Virginia Home Improvements

Home Remodeling

Mineral, VA

Open Today 6:00AM - 6:00PM

mineralhomeimprovement.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

D
5 years ago
Great Job Guys
Virginia Home Improvements has done few large jobs for us and a couple smaller jobs all turned out great! Charles commitment to quality, in workmanship and products, lead to a well built, solid, and reliable finished project. They're extremely trustworthy, and are clearly focused on customer service and satisfaction. They keep you informed of the progress, along with any issues that arise. Additionally, they make themselves available whether you have questions or concerns about the project. When I'm considering having any work done, I call these guys. and even better, you only have to have the work done once because they going to do the job right. I highly recommend these guys for any job you may have. Dave
B
5 years ago
Pros and cons
The first job they did was awesome. Perfect. The second job looks terrible, the paint is peeling, he only put one coat on the walls, the trim wasn't done. He was upset with me I could tell because I didn't like the job they did on the backsplash installation. It does not look like a professional installation. I could tell he was wanting to get out of there so he did a poor job painting. He did build a pantry and install shelves which I love, but they used nonpaintable calk and now the paint won't stick. Looks terrible. So some jobs were great work and some jobs were terrible. Was going to have them install siding on our house but got someone else to do it. Nice group of guys but don't think we will have them back.
Response from Virginia Home Improvements
Hey Barbra, Sorry you feel that way. Far as the one coat paint job remember you brought the paint and one coat was all it should of needed. I'm not going sit here and say much about your opinion we all have one. Far as the back splash i told you before i got started painting that i would give you youer money back because you want happy and gave you a big discount off the amount charged because my opinion it look good for the age of the wall and wall not being level that you want going get a perfect job on walls thats not close to being level. Anyways you should of called me instead of blasting me out here but its ok we dont have to come back to your place thats your choice. It took a little while to get there because we have tons of repeat customers as you can read reveiws that are totaly happy with our work and some understand that a job cant be perfect when you not working with perfect conditions. Anyways i respect your opinion and hope you find some one else that can make you happy Charles
T
5 years ago
Roof Repair I needed a roof repair so I chose this company because it is nearby. I called Charles Hicks on a Monday for an estimate. He said he would go by and work up an estimate and get back to me on Wednesday. On Friday I called him back. He said he would get an estimate to me asap. On Tuesday of the next week I called him back and cancelled. I found someone else to do the job. I have read some of the other reviews and it appears this company does good work when you get them on the job. They definitely need improvement in the customer service department.
Response from Virginia Home Improvements
Mr. Crabtree I'm sorry for your experience with my company. I will work to make this kinda thing not happen again. I been in business for 20 years and this is the first time something like this has happen. So if you ever need another quote on any work please don't hesitate to call my company and i will make sure that your experience with us is better, Thanks, Charles Hicks
V
5 years ago
Very Impressed in Louisa!
I can't recommend Virginia Home Improvements enough for any customer. They did a fairly complex water damage repair job for me in my laundry room and bathroom. It involved plumbing, drywall, floor repair, ceramic tile, subfloor, and replacement of trim. They were careful, on time, very polite and friendly, and had tremendous attention to detail. I was so impressed that I asked them to do another drywall ceiling repair in another room with the installation of an exhaust fan and light. This work was also excellent and came in under the estimate the owner gave me. I will tell any customer that they can trust Virginia Home Improvements for any job they will accept. I have never dealt with a better or more skilled contractor. I am having them back soon for more work and a major renovation job in the spring. Thank you Virginia Home Improvements! Virgil in Louisa, Virginia
Response from Virginia Home Improvements
Thanks Virgil it was a pleasure working for you guys and looking forward in doing other projects for you guys in the near future.... Charles
K
5 years ago
A Job Well Done!
This was not a simple project. We wanted to raise the roof on a loft area over our living room, replace siding, and replace roofing on several areas. Virginia Home Improvements knocked it out in only 3 weeks! Any questionable code issues were cleared with the building inspector, in advance. Every inspection was PASS on the first try, the way it should be. There were a few extras we added along the way. Each was handled well and very reasonably priced if additional work was required. Words fail to express our appreciation of the unique custom railings. Several things, such as rotten studs in one wall, and existing work that was not square were simply "handled" along the way. We continued to occupy the living room and kitchen areas below the loft, with no dust or debris from the major construction overlooking those areas. The crew also removed construction debris every day, and kept the work area and yard completely clean at all times. We are happy to give Virginia Home Improvements out highest recommendation.
L
6 years ago
drywall and painting
Charles: I just wanted to thank you for the fabulous job that you and your crew did on our house. I took a afternoon trip down yesterday to make sure that the heating system was turned on so the pipes wouldn't freeze with the weather turning colder overnight. I am very happy with the job that you did. I never thought that the job would had turned out as good as it did. Linda
T
6 years ago
Fixed three problems in one visit.
Thank you Mr. Hicks and crew! They replaced two crumbling outside bathroom vents, replaced rusted nail with a galvanized nail on the chimney cap, and replaced missing roof tile. All at heights of 30 to 40 feet up. They were on time, friendly, worked efficiently, and cleaned up after the job was complete. This is the second time I've worked VA. Home Improvements and will definitely work them again.
B
6 years ago
2 big projects -- 2 great jobs
I've used Virginia Home Improvements twice, for two rather large jobs. Both turned out great! Charles' and Robert's commitment to quality, in workmanship and products, lead to a well built, solid, and reliable finished project. They're extremely trustworthy, and are clearly focused on customer service and satisfaction. They keep you informed of the progress, along with any issues that arise. Further, they're willing to offer, but not be overbearing, about any project improvements that may be helpful. Additionally, they make themselves available whether you have questions or concerns about a planned project or one underway. When I'm considering having any work done, my first call is to these guys. They are a great value for the money, and even better, you only have to have the work done once -- they do it right. I'd use them again, without hesitation... and again... and again.
P
6 years ago
Great work guys
Mr. Hicks Just wanted to say thinks for the great experience with you and your guys on all the work you have done for us. I must say didn't think you could find that kind of service your company provided. Hard working bunch of great guys.We love our new roof and our new deck thanks again guys Paul
R
6 years ago
Roof job
Hello Charles Just want you to know how much we love the work you and your guys done for us. I never saw a crew work together so well. I love the one call we do it all. And what I have seen from you and your guys yawl do a great job and looks like you guys enjoy yawls work. I will certainly tell everyone I know that looking for a great honest contractor to give you guys a call. I know if we need another contractor again we know who to call. Thanks Mr. Derickson