Total Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.

HVAC Contractor

12009 Margaret Drive

Hagerstown, MD 21742

West Virginia HVACR: WV034276
Maryland Master HVACR: 5833-01
Open Today 7:30AM - 4:00PM

hagerstownhvacservice.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

C
1 month ago
Total Comfort estimator, Patrick, at my request, reviewed my equipment and provided an estimated cost of replacement with equivalent cooling capacity and heating capability as well. The replacement equipment was available for installation in a short time and it was professionally installed and tested by technicians (Harry and Dylan), who also removed the old units and discussed operation of the new system. Total Comfort staff gave me the impression of competence throughout the replacement and I would have no hesitancy in recommending them to friends for similar work.
Response from Total Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Mr. Ernst, Thank you for the positive review. We are glad we were able to provide you with air conditioning as quickly as we could. We look forward to working with you in the future. Thank you!
T
1 month ago
Great customer service skills, highly competent and knowledgeable, and very responsive
My HVAC began leaking water and caused damage to my basement carpet. I called Total Comfort and within a couple of hours, a technician named Dustin arrived. He diagnosed the problem within a couple of minutes and didn't mind the fact that I was asking numerous questions and observing his work. He addressed all of my questions and concerns and gave me confidence in his abilities. Not only did he address the leak, but he cleaned the area and gave me instructions on how to maintain my system. He proactively changed my filters and set-up my humidifier to help with the carpet. These personal touches were very much appreciated. I will definitely rely on Total Comfort in the future. Thank you! Theresa
Response from Total Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Theresa, Thank you for the great feedback! We are very pleased to hear about your positive experience and look forward to taking care of your HVAC needs for years to come. Thanks again!
C
4 months ago
Underwhelming Geothermal Experience
This is pertaining to a geothermal heat pump installation back in October 2016. We initially were very impressed by the sales pitch and promise for a high level of service and attention. Our previous prospective geo installer dropped us without any notice, though luckily before we signed any paperwork or exchanged any money. However, it seemed that everything went downhill from there with TC. We are not regretting our switch to geothermal - we are just disappointed that the process seemed to be no more than adding us to a "to do" list for the installers. The back and forth as the process went along was tiresome and it felt like we were fighting for attention - there wasn't really a project manager assigned to us, just the initial sales guy who seemed always strapped for time, like he had too much on his plate. We do regret going with an installer so far from our area, but in all reality, if our home was too far for good service, I would hope the business (the industry experts) would have advised us that we were just too far away for them. I also regret trusting the sales guy in recommending the size of system for our home - the performance has been so-so, but it seemed like all he did was make a generalization based off our home size and "typical usage". Another prospective company actually measured out the home and gave us a definitive size recommendation - and when we mentioned this to the TC sales guy, he said it wasn't necessary. However now, it takes forever to heat/cool our home and we're second guessing the machine size. We asked questions and did our own research to try our best to make sure we'd receive the right size system for our home, but we expected more from TC in this aspect, I guess. Another example is that when he was out on the initial visit, we'd expressed interest in getting the water heater looped into the system as we were in the market for a new water heater - the sales guy said it was totally doable - then when it came time to finalize the paperwork and move forward with TC, we were told it wasn't doable. Also, when we ran into trouble with the well diggers a few times, it didn't seem like it mattered to our "project manager/sales guy". We were often left with the task of chasing down the well company and playing phone tag with them (even though they were recommended to us by TC). Another issue - the sales guy didn't take into account the need for special filters for the machine - our space is very tight and repeatedly, we asked "will this all fit appropriately?" and he reassured us many times, "yes" - however we currently have tons of trouble getting the filters in/out of the machine. We were later promised a supply of "specially sized" filters because of this issue - literally on the final day of installation - but those have yet to appear (not that we want them anyway). And, we were told it was OK to use our own electrician. However, when we did this, TC refused to help him in any way other than after multiple attempts, we were finally given the wiring requirements so he could do his work. And forget the permits - we and our electrician thought TC was getting permits, but after we'd already scheduled our electrician to come do the work, we discovered that TC refused to get any permits, which then caused a further delay. Honestly, if it was going to be that complicated, just tell us ahead of time you prefer to use your own electrician. The back and forth on so many (what we would consider) basic project management tasks was tiresome and way too much of a hassle for my husband and I to deal with, both working full-time. Maybe we had higher expectations and/or needed more "hand-holding" than the average customer...but I honestly don't think we were asking too much, to be told about the process and walked through step by step, attending to our issues as they arose (or better yet, proactively taking care of things before they became issues). We knew we wanted to upgrade our system to a renewable source of energy (already having solar panels) and we hoped the "experts" would help us along with that desire. We just were underwhelmed with the whole project, and if/when we expand our home to a second story and need to install another heating/cooling system, we probably will look elsewhere rather than go with TC again.
