Ruth M. Ohata, DMD, Inc

Dentist

275 Ponahawai St.

Suite 204

Hilo, HI 96720

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
5 days ago
Always was the best and still is the best
D
2 weeks ago
Over and beyond
We love being a part of Dr. Ohata and Dr. Lau's Ohana. Everyone there is amazing. Full of aloha. It's a treat to go there. My kids love it. Thank you!
A
2 weeks ago
Very Professional
Dr. Kau was very detailed on exactly what needs to be done to my daughter teeth. They all made her feel very comfortable. Love them. High recommended!!
S
3 weeks ago
Great service
Awesome dentist and friendly staff. We appreciate you very much.
S
3 weeks ago
Highly Recommended
I took my oldest to a dentist who had "branched away from Dr.Ohata" and, having friends who rave about Dr.Ohata, I figured that taking him to see Dr.Choy would be just as good....I WAS WRONG in the worst way and I wish now that I would've waited for him to see Dr.Ohata or Dr.Kau! The experience here with my youngest was by far the greatest experience ever! They were genuinely sweet to both my boys (one a patient and the other a spectator) and they made them both feel very comfortable. We had Dr.Kau and he knew exactly how to talk to my 3 year old to keep him still. He did not scream at my son, he did not disrespect my son when my didn't respond, he was patient and kind throughout the entire visit. Dr. Kau was not rude nor did he make me feel like a bad parent (even with obvious cavities to his front teeth). Dr. Kau carefully explained all options thoroughly, stating the positives and negatives. This was the first time I have not felt embarrassed to take my child to see the dentist and the first time I did not get angry or cry myself. I may have been a little guarded at first because I was expecting this dentist to scream and threaten my baby just like they did to my 4 year old but instead I had the mere opposite. Yes my son will have a follow up to correct his cavities but I am comfortable with the company he will be in. Either they all have kids of their own and can empathize for mothers like me, or that they are god's gift to children...whatever it is I will be setting up an appointment for my oldest to come here as well :) And now that I KNOW what a pediatric dentist should be like...I will warn anyone who reads this that Dr. Andrew Choy from Keiki Dental Specialists does not treat his pediatric patients and parents the same way as Dr.Ohata and Dr.Kau and should no way be affiliated with the statement "he use to work with Dr.Ohata". If you want someone who actually cares about your child's oral heath and overall well being i highly recommend that you call Dr.Ohata's office.
S
3 weeks ago
High quality service and expertise, very supportive, Dr. Kau is awesome!
Best dentist our son has every experienced!
N
3 weeks ago
Friendly and professional
My children have been coming here for nearly 10 years. Wouldn't think about going anywhere else. I'm confident to leave my children's dental care to either Dr. Ohata or Dr. Kau. My children are educated by their dentist on their dental care. Thank you. What's more important, they're not afraid to come here. I'd highly recommend bringing your children here.
D
4 weeks ago
Great Place for Kids
The Doctors and the staff are always so friendly. My daughter has been going there since she was 2 (now 6) and is always excited for her appointments. She gets a stuffed animal to hold and fun shades to wear to block the light from the overhead lamp. When she had her first filling, I was the one that was scared! Dr. Kau was very understanding and patiently answered all my questions. I highly recommend this place for anyone with kids.
L
4 weeks ago
Love the staff,very friendly
Doctor kau,is good with child . would recommend frens and family
A
4 weeks ago
Best Pediatric Dentistry
I been to multiple pediatric dentistry and overall i am completely satisfied... I already have 2 of my children here and definitely will bring the rest of my children here for care also... Brilliant Doctor, amazing staff, clean environment, and easy location... Dr Kau is understandable and gives you more than one option of care... He provides genuine dental care and services... I highly recommend....