Tallahassee Pediatric Dentistry

Dentist

2304 Killearn Center Blvd.

Tallahassee, FL 32309

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

K
3 months ago
First time experience was great. Very patient and friendly with my 2 little ones. They look forward going back!
J
3 months ago
High Quality Service, Professional and Friendly
Best Pediatric Dentist in town!! They get you in and out and make your children feel welcome! My kids love coming! Would recommend to anyone with children.
A
3 months ago
Another Great Appointment
We had another great appointment today ( #4) with the team at Tallahassee Pediatric Dentistry. From the moment we checked in to leaving, our interactions with the different team members were all very professional and efficient. My son has no anxiety about visiting the dentist and we greatly appreciate the efforts that the courteous staff puts forth to ensure a great visit for both the patient and parent. We highly recommend this practice to all of our local family and friends.
L
3 months ago
Polite, professional and child friendly atmosphere!
The minute we walked into Tallahassee Pediatric Dentistry, I knew we had found the perfect place for my son’s dental care. It’s child friendly and the experience was stress free. Dr. Shawn was wonderful, as well as her staff. I love how the staff took time to talk about concerns/ norms and shared constructive dental care suggestions. We loved our 1st visit and have a special 1st visit polaroid from the office to add to his growing years memory book! 😉
E
3 months ago
Poor staff
I have been taking my kids to Tallahassee Pediatric Dentistry for over a year now. One of my kids needs special attention on her teeth and our previous dentist recommended Dr Shawn when we moved to Tallahassee. Now, let me tell you, during the past year we have been seeing Dr. Shawn for our regular cleanings and my daughters follow up on her treatment. During every appointment we have discussed our treatment and we both agreed on continuing to watch concerns and keep doing what we were doing (brush/diet). I always felt like she listened to my concerns. I’m a mom who likes to be involved and know as much as I can to help my kids, I like to listen to professional’s opinions but also do my own homework. We had a plan set for my daughter which we both agreed would be the best and that was trying our best to avoid the big dental work of drilling/filling and capping her teeth, especially considering her age. A few months ago I received an email with an invoice for a treatment plan for my daughter (which was nothing like we had been talking about for the past year). It seemed like they just wanted to bill me for expensive treatments even though we both agreed to take the less invasive route. I emailed them back questioning why they sent me that treatment plan, never got a reply so I decided to call. The answer I got was, that the email was a mistake. I understand but still had the bad feeling about how they didn’t even care to look at her information before sending me that treatment plan and invoice. Anyways, we got over that and had a few other appointments after the incident, let me mention, not even once Dr. Shawn cared to apologize for her office’s “mistake” (that was the word they used to explain the whole invoice situation). Last weekend my daughter showed another little issue on a different tooth, after emailing the office we both agree to bring her in for a checkup and we had our appointment. We arrived 5 minutes early for our 12PM appointment and waited and waited. After 40min I asked the front desk, a very sweet lady, if we were about to be called, I had a lesson schedule for my son and I needed to adjust my plans if our appointment would take longer than expected. I asked after 40 min WAITING, yes, I understand sometimes you have to wait but I feel like 40 min is incredible disrespectful. As the lady was beginning to answer me, I heard cross the room a younger girl who works for Dr. Shawn and I won’t name names, saying loudly, “you have to wait!” I replied, excuse me?! She went off and continued in a rude and disrespectful tone “well, you have to wait! We can’t control patients and that’s it! You have to wait!“ I could not believe her tone of voice and how her facial expressions was. I asked her to excuse me because I was trying to talk to the front desk and I did not ask her. She was clearly angry and I strongly asked her to stop! The front desk lady with her sweet and calm voice apologized for the wait. After 45 minutes we were called in, another super nice nurse helped us to get settled in and we waited for Dr. Shawn. After over ONE hour of our appointment time we were finally being seeing by Dr. Shawn who again, listened to me, worked on my request and before we left I told her about the incident in the front desk, I truly felt like I should not be yelled from that specific nurse and she had no rights to tell me I had to wait and that’s how it works! Dr. Shawn said she already heard the story and she thought her nurse was right! With her words, “her nurse is an extension of her”. If you feel like your employees have the right to mistreat your customers I’m sorry you are not a good fit for my family. Dr. Shawn was blunt and asked us not to come back. I absolutely agree because I want my kids to be seen on a personal basis and not as another $$ symbol. So bottom line is, if you want to be involved, educated about your kids treatment, if you have an opinion, if you stand for yourself and if you truly seek medical advice instead of just agreeing with whatever treatment they suggest, this place is not for you. If they truly cared about my kids issue things would have gone a different route. And for you parents, stand for yourself, if they book too many patients and you have to wait for over 1 hour past your appointment, speak for yourself! If we as patients arrive over 1 hour late we probably wouldn’t be seen and would still be charged. Respect to be respected and that’s the bottom line.
