Salt Spring Dental

Dentist

115 Fulford-Ganges Rd

#2201

Salt Spring Island, BC V8K 2T9

Open Today By Appointment

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
2 days ago
Fast, accurate, informative, friendly
I went in because I had a tooth that was concerning me. It had nothing below it, and a lot of recession, and was difficult to keep clean. My long-time dentist, nearing retirement, agreed it should come out, but he no longer does extractions. He sent me over to Emma at Salt Spring Dental, and the tooth was out in about 15 minutes! The staff were all friendly and supportive, and Dr. Marler explained things thoroughly. When we agreed an extraction was warranted, I asked when it could be scheduled, as I have some travel coming up. She said, "How about now!" Then it was out almost before I knew it. I hope to return for other dental services!
M
4 days ago
Happy Place
Always a great experience! Great staff very friendly and helpful especially Natalie.
Response from Salt Spring Dental
Thanks Mary Lynn - we're glad your experience was great. You're a wonderful role model for health and happiness.
H
5 days ago
Excellent service. They're a friendly and professional bunch for sure!
Full disclosure: I hate going to the dentist with a passion - it's my European experiences as a child - In the UK, they were a bunch of butchers IMHO! Today, a (just about) pain-free root canal, so it doesn't get much better than that. I liked the efficient receptionist (Natalee) and the dentist who dealt with my problem, alas I can't remember his name, was just wonderful. His assistant was efficient and had a great sense of humour too. I moved from another practice and it was one of the best things I've done in a long time!
Response from Salt Spring Dental
Thank you Harry! Dr Gabor Balogh (Dr G) and Andrea are a great team, and you know I adore both you and Linda. We're happy to have you with us.
B
2 weeks ago
Thank you!
Very professional and attentive staff, thank you for all your help!
Response from Salt Spring Dental
You're welcome Bruce - glad we could help!
G
2 weeks ago
Dr. Emma Marler was incredibly with my son !!!
Dr Marler has passion and patience for the little ones highly recommended!!
Response from Salt Spring Dental
Thank you Gerson - Mikel was a perfect patient!
R
2 weeks ago
Professional, caring and fun!
In for a check up, cleaning and prioritization of work to be done, I found everything was satisfactory. There is a "care" that was pleasant, I found all professional. stars to Dr. Marler! These is an issue that I'm having that another Dentist was unable to find that Dr. Marler was...thanks to all involved!
Response from Salt Spring Dental
Thanks Ron! We're glad your visit was pleasant.
N
3 weeks ago
Recent visit
A visit to a dentist, in this case Dr. McGinn, doen’t get any better than this. I look forward to meeting his successor, Dr. Balogh.
Response from Salt Spring Dental
Thank you Norman. It was a pleasure meeting you and Linda.
I
4 weeks ago
Very professional. Lovely atmosphere. Will come back! Thank you all.
Response from Salt Spring Dental
You're welcome Inma - Leo did very well! Thank you for coming to see us.
D
1 month ago
The front desk staff and hygienist were great......friendly, professional and efficient as always. I would give them 5 stars. This was the first time I saw the new dentist. He was very rough when examining my lower front teeth, pulling my lower lip out to beyond its stretching point causing me to make a noise of discomfort. He continued to do this while running the mirror with too much pressure along the edge of my lip and gum line to the point of soreness. I should have said something to him at that time, but unfortunately did not. I'm not one to cause a confrontation, but feel I need to speak out. He also spoke about doing grafts to my lower gums. I know I have receding gums; however, Bob has never suggested doing grafts and I don't have any present problems. I understand it is my choice to have grafts or not, but it felt like an "upsell" to me. From this first experience I would give him 0 stars, but the survey will not accept no stars. I will miss Bob very much.
Response from Salt Spring Dental
Dawne, thank you for the feedback, and for taking the time to say something now, although you are correct in acknowledging that advocating for yourself when you were here would have been ideal. It can be difficult to hear hard news about your dental health, especially with your benefits expiring. However, we would be sorely remiss to only provide our patients with "good" news, as we have a responsibility to provide all options for your best dental care, including the more complex cases. Dr. McGinn has been practicing dentistry for many years, and has known his Salt Spring patients for a long time. He is aware that there are patients who are happy maintaining the status quo, whereas Dr. Balogh is used to practicing at two very busy clinics in Vancouver, as well as teaching at UBC. He brings a wealth of information and expertise to the practice, which will enable many people to avoid traveling off island for a vast number of treatments which used to be handled that way, including grafting, implants, endodontics, and all types of oral surgeries. Neither is wrong, yet both have their own style and delivery. Also, with any major treatment recommended, it is not uncommon for people to seek out a second opinion. We would be happy to provide you with the names of periodontists on Vancouver Island if you'd like. We too are sorry to see Dr. McGinn leave, but after serving his patients for over 40 years, he is ready for some well-deserved time off.
M
1 month ago
I loathe the dentist so to say I had a lovely experience last time I was at the Salt Spring Dental says quite a lot. The staff are marvellous! The atmosphere is usually upbeat and cheerful and our time is respected as they keep things moving along. Well Done.
Response from Salt Spring Dental
Thank you Margot - we're glad you had a lovely experience!