Sidekicks Martial Arts Studio, Inc.

Self Defense and Martial Arts Course

21617 Harper Avenue

Saint Clair Shores, MI 48080

Open Today 9:00AM - 8:30PM

saintclairshoresselfdefense.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

E
4 months ago
I had been experiencing quite a bit of stress in my life and also wanted to challenge myself more physically after losing quite a bit of weight, so I bought a Groupon for kickboxing. Never did I imagine I would love it so much and be still doing it now 3 years later. Grand Master Brian and my fellow Sidekicks kick boxers have become like a second family to me. And not only do I feel physically like my best, but mentally as well.
P
4 months ago
Top Notch, Total Conditioning Training from Expert Instructors
Classes are led by experienced instructors who collectively have high expertise and proven skills in martial arts, self defense and combatives, kick boxing and personal fitness. A variety of offerings are available to meet your interests, needs and conditioning levels. With competitive martial arts and fighter backgrounds and achievements, you can find ways to be challenged at the total conditioning and skill levels you want. The workout area available enables you to build strength, flexibility, balance, cardio conditioning and other physical capabilities to supplement classes. While workouts are no-nonsense, the workout culture at the studio is supportive and friendly. Grand Master Brian, Master Bill and the other trainers live their profession as a way of life, are passionate, up-to-date and innovative in their programs and methods, and are inspiring. Integrity, respect, inner confidence and commitment to a healthy living style are some of the benefits participants can expect as members.
K
5 months ago
Highly recommended!
I love working out at Sidekicks! It is the place to get fit for everybody. I started taking classes to get fit at the same time my kids were taking their karate classes at the studio, so convenient! I continued with kickboxing and I am into my third year now. Not one class is the same, Grand Master Brian offers the perfect combination of training in strength,cardio and self defense.
A
5 months ago
High quality training
If you are looking for a realistic, no nonsense way to train, Sidekicks is for you. Grandmaster Brian trains everyone as an individual, in a way that's right for you. He has a realistic approach to self defense that makes sense for each individual. He is definitely credible and has been training most of his life. I have really enjoyed my time there and improved in many areas, strength and conditioning are just a few examples. I always feel like I am learning something new in every class so I never get bored. All instructors are th best. I always look forward to the time I get to spend here.
T
5 months ago
We have been going for 15 years. My boys started when they were 4.5 and 6. They are both are 3rd degree black belts. My husband and I both agree is was one of the best things we could have done for them. Grandmaster Brian refers to the studio as another school, and it truly is. I always think that is was a great help for additional disapline, confidence, and mentors. When my oldest was in junior high we started taking kickboxing together and 9 years later, I'm still there. Love it best workout always different. Brian explains why are doing certain exercises. I can't forget the self defense that he is always reminding us about.
P
5 months ago
I have been relatively fit all my life belonging to one gym or another. However, when I joined the Kickboxing classes I soon realized that with an hour class 3-4 times per week, I was getting SO much better strength wise, cardiovascular wise and body tone wise, than I had ever before in much less time!!! I only wish I had know this many years ago. I see so many body transformations in all the new people who join. Amazing results!
C
5 months ago
Great place - Sign up now!
There are a variety of classes offered, all taught by highly qualified instructors. We have been going for two years and we love it.
E
2 years ago
Home away from home for me (and my two sidekicks)
My two children and I have been students of Martial Arts at Sidekicks for a year, so far. We expect to be "lifers." Grandmaster Pontillo and his team of instructors have created a wonderful learning environment here, and this studio has become -- for the three of us -- a "home away from home." One year after beginning our martial arts training, we are not only healthier, stronger and advancing in rank, we all feel that Sidekicks has helped us achieve a different mental edge than the ones we walked in with a year ago. On top of that, we are having a blast! We are a pre-teen, teen and 40-something, respectively, and we really enjoy the experience of training together as a family and watching each other advance in fitness, capabilities and in rank. And on top of all of that, we've experienced terrific gains in self-discipline and self-confidence. If you are thinking about doing this, do it at Sidekicks and do it now. It is never to soon and you are never too old (I'm not the only one in the studio who has proven that!).
J
3 years ago
serious but fun!
Great training for young inspiring martial artists. Strengthening, conditioning and learning how to protect yourself is our goal for our son. Side kicks has something for everyone!
J
3 years ago
Sidekicks
I have been going to Sidekicks Martial Arts Studio for approximately 16 years. I started taking my kids when they were young but it looked like fun so I soon joined in. Sidekicks offers several experiences from fitness (strength, endurance, flexibility, balance) to personal defense, and martial arts training. This has made me a much more rounded person than I was when I began. The facility is clean, safe, and offers several classes to meet the needs of all who attend. There are two things I enjoy most about Sidekicks. First, in training with many of the same people, a family atmosphere develops. We push and help each other and, for me, an experience of community health is definitely present. The most valuable part of Sidekicks is its owner Brian Pontillo. Grand Master Brian has been dedicated to mental and physical improvement for decades. This experience is evident in all his classes and teaching. When others would sit on a successful school and relax, you will always find Brian seeking improvement of his himself, and his school for all that attend. Of course there are days when I don't feel like working out, but I always leave the school feeling better than when I walked in. I can not recommend Sidekicks strongly enough. It has been good to me, and my family as well!