Starling Tutoring

Tutoring Service

Sleepy Hollow, NY 10591

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

S
3 years ago
A great, personable, dedicated tutor
I highly recommend Daniel Starling as a tutor. My daughter was in a tough spot when she first starting to work with Daniel. She was midway through her Junior year in Hastings High school, and she was beginning her college search in earnest. While she felt able to distinguish herself for leadership positions at the school and athletically, all while taking several AP classes, her grades were average for Hastings and she had done poorly on the SAT and ACTs, despite having taken a prep course. In addition, she struggled to keep up with Pre-Calculus. She wanted to go to a school with an athletic driven campus life, but these were exactly the schools that other students were applying to to be their safeties, and her odds of getting in to any of them didn’t seem very promising given her grades and standardized test scores. Since then, Mr. Starling and my daughter have been working together for an hour each week. He has done a great job in that limited time to help my daughter not just stay on top of her Pre-Calculus course, but also dramatically increase her ACT scores in all five sections of the test. Daniel quickly established a good rapport with my daughter and I’ve seen him use humor to keep her engaged, patience and other approaches to solving a problem to make sure a lesson is understood. He has helped her prioritize her schoolwork, improve her study habits and be more strategic about how she takes standardized tests. Mr. Starling has always been reliable, upbeat and conscientious. After working together for several months, my daughter did well retaking the ACT, and while she’s still waiting to hear from several schools, she has already been accepted to 5 of the 7 school that we’ve heard from including one of her safeties, one of her targets and one of her reach schools. My daughter and I are enormously grateful for Daniel's help in helping her achieve those goals. He has been invaluable.
Response from Starling Tutoring
Thank you so much Mr. Kane for your extraordinary review!! It made my day. I'm so happy your daughter has improved as much as she has. She has a bright future; Thank you for your business!
R
4 years ago
Great Tutor - Daniel Bush
Daniel tutored me a few years ago when I was taking Physics at RPI. He was really great at helping me understand the material and was patient in explaining things. He was very professional and always came prepared and focused. I highly recommend him and have no question about his ability to teach new material and to motivate students to learn!
Response from Starling Tutoring
Thank you so much Rachel! It's so nice to receive a review from when we were in school! As I remember, you did a great job in that Physics class... Thanks for placing your faith in me. Nice to hear from you, Daniel
R
4 years ago
A GAME CHANGING TUTOR
Daniel Bush tutored me in math throughout high school, increasing my C's to A+s in the following courses: Geometry, Algebra II, Precalculus, and Calculus. My SAT score went from a 1680/2400 to a 2160/2400 after working with him, and was accepted to schools I wouldn’t have been accepted to otherwise. Dan’s services are essentially an investment with a high return. Many individuals are capable of achieving high SAT scores, but it takes a special teacher to draw out a student’s potential. What sets Daniel apart is that he has an innate ability to teach, identify his student’s weaknesses, and then create a unique action plan that produces immediate results. Additionally, Dan is a great motivator and is very personable to work with. He instills mental discipline, builds confidence and pushes every student he works with to reach for the stars. I liked that Dan was always well prepared for our sessions. When I felt like quitting Dan would often remind me I had too much potential to be a B student. If you have any further questions about his services or my experiences working with him do not hesitate to contact me at robert.kudart(at)gmail.com.
Response from Starling Tutoring
Thanks Robert for your review. Your transformation was staggering and your results were fantastic. It's truly a pleasure working with you.
M
4 years ago
Wonderful Tutor!
"Daniel tutored my eldest son for his SAT Math section as well as in Calculus and Physics. My son scored a 780 on his SAT Math section after working with Daniel, enabling him to attend the college of his choosing. Now, Daniel is tutoring my middle child on the ACT, and we are very happy with the preliminary results and look forward to broadened horizons as a result of our investment in his tutorials. We HIGHLY recommend Daniel's services."
Response from Starling Tutoring
I'm so proud of the progress BOTH of your son's have made! I'm very excited to see their results in the future, thanks so much for the marvelous review!
P
4 years ago
Can we have 5 more stars??