Response from Total Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Mrs. Chiu, We are very sorry & disappointed to see this review. We always strive to provide our customers with the best customer service experience necessary. Would love to discuss your installation and experience in greater detail and perhaps some misconceptions in your review could be addressed. Thank you
C
6 months ago
high quality work,very professional
did a great job helping me pick the correct hvac system to suit my needs and installed and explained operation to me clearly . cleaned up very well and was very easy to work with.would highly recommend Total Comfort to anyone,very pleased
Response from Total Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback. We look forward to providing you with outstanding service for years to come!
K
7 months ago
Very successful geothermal installation
Total Comfort, partnered with Connelly Geothermal for the drilling, did a magnificent job installing my new geothermal system. Everyone did outstanding work with every aspect of what was a huge operation. It was amazing to witness. The WaterFurnace heat pump system is an impressive piece of engineering that is working beautifully. I couldn't be happier.
Response from Total Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Thank you for the great review. Very happy we were able to make geothermal work at your property. We look forward to providing service to you for years to come!
J
7 months ago
Impeccable high quality geothermal installation
We recently contracted Total Comfort to install our geothermal. Total Comfort did an impressive job from start to finish. They were very easy to reach when I needed them. I didn't realize the installation itself was quite a task from coordinating with the drilling guys and the electrician to hauling away our heavy gas based heating system. But Total Comfort was on top of everything. Even though the bill came out to be quite hefty, we happily paid it because their crew did an amazing job. It has now been almost one month after they finished our geothermal installation and we could not be happier with the equipment they installed. Even both the mechanical and electrical county inspectors commented on how good their work product was. You know that you have hired the right people when county inspectors walk away with smiling faces. Thank you Total Comfort for a job well done!
Response from Total Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Thank you very much for the great review and for putting your trust into Total Comfort. We look forward to taking care of your comfort needs for years to come!
L
10 months ago
I recently had a new Geo-Thermal furnace installed. I my old system was 20 years old. I had been having problems about once a year for the past couple of years. The past couple of years when I called Total Comfort they were quick to respond to my needs for service. They never left me out in the cold or out the heat. Finally the compressor went out on the furnace and I was advised to have the system replaced. Now that we have a new system, I wished we would have done it sooner. My electric bill has reduced by 30%. Thanks to the installation team and especially thanks to the maintenance team Carla, Mark, Mike and Patrick. Sincerely, Larry & Marilynn
Response from Total Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience, and for entrusting your home's comfort with our team!
B
10 months ago
Very high quality work - very neat and clean. Everything is thoroughly explained and completed as promised.
We had a new heat pump and indoor unit installed. The guys from Total Comfort Heating and Air Conditioning did a great job on everything and were awesome to work with. Everything from the initial contact with Patrick to the onsite installation is thoroughly explained and well done. Everyone has been very professional. Everything is left very neat and clean. Everything was explained to us and all our questions were answered. We are very happy with the equipment. We are very pleased with Total Comfort and will be happy to recommend them to anyone needing HVAC work completed.
Response from Total Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Thank you very much for your business and positive feedback! We look forward to servicing your home for years to come.
R
10 months ago
Premium service.
Requiring a replacement for an aging HVAC unit I contacted several local firms and secured estimates. The estimate from Total Comfort was slightly higher than the others but they were highly recommended by a Plumber friend, familiar with their operation. Total Comfort arrived on time, and installed the entire system in less than one day. The employees were neat, friendly, well spoken and obviously well experienced. They fully explained the operation of the unit and assured me they would handle any future system problems. The Total Comfort crew was very considerate of our property and left the premises in excellent condition. With no hesitation I recommend Total Comfort for any HVAC repairs or replacement.
Response from Total Comfort Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience! We look forward to taking care of your comfort needs for years to come. Thanks again!