Smalling Masonry, LLC

Chimney and Fireplace Installer

Indianapolis, IN

General Contractor: GL1900231
Closed Today Closed

beechgrovemasonry.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

C
1 year ago
Chimney Cover
Courteous, responsive, punctual, efficient, professional, personable, respectful, honest. Mr. Smalling and his office manager (I cannot remember her name, I apologize to her) were all of those things. Due to a recent squirrel in my fireplace, I needed a chimney cover. I called several companies and without coming to assess what I had to know what I needed, I was quoted anywhere from $500-$1,000 for a chimney cap. A friend of mine suggested I call Mr. Smalling. Best decision EVER. I phoned late that afternoon. The office manager asked if I could email a photo of my chimney so they could see what I had. I did and within minutes, I had a VERY reasonable quote of what I needed and an appointment for first thing the following morning. Mr. Smalling arrived and within 30 minutes or so I had a chimney cover that reasonable. I particularly appreciated that as a single woman I was respected. Mr. Smalling didn't attempt to take advantage and try to upsell me. That in itself makes Smalling Masonry a top notch firm. I would recommend them highly and will definitely use in the future.
Response from Smalling Masonry, LLC
Thank you so much for the review! If you ever have any other issues please feel free to give us a call. We were glad we were able to help
B
1 year ago
Wonderful service
Andrew and Storm were great. They got there on time every day, and answered our questions to our satisfaction. Highly recommend their services!!!
Response from Smalling Masonry, LLC
Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review. It was a pleasure working with you guys. If all clients were as nice as you we would have an easy job!
A
1 year ago
High quality
Gary and his team did an excellent job with my gas stove installation.
M
2 years ago
Chimney partial rebuild - great experience!
After a nightmarish situation purchasing a home with a chimney in desperate need of repair - Gary and his team to the rescue! Gary was very patient with me, answering every question I had, even responding on a Sunday. On the day of repair, the team was on time, worked diligently, and once finished - left the area cleaner then when they started. We had a unique situation with brick exposed inside the bedroom - Gary's team kept the carpet spotless and even built a special design into the bricks. When there was slight damage to our ceiling paint in the bedroom, Gary came by himself to correct the damage. Extremely pleased with their team and their work! We won't hesitate to use them again in the future.
Response from Smalling Masonry, LLC
Thank you so much for the review. I think these are the most kind things ever said about Smalling Masonry! Our team tries very hard not to disappoint. It sounds like we hit it out of the park. WE are glad we were able to help!
M
2 years ago
Well Recommended, great service
Gary was right on time. They were highly professional in protecting our home environment from the effects of cleaning the fire place.He was able to explain everything about how our particular wood burner operated and make recommendations on how to get the most out of the unit. We would definitely use they're services again in the future.
G
2 years ago
Professional and Friendly, Great Experience
Gary was very easy to work with, and very genuine in his approach. The team that completed the work did a fantastic job, and kept the worksite as clean as I would myself Really enjoyed the experience and love the transformation of our fireplace. Would easily recommend the team for your next masonry job.
S
2 years ago
Fireplace Repair
Gary, Storm and his team did an excellent job. In a time when finding reliable, experienced repairmen are hard to find, they are a welcome change. From the estimate to the repair of my chimney and clean up, everything was done as expected. They were professional and left the work area neat and clean. The fireplace looks great Thank you for a great job. Please let me know if you need any references.
P
2 years ago
Repeat Customer in older home
Gary and his team have done extensive work on our home. We bought a 1929 tudor in Meridian Kessler two years ago that required significant restoration. We trusted Smalling Masonry because of multiple recommendations from neighbors. They rebuilt both our chimneys and did tuck pointing in other weak portions of the exterior. The communication, level of professionalism and quality of work was fantastic. Gary stayed in touch afterwards to ensure our satisfaction. We continue to use Smalling Masonry for our annual chimney sweep and they are the only masons we will trust for future work.
Response from Smalling Masonry, LLC
Thank you for the kind words! You guys are awesome. I love stopping by and taking care of your chimney!
T
2 years ago
What they do best is what everyone should be doing!
While it wasn't an "emergency" we needed our chimney repaired because we were getting internal damage to a plaster ceiling in a second floor room. Gary came out and took pictures of the chimney(s) so I could see the state they were in. The most problematic of which was the chimney to our basement water heater. It was in bad shape. Our main chimney had some issues as well. Gary and I discussed options and while cost is always a factor, I knew that I'd rather do something that can survive for a long, long time (and with a house that is 109 years old, you try to do your best to keep it as healthy as possible) rather than something more akin to a patch. When I say that they did what other trades should be doing (which just shows you how people can get used to poor service over the years), it really came down to little things like good communication, being professional in their face-to-face with me, being respectful of our house and yard and, as sad as it is to admit that so few trades value this, they were on time! Not just pulling up to the house at 8 am but work beginning at 8. You could set your watch by it! I cannot recommend Gary and his team enough. You will not regret the choice to use them to take care of your home.
C
2 years ago
High quality service & very proffesional
I loved working with smalling masonry. They came out on an emergency call to do a complete rebuild of our chimney. Gary is amazing, and was able to switch around his schedule and put my mind at ease. The guys were there even earlier than he said which shows me their go getter attitude! They did a camera scope of my chimney to give me the piece of mind about my fireplace being in working order. Unfortunately, they found cracks in the liner but if we would have started a fire without that inspection it could have ended very badly. I enjoyed the whole process from beginning to end, and Gary was always available with any questions I had along the way. I can not stop staring at my beautiful new chimney!