The Artful Dentist

Dentist

7500 Highway 71

Suite 108

Austin, TX 78735

Open Today 10:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

B
3 years ago
"The Awful Dentist"- Response
Thank you for your very long response that did not address half of what I addressed in my review. You have been reported to the US Dept of Health and Human Services- Office of Civil Rights for violation of my medical right to privacy. Further, you can take down or edit your response, but I have documented it very well and you can never make it go away.
D
4 years ago
Never Happy to see a Dentist.
I have been a client for 2 years. Dentist and Staff are great. I will be with the Artful Dentist for awhile. I get all my dental work done here. Keep up the good work!
Y
4 years ago
Great Visit!
Susie, the dental technician, did a great job in cleaning my teeth. She has good skills in cleaning teeth. Her gentle and precise cleaning is worth going back for another teeth cleaning. Dr. Daszgo examine my teeth. Gave good clear feedback on the their condition. Dr. D diagnoses and explains everything so well and is always positive about saving my teeth and taking the right action in keeping my teeth in good condition. I know that he will do a perfect job when I return and get fillings on two teeth.
B
4 years ago
"The Awful Dentist"
I will start by stating the purpose of my visit: a cleaning, check up and exam. I had not seen a dentist in several years due to lack of insurance. My visit started with the dentist violating a patient's medical right to privacy. As I was in the waiting room for 25 minutes, I heard an entire history and treatment plan for a patient. Complete violation, it is none of my business. Once I was taken back for X-rays, the receptionist, Denise, came back to talk to the hygienist, telling her this patient's medical history and plan, further violating that patients medical right to privacy. After my X-rays were complete, I was told that the dentist would come in and check my mouth, then they would schedule a follow up appointment. I asked about the cleaning, and I was told that they do not do cleanings on the first appointment, this was a consultation. I did not agree as I have never heard of nor experienced a "cleaning consultation". These procedures made me extremely uncomfortable, and I explained to them that my insurance has a 0% co-pay for preventative visits, and that I would like them to go ahead and process my X-rays and I would stop here and go find another dentist to complete the procedures that I knew to be correct. Upon displaying that I knew what I was talking about, the dentist said he would "make me happy and go ahead and clean my teeth", as if I was wrong and he was doing my a favor. He was not. He did not use water or suction in the cleaning and let drool and water drip down my neck and onto me. It was disgusting. When I finally got suction, I had to hold it myself. The experience was awful, and I will be reporting this company to the insurance companies for fraud investigation. A less intelligent person would be duped by this office and would let their insurance pay for "consolation" and come back and pay out of pocket for a service that is already covered. I was told on several occasions that I had been receiving unethical dentist visits in my past, which is not the case. The dentist himself scheduled me for a follow up, citing that, "by law I have to schedule you or you can come back and sue me". I know this to be false. Denise herself was a treat. She rolled her eyes at me, mouthed off to other co-workers and told me that I had no clue what I was talking about. I eventually asked her to be professional and not to roll her eyes at me and to just walk away. I hope that no one ever goes to see this shady office.
Response from The Artful Dentist
We apologize if you were not happy at our practice. Unfortunately some practices are not good fits for certain people. We explicitly stated that as per our office policy that we do not clean teeth on new patients. New patients are unknown to us, we have no prior knowledge of your dental health. Our office follows the protocol of assessment of overall oral health FIRST. We do this by taking x-rays and doing a comprehensive oral exam. The next step is for Dr. Daszko to inform you of what problems he sees in your mouth. If there are problems, he then tells the patient what the necessary course of treatment would be for the patient to achieve excellent oral health. Only if he sees that the patient is in excellent oral health will he then proceed to do a cleaning (Prophylaxis). The events that lead to your unsatisfactory experience was because you were not agreeable to having x-rays and a full examination. You were insisting that a cleaning be done on your initial appointment. We had told you that after your treatment consultation, if you were in great oral health, that a cleaning could be done on another date. You proceeded to tell us that you have never heard of such a thing, other dentists clean your teeth on an initial visit without having done a comprehensive oral exam first and looking over x-rays. Established patients have this ability to come in for just a cleaning because they have a history of treatment with us and are at the stage of maintenance care., hence having a cleaning done only. So if you have been seeing a dentist a prolonged period of time then they know what is the state your oral health. It is actually unethical to clean a patient's teeth if there is presence of periodontal disease or caries that exist in their mouth. A CLEANING is preformed on established patients ONLY. We are familiar with the oral health history of our established patients and they have gone through treatment to correct any detrimental problems that might further jeopardize the longevity of having a fully intact smile, or to minimize the further loss of teeth. Dr. Daszko informed you of having early stages of periodontal disease. He educated you on the supreme importance of flossing and brushing your teeth, and gave you information on your prognosis of letting your periodontal disease progress if left untreated. You were not at all in agreement to letting Dr. Daszko finish his examination. All you wanted was to have your teeth cleaned and be done. We do not do - "pick your own treatment" dentistry. If a patient does not like a code of ethics, then they get upset because they are not getting what they want right this minute. We tried to explain this policy and why we adhere to this policy. We are not in the business of dentistry to let the patients dictate to the dental health educated professional what they need or want. If you are a educated professional in a particular field, do let your clientele tell you how to do your job? If you do not like others with no knowledge of your expertise tell you how to do your job, then you will know that you were not the position of know what's best. We have the expertise to know what is best for our patients. If we feel a cleaning is inappropriate at a certain point in time, due to more pressing oral health issues, we feel it is in our right to deny a patient's request for a cleaning (preventative treatment) when they have not gone through the steps to get themselves to the point of excellent oral health. They have not done any thing to PREVENT their oral health from deteriorating into further neglect and ruin. As for the issue of your insurance, we only claim out what was done on the date of service. The "Cleaning consultation" was suppose to be a "treatment consult" which was not claimed out anyway. Due to your disagreement to having the full exam finished, Dr. Daszko thought he should at least instruct you on proper oral hygiene. This oral hygiene instruction was not claimed out either, and not to be confused with having a cleaning done. If you were so upset to take the time to listen and not jump to exaggerated conclusions, then you will understand why we have our policy. We are sorry you do not want professionals to their job correctly and morally. It's your right to go to another dentist that has more a lax set of ethics then we do. Good Luck.
J
4 years ago
My experience turned out to be a very good experience, the staff to include the dentists were very professional and straight forward just the way I like it.
L
4 years ago
More than willing to help and make sure I got everything I needed at the cheapest price. Very kind and helpful! The wait was not long at all and scheduling an appt was easy. Small town dentist feel in a big city.
D
4 years ago
Always feel comfortable.
Very nice comfortable setting. Great Dentist!
Y
4 years ago
Great Visit!
Dr. Daszko is very thorough in explaining the buildup and re-cement crown procedure that he perform on me I was happy and satisfied with the results. He saved my molar by putting building it, and cementing my gold crown back on. I can chew my food easily now that my molar crown is intact. His gentle "bedside," in this case "chair side" manners, helped me feel at ease. His assistant, Susan, is also personable, very nice, She did a great job taking my molar x rays.