Shine Music Academy

Music Schools

119 Pamilla Street

Ottawa, ON K1S 3K9

Open Today 24 Hours

ottawamusicschool.ca

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

S
2 years ago
Really well run, professional place for kids to enjoy playing and learning music
My son participated in Shine until his band mates headed off to university. He had a terrific time, learning how to play with other musicians, playing live shows Kelly organized, and recording songs at the extremely nice studio. I can't say enough about how positive this experience was for my son, and how much we enjoyed seeing all the kids perform.
S
2 years ago
Our son learned base guitar with Kelly Craig, the musical director of Shine Academy. Mr Craig's longstanding professional experience and academic background allowed our son to flourish very quickly. He had a great time in the process and enjoyed the coached bands where he got to put into practice what he was learning. Hope this venue carries on for a long time to come.
C
2 years ago
Great musicianship, great encouragement for students
All three of my kids were students at Shine: the eldest plays bass, the second, drums and the youngest, sax. They all loved to go to the lessons and the instructors were encouraging and supportive, as well as creative and flexible. My older daughter was part of some of the bands, and participated in some competitions with them. She loved it so much she helped out with summer Jam Camp as well. Kelly is inspiring as a teacher, and relates so well with the students. We are lucky to have met him and been involved with Shine.
J
2 years ago
Great teachers and positive learning environment
Shine Music Academy was where I learned to play saxophone as a grade six student. Joining a band was a great experience for myself and allowed me to learn a new skill as well as meet great people. Kelly Craig has been a close friend ever since I started at Shine and has helped me grow as a musician and as a person. Highly recommended.
Response from Shine Music Academy
Thanks Jake, I hope the Vancouver and Toronto references I gave you work for you, let me know if you'd like me to contact them on your behalf
C
2 years ago
The BEST part of growing up in Ottawa
Let me tell you a little bit about the birth of Shine Academy. When my friends and I graduated from Hopewell PS in 2002, we wanted to keep playing jazz together as a band despite going off to different high schools. We were busking around town for small change and ice cream that summer, but had no place to practice and no one to keep learning from. We approached Kelly Craig, a local trumpet teacher, and he eagerly set up a space for us at the Glebe CC to continue playing together and to teach us jazz as a group. He built this charity from the ground up while babysitting us @#%^ heads, and that is no small feat. There must now be over a hundred Shine alumni grateful to one of the most benevolent musicians in Ottawa for giving them the opportunity to play what they want to play, together. If they're not all leaving 5-star reviews, it's because they're busy practicing. Send your kids to Shine.
Response from Shine Music Academy
Awwww! Only you could manage a cuss word in there, I'll come by and visit you and your folks soon.
A
2 years ago
My son took trumpet lessons with Kelley Craig and played in his bands all through high school. Kelley is a gifted teacher and an inspired leader--always patient, enthusiastic, creative. My son benefited tremendously from playing in 'real' venues with Kelly's bands (not just in the high school auditorium like he did with the high school bands). An excellent growth experience for my son--I would recommend Shine unconditionally.
Response from Shine Music Academy
Thanks Amelia, say hi to Jay for me.
J
2 years ago
Fantastic
Kelly Craig and the shine music academy was an integral part of my development not only as a musician but as a human being. It was an amazing experience to be able to learn the different aspects of music and such and kelly really knows his stuff. He was caring always tried to help out in anyway he could and always tried to go the extra mile. I can't thank him enough for everything he has done for me
Response from Shine Music Academy
Thanks Jlon, Are you still singing? Come for a social visit at the studio soon
K
2 years ago
A great place to learn
I'm an alumni of this school, and I went here when I was fairly young for drum lessons. Looking back, it's hard to think of where in Ottawa I'd have gotten such great music instruction from a pool of such dedicated, talented local musicians. The idea of getting students together in a band is a great idea, as it gives students the goal of a concert and a way to socialize and interact with other kids interested in music. The recording space is also top-notch. Shine feels like a center for music around the city that really works to instill in the young a love of music. Places like this with a genuine and charitable mission are sorely needed to keep the arts alive. Attending was one of the best experiences of my youth.
Response from Shine Music Academy
Thanks Kit, it was great seeing you grow up into such a fine man.
C
2 years ago
Growth Oriented Education
Shine Music Academy connects students with music educators who have a vast range of performance experience. Students in private lessons learn how to practice efficiently and effectively, with a focus on developing a work ethic which effects all areas of life.
Response from Shine Music Academy
Thanks for the description Cal
S
2 years ago
Great school!
The Shine Music Academy was a great place for my son to learn how to play trumpet and drums. Kelly Craig and all the staff are amazing. great facility! great program!
Response from Shine Music Academy
Thanks Steve, I hope you, and your Family are all doing well. It was great running into you in Montreal.