Smile Stars Pediatric Dentistry

Dentist

10522 South Glenstone Place

Baton Rouge, LA 70810

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

L
1 month ago
Abusive and angery
Dr. Steven Ripple at Smile Stars in Baton Rouge, Louisiana is the first dentist that I recall seeing as a child. I was around the age of 7 or 8 the first and only time I was a patient of Dr. Steven Ripples. He told my mother that I needed a crown. I was brought into a small room, my mom couldn’t come in the back with me, I was terrified. I was held down by an assistant or hygienist. When I tried to wipe a tear, he slapped my hand down, slapped my left cheek, grabbed my face and yelled at me. He pointed to a large body brace at my feet and yelled “If you keep it up, I’ll strap you down in that!!!! Do you want that?! HUH?!?” I shook my head no, I couldn’t speak because of what was in my mouth holding it open. He replied “I DIDN’T THINK SO!” and told the assistant that if I moved to stop him so they could strap me down. I had nightmares for years following. To this day, I feel sick when I pass his office. I understand that many people love him and he does not treat all children this way, but it’s not worth taking a chance.
O
1 month ago
"It's a no from me." - Simon Cowell
From what I have read, Dr. Ripple seems like he likes to torment defenseless children, and before people get all up in arms - it's possible to have good experiences with an abuser, however, that does not cancel out the bad experiences that DOZENS of people have had. These people have NO REASON to sit here and make up stories and put themselves out there for criticism. The physical and emotional abuse aside - his practices do not seem to gel with what pediatric dentistry should be. I should have listened to my gut intuition at our first visit in 2015 when the staff stated that parents were not allowed to accompany their children in the back, but instead I decided to trust these people with my two children for YEARS. Lesson learned. My oldest (10 years old) has had several teeth pulled by Dr. Ripple - the last time (August 2019) she had four teeth pulled simultaneously. I thought it was odd that when my child came out she obviously been crying for quite some time as her face was extremely red and splotchy. She continued to cry for the next 30-40 minutes on the drive back home and was in a great deal of pain. Now, I know from my dental experiences that every time I leave my dentist's office after a procedure of any kind, I cannot even feel my face at all, much less pain of any sort. After all of the stories of abuse came out, I sat my daughter down just to make sure there wasn't anything that I needed to know. She stated that he had always been nice to her and was never physically rough when she got her teeth pulled (thank goodness), but the one thing that concerned me was that she said he did not use a gel (Lidocaine) on her gums before he gave her the shots, and the shots hurt really bad. I have no way to prove this, but if it is true, that is horrible. I can't imagine how much it would have hurt to receive the shots with no topical numbing. Now - in regard to his crappy statement he released regarding the abuse accusations and horrible practices - this dude needs to sit down. Stating that he does not want to "stifle First Amendment rights", but then deleting any and all comments that are not positive? And also victim blaming? It's truly disgusting. I don't need a bad experience to take my business elsewhere - his statement alone is enough to give me a bad taste in my mouth (no pun intended).
C
1 month ago
We love Smile Stars!
Dr Ripple, Dr Matt & staff are the best! They are always smiling and my kids are completely comfortable here. My oldest currently has braces and her teeth are looking amazing! They do great work!
L
1 month ago
Great service
I made a mistake on the appointment and came in the wrong day. Not only did they squeeze me in we were in and out in less than an hour. Amazing service and will definitely be back!! Thank you!!
B
1 month ago
High Quality Recommendation!
The Staff and Dr. Ripple are so awesome and patient with special need kiddos!!
H
1 month ago
The absolute best staff ever!
All the staff make you feel welcome and loved! Very friendly and they make kids feel at home! Love this place!
J
1 month ago
Extremely caring, polite, and amazing place!
We are extremely glad we chose to bring our son here! Dr. Ripple, is amazing!! The staff was so nice and was wonderful with our son!
C
2 months ago
Visit Followup
My kids & I love Smile Stars, but yesterday’s visit was HORRIBLE! The front lobby/waiting area was uncomfortably hot. What was up with the AC?? On top of that, one of the dental hygienists/nurses coughed in my son’s mouth during his cleaning! Thankfully she had on a mask, but I’ll still be on guard for the next 14 days watching for COVID symptoms!!
G
2 months ago
Very professional, polite, and caring
Highly recommend, my daughter loves the friendly, professional, staff.
V
2 months ago
I always appreciate the smiling faces at Smile Stars when they take my boys back for the routine cleaning. Puts them at such ease.