The Gold Hatpin

Jeweler

125 N Marion Street

Oak Park, IL 60301

Open Today 11:00AM - 6:00PM

chicagovintagejewelry.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

L
1 week ago
This vendor is very professional they were friendly and knew exactly what I wanted by my short description. They were very patient they went through three cases of jewelry before we found the exact ring I needed. It was such a pleasure meeting these folks and doing business with them! I've already referred One customer to them and I would not hesitate to do it again!
Response from The Gold Hatpin
Thanks, Leanne, for the referral! Referrals are one of the best ways for a small business like ours to get the word out about us. Patience is a virtue in the jewelry business and here at The Gold Hatpin we realize that something as significant as an engagement or wedding ring, or an anniversary or birthday present sometimes takes a little thought and inspiration and trying on. We're happy to spend as long as it takes for you to find that perfect piece of jewelry that puts a smile on your face.
L
4 weeks ago
Once again a treasure...
Love this shop! I just found the most beautiful necklace here. I love jewelry and have discovered many wonderful pieces here. The staff is wonderful and extremely knowledgeable. A real gem...pun intended!
Response from The Gold Hatpin
Thanks again, Lisa! Love your taste and we're glad we always have things you enjoy. I hope you'll share us with your family and friends!
G
2 months ago
My Husband, and I first encountered Diane from the Gold Hatpin at the Kane County Flea Market. We have purchased numerous unique higher end pieces, and have been extremely pleased. We rely on Diane for her expertise in the Vintage Jewelry Market. Our most recent project with Diane involved creating a exquisite Diamond pendant form beginning to end. We can not thank Diane, and the team enough for great customer service and knowledge.
Response from The Gold Hatpin
Thanks, Gail (and John)! I appreciate your confidence in me to find the perfect diamond and to set it to your specifications. It was a pleasure helping you bring your dream diamond pendant to fruition. And we had fun along the way! I hope you will tell your friends and family about our stellar customer service and beautiful selection. Thanks again!
G
2 months ago
My Husband, and I first encountered Diane from the Gold Hatpin at the Kane County Flea Market. We have purchased numerous unique higher end pieces, and have been extremely pleased. We rely on Diane for her expertise in the Vintage Jewelry Market. Our most recent project with Diane involved creating a exquisite Diamond pendant form beginning to end. We can not thank Diane, and the team enough for great customer service and knowledge.
Response from The Gold Hatpin
Gail and John, it was such a pleasure to help you find just the right diamond and setting to make your dream a reality. Thanks for putting your confidence and trust in me! I know you'll enjoy your new pendant for many years. Please tell your friends and neighbors about our friendly and expert service.
L
4 months ago
Love this little treasure!
I have found some great vintage jewelry here. They are very knowledgeable about the provenance of the pieces. Dangerous to my budget!
Response from The Gold Hatpin
Thanks, Lisa! We try hard to present a varied selection of antique and vintage jewelry both in terms of eras and styles and in terms of price range. Learning about the history of the jewelry, fashion and society at the time the piece was originally produced and worn is one of the fun things about my job, and passing it along to interested listeners is icing on the cake. Please help us spread the word by telling your friends and neighbors about us!
K
4 months ago
I purchased a Victorian bracelet from The Gold Hatpin. The shop had a nice selection of jewelry. Service was excellent. It was a great shopping experience.
Response from The Gold Hatpin
We're glad we were able to provide you with a great shopping experience because that is what we strive to provide for all our customers! Thanks for taking the time to visit our store and to comment on our selection and service. Don't keep us a secret! Share your impressions with your friends and family as we are most appreciative of word-of-mouth referrals.
P
7 months ago
Great unique antiques
Love the selection. My wife loves antique and antique looking jewelry. They always have a great selection. The staff are very patient as I mull through the selections.
Response from The Gold Hatpin
Thanks for your comments! Along with having a great selection of antique jewelry with which to please your wife comes sifting through our offerings to find just the right piece. We recognize that it sometimes takes pulling out 5,10 or 50 items to select what will suit best. Patience is our middle name so take all the time you need. W'ere happy to help!
J
7 months ago
LOVE this store!
I LOVE this store! I don't think there is a better antique jeweler in the area. Diane has exceptional very high quality fine antique jewelry. I have bought many pieces of fine jewelry from her over the last 10 years or so. Most recently found a lovely ring and earrings. Each time, I have the same great experience with her expertise and advice. Diane is very knowledgable, professional and personable. She is always responsive to my questions, provides estimates and services repairs. This store is a treasure trove of gorgeous jewelry! I highly recommend a visit. You will be amazed at all the merchandise she has. I can't wait to go back!
Response from The Gold Hatpin
I'm blushing! So glad you enjoy the selection you find in our store and the high level of service we work hard to provide. We realize there are many jewelry stores you can shop in and we're pleased you repeatedly choose to shop with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It's happy customers like you letting others know about us that helps us build our customer base and grow our business.
V
7 months ago
Lovely Jewelry and Knowledgeable Owners
I went in to redeem a gift card I had received and ended up purchasing two pair of earrings, one costume, one real gemstones. I walk through this store fairly often because their inventory is pretty great. I occasionally purchase items which I love. The owners have good knowledge of their stock and are comfortable talking about a wide range of pieces, from collectable bakelite to 20's vintage to old gemstones. If you love jewelry, you'll love this store.
Response from The Gold Hatpin
Thank you for taking the time to review our store. We appreciate your comments. Keep walking through the store as we're always adding new items to our inventory. And consider bringing a friend along with you to share the experience. Some of our best customers are brought in by friends.
P
8 months ago
Superb Experience
Thank you to Diane Richardson for helping me choose a beautiful vintage engagement ring at The Gold Hatpin. I had this notion that it was time for a new/old ring and I've thought about vintage engagement rings since 2011, when I started a "Secret Crush" board on Pinterest and found myself with pictures of vintage engagement rings. I am so fortunate that my husband agreed to help me realize a dream I didn't even know I had until Pinterest! I would always linger over pictures of vintage rings, but never allowed myself to think about purchasing one myself. I started my research online and found it overwhelming. I narrowed my search to my area and The Gold Hatpin came up. I remember a friend had mentioned The Gold Hatpin. She confirmed that she had purchased several items from The Gold Hatpin and another friend had, too. Well, this was a relief as I preferred to go to a store and see the rings and try them on. I went to The Gold Hatpin and walked into a beautiful space filled with beautiful vintage jewelry. The space itself is so welcoming and the women that work there are knowledgeable and service oriented. They seem to be on a mission to help women (and men) make the right decision about their vintage jewelry. I was fortunate to work with Diane, the owner, and immediately knew I was in good hands. Diane is competent, intelligent, trustworthy and knows the market. She helped me try on different rings to get a sense of my style preference and spent a lot of time with me. I found a ring I really liked in my price range but felt I needed to do some more research to confirm my choice and make sure there wasn't a better ring out there. I went online again, this time with more knowledge, thanks to Diane, to compare my ring choice. I literally looked at over a thousand vintage engagement rings online and confirmed my choice of the ring at The Gold Hatpin was, indeed, the perfect choice. I went back with my husband and purchased the ring the same day. It was a great experience shopping at The Gold Hatpin and I am grateful to Diane for her helping me make the right choice for me. I am thrilled with my purchase. It makes me happy!
Response from The Gold Hatpin
Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure to help you find the perfect ring. I'm happy you're pleased not only with the beautiful ring you purchased, but also with your experience. We try to make shopping for jewelry fun and enjoyable. And I'm proud that our ring held up to your rigorous scrutiny and comparison to a thousand rings! 😊 I hope you will come back when you're ready to add to your collection.