South Tampa Kids Dentistry

Dentist

3514 W Bay to Bay Blvd

Suite 2

Tampa, FL 33629

Open Today By Appointment

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
3 days ago
Absolutely amazing!
We feel so lucky to have found Dr. Lauren and the staff at South Tampa Kids Dental Krewe! Everyone could not be nicer, so helpful and accommodating. The facility itself is beautiful and my kids both love going! All around a huge win! P
J
1 week ago
Very mixed feelings about my son's visit.
I have very mixed feelings about my son's dental visit. I think Dr Companioni is a wonderful dentist and great with kids. I do not doubt her abilities at all. With that said, I believe the general policy of not seeing one year olds has failed my son and cost him severely. My son chipped a few of his front teeth when he was around 14 months old. I told Dr. Companioni 6 months ago in April when I had my daughter in and said I'd like to have him seen. I was told that he was probably just grinding his teeth and was too young at 14 months. That I should make an appointment to bring him in 6 months later when he was closer to 2 and my daughter had her follow up. Six months later, he has this appointment and to be told it is now probably too late to save all 4 front teeth on the top was devastating. My options are to pull all four top front teeth on a 1 year old baby so he can try and learn to speak without teeth there (not to mention eating difficulties from 1 to 8 years old) or to pay out of pocket for four crowns since insurance won't crown children's teeth. If my son had been seen when I raised my concern, I believe the teeth would have definitely been salvageable and am very upset I went with it and accepted no for an answer. I feel both the dentist and I failed my son. I pray the crowns Dr. Companioni is to put on hold and that my son can grow up without speech or eating issues due to it.
Response from South Tampa Kids Dentistry
I am sorry to hear of your experience and would like to address your concerns. First when a parent is in with another child and in passing tells Dr. Lauren that their toddlers teeth are chipping but no mention of the teeth turning black, have significant tooth structure missing, or the teeth appearing decayed by all means Dr. Lauren will let them know that they can probably wait until the other child comes back in for their cleaning appointment but if the parent is concerned we can see them sooner but there is no way without an exam of that child that Dr. Lauren would have known the extent of the chipping you spoke of. Also Dr. Lauren, and our staff, would never tell a family we don't see 1 year old, Dr. Lauren follows the guidelines set forth by the AAPD which recommends by their 1st birthday. Second, there is no scientific evidence that children who have their front teeth extracted at a young age have any problems with normal speech development or difficulties in eating, extraction of the front teeth is actually a common occurrence. With this being said if you have concerns regarding treatment recommended Dr. Lauren would encourage you to seek a 2nd opinion to see if another dentist may be able to meet your needs or provide options that better suit your family.
A
2 weeks ago
Best pediatric dental office ever!!!!
K
2 weeks ago
Amazing
Love this office and employees they are so great.
H
3 weeks ago
Great experience (for me and my child)!
The office is adorable and very kid friendly. The staff are all so nice and kind. They made my child feel comfortable and excited about her first dental visit. Haley and Dr. Lauren were fantastic!!
C
3 weeks ago
Excellent
Going to the dentist is never dreadful! It's so nice to see nothing but smiling faces. My daughter's do not fight me over going at all. They love it!
K
3 weeks ago
Making Going To The Dentist Fun
Love the Krewe at S. Tpa Kids Dental Krewe as they make going to the dentist fun for my son, 2, and mommy. From the check in to check out to the friendly staff, toys in every room and regards for good behavior make this dental visit a breeze. The icing on the cake is you are in and out within 30 minute
S
4 weeks ago
Unexpected visit
We needed to be seen unexpectedly and they fit us into their schedule. They were very thorough.
M
1 month ago
My three year old LOVES Dr. Lauren
The only bad part of our experience has been on the morning of appointments, having to listen to our three year old ask every 5 minutes if it's time to go to see Dr. Lauren yet! She is obsessed. :) The office staff are all wonderful, friendly and helpful. The office is clean and modern and whimsically fun for kids.
H
1 month ago
Best first dentist experiences
We could not be more thrilled with our first dental experience at South Tampa Dental Krewe for our 21-month-old. From the front desk staff to Dr. Lauren, the office is made for kids. Thank you thank you for making what could have been a tough experience so fantastic.