Daniel started working a year ago with my son to help him in his Math and Physics classes. My son was interested in Physics but he was struggled with math unexpectedly. He learned so much from Daniel, who kept learning interesting and challenged him. I saw my son's attitude toward studying change, all thanked to Daniel. After tutorials with Daniel, he is now in Calculus AP and college Physics classes. He kept up with his math review in the summer while engaged in his science research. He entered the senior year well prepared. We are very pleased with the results from Starling Tutoring, and looking forward to working with Daniel this academic year, too.
Response from Starling Tutoring
It's so rewarding to see your son reach his goals of being in Calculus and AP Physics while maintaining his research. I'm excited to see what he can accomplish in the future. Thank you so much for taking the care to craft such a heartwarming testimonial.
J
4 years ago
Outstanding Tutor!! Daniel Bush
Daniel has been tutoring my son for nearly one year now, and the results have been transformative! My son had an apathetic attitude towards his studies before he began tutorials with Daniel, but afterwards, he became excited about his performance, earning A's in nearly all of his classes by the end of the school year. We are very happy with our son's success and look forward to continuing to work with Daniel.
Response from Starling Tutoring
Thank you so much for your glowing review and for your business. It's pleasure working with you and your son. Thanks for taking the time to make my day!
J
4 years ago
Outstanding Tutor!!-Daniel Bush
Daniel has been tutoring my son for nearly one year now, and the results have been transformative! My son had an apathetic attitude towards his studies before he began tutorials with Daniel, but afterwards, he became excited about his performance, earning A's in nearly all of his classes by the end of the school year. We are very happy with our son's success and look forward to continuing to work with Daniel.
Response from Starling Tutoring
Thank you so much for your glowing review and for your business. It's pleasure working with you and your son. Thanks for taking the time to make my day!
E
4 years ago
"Amazing tutor!!” - Emily, Irvington, NY When my son met Daniel, he was considering dropping his math honors class since he had been struggling with some of the work, but shortly after Daniel started the sessions (maybe 4 or 5) my son regained his confidence and continued in his honors Algebra 2 & Trig. class achieving an A average!! My son is totally convinced that Daniel has made all the difference. Also, I'm very impressed with the way Daniel was able to recognize my son's weaknesses and help him overcome them. He is passionate about teaching and truly cares about his students. I am very pleased with his commitment and professionalism. Thank you Daniel for all your amazing help!!
Response from Starling Tutoring
Thank you for your candid feedback! I'm very happy that your son showed such accelerated improvement. Please don't hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can help with or improve upon in the future. Thanks again, Daniel
J
4 years ago
Highly-skilled and gifted tutor!
Daniel is an incredibly gifted tutor, and I highly recommend him. Our older daughter had been having significant difficulties in math (pre-algebra and algebra) and had worked herself up so that it was as though she was head-blind when it came to the subject. As her parents, we had tried helping her, her teachers had tried, and she had tried special tutoring sessions through her school, but nothing was making an impact. What makes Daniel’s tutoring style and skills amazing is that he not only helped her learn the material when none of use had figured out how to present it to her effectively, but he did so in a way that empowered her and helped rebuild her confidence. If you know a student who’s struggling - regardless of how many or what kinds of help you’ve attempted to provide in the past - I highly recommend Daniel!
Response from Starling Tutoring
THANK YOU for your glowing review! I'm so happy that your daughter was able to find her confidence thorough our tutorials. It really makes my day knowing that I could help. Thanks for taking the time to write such a considerate review. Daniel
M
4 years ago
"Awesome!"
- Margaret, Spring Valley, NY My grandson has been working with Daniel for about 12 months now and has learned so much! Daniel has a wealth of knowledge about the subject and an incredible gift for explaining the material clearly and concisely. My grandson's school situation is rather unique, and Daniel has enthusiastically and patiently helped him become a confident and capable learner in a rather challenging chemistry course. Daniel is always willing to work his schedule to find a time that works for us, and is always willing to text about 'last minute questions' whenever he is not with another student. You couldn't ask for a better tutor!”
Response from Starling Tutoring
Thank you Margaret for your awesome review! Your grandson has truly done a fantastic job with his class, and I'm so happy that he is empowered to pursue Chemistry! I'm looking forward to working with you more in the future. Thank you VERY MUCH for the excellent referrals!! Sincerely, Daniel