to acclimate my son to the xray environment. After the appointment, I was tending to paperwork at the front desk. Dr. Kau came into the lobby. He high-fived all the children in the area... shook all the parentsʻ hands... and he offered his hand to his next child client. The interaction was touching and warming to the heart. Dr. Kauʻs professionalism and genuine concern are rare. He is truly gifted, and he is a blessing to all children.
C
2 months ago
Yesterday was my son first dentist visit w/ Dr. Kau. Dr. Kau is very professional, nice and friendly as well as his staff they make my son comfortable. Why they never refer Dr. Kau to me the first time I should bring my son to him the first time. Thank you Dr. Kau and all the staff.
C
2 months ago
Yesterday was my son first dentist visit w/ Dr. Kau. Dr. Kau is very professional, nice and friendly as well as his staff they make my son comfortable. Why they never refer Dr. Kau to me the first time I should bring my son to him the first time. Thank you Dr. Kau and all the staff.
K
2 months ago
Professional and Friendly
Yesterday was my sons first visit and it was a pleasent one. We didn't have to wait long, the kids enjoyed the toys in the waiting area, the dolls they could choose from and the glasses...my kids love to wear glasses. Dr. Ohata was my dentist as a child and it is great to be able to now have her as my kids dentist. She and the staff are very friendly, kind and caring. They make my kids feel comfortable and have a good time.