Wallace F. Chong, D.D.S., INC.

Dentist

74 Ponahawai St

Hilo, HI 96720-3026

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

M
3 weeks ago
Very professional
Looks like I will be with him for a long time....
A
4 weeks ago
very pleasant.. no complaints been with him and his Dad for years..
P
1 month ago
AOK
The quality of care is excellent.
J
1 month ago
Dr. Chong has been a great Dentist for many years. I normally schedule the first appt at 8:00 am. he gets me in and out with in 20min, The staff is very helpful and the e-mail and follow ups are exceptional.
J
1 month ago
Best dentist in Hilo....
Old school bedside manner, the latest technology and an experienced and caring office staff. That's what a visit to Dr. Wally is all about.
J
2 months ago
My history with both father and son have been highly satisfactory.
I've always been very satisfied with the quality of work done by both father and son. I've appreciated your father going that extra mile for my bedridden father. I also was so glad you could help my visiting relative in an emergency. I especially am grateful for emergency appointments being given in a very timely fashion. I am glad that my comments are heard and responded to and we can discuss options. I would not even consider another dentist while you are available. Keep up the good work. I would recommend you any day.
J
2 months ago
QUALITY DENTAL CARE
Doctor Chong and his staff make dental visits "ok". Everyone is friendly, professional and engaging. Dr. Chong has all the most modern equipment and obviously keeps up on new technology. His easy manner and professional skills puts you at ease. I feel like I'm being treated like family. If you have to go to the dentist, this is the place. I recommend them to anyone looking for dental care.
M
2 months ago
Dr. Chong, you always deliver excellent dental care. I also appreciate your flexible approach today in cleaning my stains first which you noticed have increased. Your concern for me, your advice about switching to sugarless candy, and your confirming that blueberries can stain my teeth tell me that you are indeed listening and that you genuinely care about my dental health. Moreover, after your cleaning, my teeth not only look much better but also feel good and refreshed. I also very much like hearing your overall evaluation of my teeth at the close of our session because it makes me feel deeply good about my dental health. Since you've asked for specifics and truthfulness about my dental experience for the purpose of improvement, I'll try also to be tactful. Since scientific research has determined that the human brain can focus really well on only one thing at a time and that the human voice is the most serious distraction, my concern about almost all of your past and present assistants' chattiness distracting your focus while you are working on my teeth has made me a bit nervous at times because I'm afraid that your assistant might slip and suction my uvula leaving it sore, swollen and bloody so that I can't talk, eat, etc. as comfortably as I normally should. This has happened when you first took over your father's practice. The majority of your past and present assistants' attention seem preoccupied on having a friendly conversation with you, and I can understand why they are using the time with you to warm up to you so much. Socializing while working may seem harmless, but it divides the attention that should be focused on the task at hand. When the interaction between a dentist and his assistant is focused on the patient, I'd feel more at ease knowing that the content of the conversation is on a professional team level centered on the patient's oral care. Please know that I'm not saying that the entire experience between the patient, dentist and his assistant should be dead-serious all the time because the practice of dentistry can be extremely stressful not only for the patients but also for dentists and their staff. I understand that chitchat can help alleviate the stress; so of course, I can understand that ongoing chattering from your assistants may even distract the patients and put them more at ease. Understandably, there are patients who may want and enjoy hearing chitchat, and there may be others who don't but who also won't say anything that may sound like criticism because they don't want to chance having the assistant's resentment turned on them ("I can't have fun talking to Dr. Chong because this patient doesn't like it.") So telling your assistant that she can talk all she wants with you in front of this patient but not that one won't work. All in all, I must say that in spite of your assistants' seemingly competing for your attention while you are working on your patient's teeth, you do deliver excellent results, and if I have offended you for being truthful as you asked, I apologize because I believe that you and I have a very good doctor-patient relationship and I want to keep it that way for many more years to come.
M
3 months ago
Dr.Chong is polite , professional and honest dentist who won't rip you off try to charge you extra for unnecessary procedures , which is very rare practice in Hilo . Also he has the crown machine that can get u in n out in one appointment . The 3 assistants are all nice n friendly . They even help rocking my crying baby while I had my teeth check
S
4 months ago
Excellent qualify of service, friendly staff, answered all my questions and more.
From the outside the office is very unassuming and honestly it's in an old historic building. Wasn't sure what I was in for? Judging by the building I was a bit worried that I would get a retirement age dentist. Boy, was I wrong!!!! The inside is up to date, clean, with all the necessary equipment to make your experience as painless and comfortable as humanly possible. To my surprise Dr. Wallace Chong is young! Sooooo, happy! Young doctor, new technology, young eyes and knows all the latest and greatest. Actually, my experience was very positive. Who likes going to the dentist? Still it was as good as it gets. Pleasantly surprised! My friend did me a huge favor by recommending Dr. Wallace Chong which is also her dentist, as well. Mahalo, Stephanie Bello!!!!!!!! I must remember never to judge a book by it's cover.