Response from Tallahassee Pediatric Dentistry
It is unfortunate that you feel this way. We appreciate all of our patients, and try our best to accommodate their needs while following the standards put forth by the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. What you are talking about as a “treatment plan” is actually a predetermination plan which helps patients understand what to expect in the event the patient decides to move forward and outlines cost. This is a complementary service we provide to our patients to mitigate any insurance billing issues in the future. Insurance and reimbursement is sometimes hard to understand and we try to help our patients as much as we can. As far as the interaction you had at the front desk, I spoke with the team and received a different illustration of the event that took place. Yes, we were running late that day. We try to keep it from happening but that morning we had a few patients with disabilities and behavioral challenges that needed a little more time. I do not believe that anyone has the right to mistreat anyone, that includes staff, parents, and patients, and we should all hold ourselves to a high standard of compassion and mutual respect. You are right about one thing. The staff is an extension of Dr. Shawn and myself. We have great, compassionate,and professional employees that do an amazing job and who I consider family. Do we all have off days from time to time, yes, but we all do our best to provide the best environment for the patients which is our goal. We strive for preventative dentistry and promote good oral hygiene and eating habits. We never recommend anything that wouldn’t be inline with industry guidelines. We can obviously not meet your expectations. Please find another office. I believe there is one other active Board Certified Pediatric Dentist in Tallahassee. Best of luck! Best, Reid Hanway
E
3 months ago
Poor staff
I have been taking my kids to Tallahassee Pediatric Dentistry for over a year now. One of my kids needs special attention on her teeth and our previous dentist recommended Dr Shawn when we moved to Tallahassee. Now, let me tell you, during the past year we have been seeing Dr. Shawn for our regular cleanings and my daughters follow up on her treatment. During every appointment we have discussed our treatment and we both agreed on continuing to watch concerns and keep doing what we were doing (brush/diet). I always felt like she listened to my concerns. I’m a mom who likes to be involved and know as much as I can to help my kids, I like to listen to professional’s opinions but also do my own homework. We had a plan set for my daughter which we both agreed would be the best and that was trying our best to avoid the big dental work of drilling/filling and capping her teeth, especially considering her age. A few months ago I received an email with an invoice for a treatment plan for my daughter (which was nothing like we had been talking about for the past year). It seemed like they just wanted to bill me for expensive treatments even though we both agreed to take the less invasive route. I emailed them back questioning why they sent me that treatment plan, never got a reply so I decided to call. The answer I got was, that the email was a mistake. I understand but still had the bad feeling about how they didn’t even care to look at her information before sending me that treatment plan and invoice. Anyways, we got over that and had a few other appointments after the incident, let me mention, not even once Dr. Shawn cared to apologize for her office’s “mistake” (that was the word they used to explain the whole invoice situation). Last weekend my daughter showed another little issue on a different tooth, after emailing the office we both agree to bring her in for a checkup and we had our appointment. We arrived 5 minutes early for our 12PM appointment and waited and waited. After 40min I asked the front desk, a very sweet lady, if we were about to be called, I had a lesson schedule for my son and I needed to adjust my plans if our appointment would take longer than expected. I asked after 40 min WAITING, yes, I understand sometimes you have to wait but I feel like 40 min is incredible disrespectful. As the lady was beginning to answer me, I heard cross the room a younger girl who works for Dr. Shawn and I won’t name names, saying loudly, “you have to wait!” I replied, excuse me?! She went off and continued in a rude and disrespectful tone “well, you have to wait! We can’t control patients and that’s it! You have to wait!