Shamblott Family Dentistry

Dentist

33 10th Ave South

Ste 250

Hopkins, MN 55343

Open Today By Appointment

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

A
4 months ago
You've Got to Get Your Root Canal! After a two hour root canal appointment with Dr. Liz, I left with Zero pain. I had considered having the tooth pulled. Dr. Liz explained the molar was 100% restorable based on x-rays. I'm happy she took the time to talk me "off the ledge". I've shared my experience with all my friends. Not a single angry nerve! Pain Free...
J
1 year ago
After extensive work done on my wife and my teeth in the past 2 years (all with Shamblott), we thought we had found the dentist for our young, growing family. DR Shamblott was very nice, the office had a nice atmosphere (80s rock on the radio), and they even gave you glasses to watch a movie for long procedures. However late last year with my wife needing more dental work and her yearly allotment of insurance used up, someone from the office recommend she buy additional insurance for extra coverage. Well upon trying to process a root canal under this new insurance that we had been paying for for 6 months, we were told it didn't cover emergency work until a year of paying premiums. So we had paid out of pocket for 6 months of insurance that we cancelled since it was useless. So after being instructed to (again by the office staff) to cancel the secondary insurance and reprocess my wifes latest work under my original insurance, we waited for that bill to come back after insurance deductions. A month later my wife had a crown fall out (the first root canal performed by them) and went back to fix it. It was at that point we were informed that we owed over $2000 from the most recent work we THOUGHT was being processed by insurance. We had not received a statement for that $2000 at that point (and still havent even though I know they have my address correct because I just got a birthday card from them for my birthday on 7/11.) We still cant say for sure whether the even processed it or tried to through insurance. When asked to pay off the balance I informed them I do not have over $2000 laying around and would have to make payments. They said they dont do payment plans (even though every medical company I've dealt with does and a small sampling of friends told me their dentist does as well.) They then said they COULD take payments but would charge interest. As if they were a bank? All in all, my experience with Shamblott family dentistry started off well but deteriorated quickly. I'm skeptical DR Shamblott actually knows exactly the minutia of everything that happens with the office side of things. More than likely he's a very busy man that has an office manager that handles all of that. Be that as it may, once my bill has been settled (which more than a month later I still haven't seen anything about), I will not be returning.
M
1 year ago
Shoddy work pain bruising
Never ever got to see this "famous" dr I cringe every time I see his poor little girl going on about how her dad won't let you b in pain and will make sure the teeth look great. I came in to see about mini implants and was humiliated and talked into dentures. Which turned out to be crooked and hung down on the left side. When the teeth were pulled the dentist pulled the top teeth she used the bottom teeth as a fulcrum which cause bruises all over my face. I even had black eyes and she made fun of me and blamed me. She belittled me for the pain I had. No care or compassion. I never went back. My fear of dentists was reinforced so badly I never fixed the bottom teeth so I can't chew or eat in public.
R
2 years ago
All staff are understanding, caring and non-judgmental
I have a tremendous fear of dentists due to a strong gag reflex and had not been for years. My teeth are as bad as they can be and I saw Dr Shamblott advertised on KSTP as being a caring dentist so I called and scheduled an appointment. From my first contact on the phone to my ultimate meeting with Dr Shamblott I could feel the sincere care and desire to help me. I am in the process of regaining a healthy mouth and smile and they have gone above and beyond to make me comfortable at each stage doing everything possible to ease my discomfort, fears, and work with my gag reflex. From the receptionist to the technician to Amy, in billing, to Dr Shamblott himself it is very obvious that they truly care about helping people achieve good dental health with no shame. I look forward, without fear, to my visits now and could not give a higher recommendation.
B
2 years ago
Great Service, Hands-on Approach, and Excellent Communication
My family has been with Shamblott Family Dentistry for 5 years. With two teenagers in the family, its been a great experience for the teens to learn the importance of proper dental care with the friendly, communicative approach Dr Shamblott uses. Corey needed braces and, with the way his jaw and teeth developed, was finally ready for them at 14. We all learned a tremendous amount about what to expect during the orthodonture process, and Corey learned along the way how to improve the care he took of his teeth. The 15-month process was well worth the effort and the reasonable expense and Corey smiles really wide whenever anyone says what a great-looking smile he has! Thanks Dr Shamblott.
I
3 years ago
the worst denistry ever
I have done with them a few root canal and crowns,after 6months one of my crown fell off and usually they say it might come off after 10years (6months is nothing) they did very bad job,I wish I never deal with them. The first time they were nice until they got me after that doctor Scott very mean was acting
J
3 years ago
I was told by Dr. Shamblott that all six of my molars needed crowns and build ups, no less. I was also told that there was active decay and subsequent fillings needed before I would be able to move forward with orthodontic treatment. The cost? Over $6,000.00, the cost of my braces! Thankfully my neighbor, a dentist, who also teaches at the U of M examined my teeth. He explained to me that he found craze marks on my molars, not cracks. Dr. Shamblott made a point to use the term "crack" while reciting his tooth by tooth findings to his assistant when examining my teeth. The real truth was that I had no active decay. My dentist neighbor protected one tooth that he thought may become vulnerable and that was it. My molars were Not cracked...
T
3 years ago
I am a new patient and yesterday was my second visit. When I arrived my appointment that was made 2 weeks earlier did not exist and my dentist was no longer at the practice. Wow what a shock. I was supposed to get my crown seated & a extraction as well. After a couple of minutes we met with the office manager who was very apologetic. They were able to get me in with a different dentist anyway and she was fabulous. I really appreciate the extra effort to get me taken care of, I get very anxious to go to the dentist so it was greatly appreciated not to have to reschedule! Thank you for taking care of my problem.
A
3 years ago
I'm actually quite disappointed with what happened last night at my appt. I originally made an appt to get my two wisdom teeth out with Dr. Tracy St. Dennis and when I got there they told me I was going to see Dr. Shamblott. I have been in pain for a while now with my one wisdom tooth and needed to be seen sooner then later. I had all ready waited a week before I could get it. I'm sure Dr. Shamblott is great but I am not comfortable seeing him. I was expecting to get the teeth out yesterday and now I have to wait and be in pain for another week. Not happy!
A
3 years ago
Dr.Shamblott and his staff did a great job. They were professional, caring and thoughtful. Dr. Shamblott took the time to explain what was going to happen and asked if I had any questions.