“ I could not believe her tone of voice and how her facial expressions was. I asked her to excuse me because I was trying to talk to the front desk and I did not ask her. She was clearly angry and I strongly asked her to stop! The front desk lady with her sweet and calm voice apologized for the wait. After 45 minutes we were called in, another super nice nurse helped us to get settled in and we waited for Dr. Shawn. After over ONE hour of our appointment time we were finally being seeing by Dr. Shawn who again, listened to me, worked on my request and before we left I told her about the incident in the front desk, I truly felt like I should not be yelled from that specific nurse and she had no rights to tell me I had to wait and that’s how it works! Dr. Shawn said she already heard the story and she thought her nurse was right! With her words, “her nurse is an extension of her”. If you feel like your employees have the right to mistreat your customers I’m sorry you are not a good fit for my family. Dr. Shawn was blunt and asked us not to come back. I absolutely agree because I want my kids to be seen on a personal basis and not as another $$ symbol. So bottom line is, if you want to be involved, educated about your kids treatment, if you have an opinion, if you stand for yourself and if you truly seek medical advice instead of just agreeing with whatever treatment they suggest, this place is not for you. If they truly cared about my kids issue things would have gone a different route. And for you parents, stand for yourself, if they book too many patients and you have to wait for over 1 hour past your appointment, speak for yourself! If we as patients arrive over 1 hour late we probably wouldn’t be seen and would still be charged. Respect to be respected and that’s the bottom line.
Response from Tallahassee Pediatric Dentistry
Elaine, it is unfortunate that you had a poor experience and you feel this way. We appreciate all of our patients and try our best to accommodate their needs while following the standards put forth by the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD). What you are talking about as a “treatment plan” is actually a pre-determination which helps patients understand what to expect in the event the patient decides to move forward with treatment and outlines cost. This is a complimentary service we provide to our patients to mitigate any insurance billing issues in the future. Insurance and reimbursement is sometimes hard to understand and we try to help our patients as much as we can. As far as the interaction you had at the front desk, I spoke with the team and received a different illustration of the event that took place. Yes, we were running behind that day. We try our best to stay on time but that morning we had a few patients with disabilities and behavioral challenges that required more time than planned. We do not tolerate disrespect in our office, that includes staff, parents, and patients, and we should all hold ourselves to a high standard of compassion and mutual respect. This is reviewed at morning huddle and team meetings. You are right about one thing. The staff is an extension of Dr. Shawn and myself. We have great, compassionate,and professional employees that do an amazing job and whom we consider family. Do we all have off days from time to time? Yes, but we all do our best to provide the best environment for the patients...which is ultimately our goal. We strive to promote preventive dentistry and protect the child's experience at the dentist. We never recommend anything that wouldn’t be inline with the AAPD guidelines. We obviously cannot meet your expectations and hope you can find another who can. I believe there is one other active Board Certified Pediatric Dentist in Tallahassee. We wish you and your children the best of health, Reid Hanway (COO) and team
F
3 months ago
Excellent quality of service in a timely manner
I discovered an issue with one of my daughter’s teeth over the weekend. I called Monday morning and they got me in the next day. Issue was examined by Dr. Shawn, treatment was planned and scheduled (complete with estimate of cost and time) and we were out the door. Just what I needed.
B
3 months ago
Great with special needs
Our son is on the autism spectrum with many sensory issues. Going to the dentist used to be a nightmare before we found Dr. Shaun. Getting my son to brush his teeth is so difficult so I dread appointments knowing his teeth have not been cleaned as well as well as they should since the last appointment. They are also so patient even when my child squirms and fusses. They were also able to offer toothbrush suggestions that might help with the sensory issues involved with brushing. I am so thankful we found Dr Shaun and her wonderfully trained staff!!!
A
4 months ago
Very great experience with dentist appointment. Office staff was very friendly and helpful. Explain everything you need to know throughly.
A
4 months ago
Extraction
We are always so thankful for Dr. Shawn and her staff. But specifically today with 2 teeth being extracted they were kind, loving, and patient with my little girl! From being greeted when you arrive to the final farewell everyone is amazing! Thank you Tallahassee Pediatric Dentistry