Wildlife Command Center

Animal & Wildlife Control

4089 Country Club Drive

Imperial, MO 63052

Closed Today Closed

wildlifecontrolstlouismo.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

M
7 years ago
Bat problem fixed!
these guys were so helpful in resolving the bat problem in our chimney! Courteous, friendly, and always on time. Highly recommend! Would definitely use again.
Response from Wildlife Command Center
Not bitten by the bat? Good, Great! Let’s get that bat back outside so it can return to eating lots of insects. Just follow these simple steps: Don’t panic! The bat is flying around to find a way out. It is NOT trying to attack anyone. Turn on the lights (if you haven’t already), so that both you and the bat can navigate around easily. Keep the bat from entering other parts of the house- close any doors that lead to adjoining rooms. Open all doors and windows in the room with the bat that lead to the outside. Keep these exit routes clear. Be patient and enjoy observing such an amazing animal. In most cases, the bat will fly back outside within a few minutes. If the room does not have a direct exit to outside: use a mesh net or towel to gently catch the bat in flight while also wearing thick work gloves. If the bat has landed you may can place a container over the bat, slide a piece of cardboard along the surface, under the container to gently drop the bat into the container and cover the opening as well. Take the bat in the container/net outside. Open the container on its side, in the air or against a tree. Let the bat climb or fly out. Do not leave the container with the bat on the ground, it’s not a safe place for bats and it’s difficult for them to take flight.
M
7 years ago
Bat problem fixed!
these guys were so helpful in resolving the bat problem in our chimney! Courteous, friendly, and always on time. Highly recommend! Would definitely use again.
Response from Wildlife Command Center
If you or your best friend was bitten by the bat, try to capture the bat or bats while wearing thick work gloves and closing off all exits to other rooms, stuffing towels under the doors. If the bat is not flying, capture it by using a box or small container, bats that don’t fly and are on the ground are sick. Place the container over the bat, slide a piece of cardboard or magazine under the container, gently causing the bat to fall into the container while closing off all the opening. Be very, very careful in every way, rabies is 100% fatal if you do not seek medical help. If the bat is flying around, a butterfly net is useful if available, however a towel may also be helpful. You may also want to just wait until the bat stops flying, but keep watching it to see where it might land. Contact Wildlife Command Center 314-399-8272 and notify them that someone was bitten and the bat needs to be tested immediately. If the test comes back positive for rabies, seek medical attention through your local emergency health care provider. If you are unable to capture the bat, but someone was bitten, seek medical attention immediately. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends that anyone that comes in direct, unprotected, contact with wild mammals should receive rabies post-exposure treatment from a health-care provider, if the animal is not able to be caught and tested. Rabies post-exposure treatment should also be administered in situations in which there is a reasonable probability that such contact occurred (such as a sleeping person awakes to find a bat in the room or an adult witnesses a bat in the room with a previously unattended child, mentally disabled person, or an intoxicated person).
M
7 years ago
Bat problem fixed!
these guys were so helpful in resolving the bat problem in our chimney! Courteous, friendly, and always on time. Highly recommend! Would definitely use again.
Response from Wildlife Command Center
While bats do not actually suck your blood they can take up residence in your home. The insects that are attracted to your outdoor lights also attract bats, however these bats are doing you a favor, they are feeding on the hundreds of insects buzzing around your house. Thus a bat or two hanging under your porch or carport are most likely just resting between feedings, typically if left alone these bats wont bother anyone. Finding a bat inside a home or business can be a problem. Usually a bat can find its own way out, if you open all the windows and doors and leave it alone. Repeated occurrences of bats inside a building through mid to late summer can indicate that a colony could has taken up residence near by. Bat colonies in your building can go unnoticed for years! Waste from bat colonies can carry histplasmosis, an infection of the lungs with symptoms similar to pneumonia. Bats also are known carriers of rabies. We are equipped to deal with bat removal, whether a single bat in your home or business or a colony of bats in your attic, we will humanly remove the bats, clean and repair any damage they have made additionally we can install bat exclusion methods to prevent re-infestation.
M
7 years ago
Squirrel removal
Michael and George the Hawk did a fantastic job catching the squirrel who has been in my house for a day and a half. Michael was very professional and helpful in finding where the squirrel entered the house. I would not hesitate to call them again. Great job!
Response from Wildlife Command Center
Michelle helping people take back their homes is our highest priority, George is a great asset in tackling problems that require quickness and speed. SQUIRREL REMOVAL Squirrel Removal and Control 314-502-8339 Squirrels might seem cute and cuddly, but once they decide to call your attic home, you've got a problem. Squirrels often move into attics to give birth and raise their young, mother squirrels can be particularly ornery if they feel their pups are threatened. Once inside, squirrels leave behind a pungent odor from urine and feces. Squirrel waste is a source of disease to humans and pets, additionally it is also harmful to buildings, breaking down structures by rotting wood and other organic building materials. Once squirrels have found their way inside they often provide entry to other unwanted guests that cause further damage inside the structure. Without exaggeration, squirrels are quite possibly the single most destructive animal to a building. They are capable of chewing through thick walls to gain entry and causing severe, costly cosmetic and structural damage. 314-502-8339 If you are facing a squirrel infestation in your home or business you need a professional. Our technicians are experts at squirrel removal. We can safely and humanely remove and relocate the squirrels, we can perform any necessary repairs and install exclusion methods to prevent future squirrel infestations. 314-502-8339 Below is a sequence of pictures depicting squirrel damage and repair to the interior wall of a home.
C
7 years ago
5 stars
I was pleased with the fast response and the courtesy of this company. He handled the bird trapped in my foyer window with such kindness.
Response from Wildlife Command Center
You are very welcome Cheri, we strive to provide the best service possible and help you in every way to resolve wildlife issues. PIGEON REMOVAL Pigeon Removal To a pigeon the “city life” can’t be beat! There is plenty of food and water, free housing everywhere you fly and best of all little to no predators. With nothing to keep pigeon populations in check they will become a nuisance. 314-502-8339 Pigeon droppings are not just unsightly, it can damage the finish on buildings, cars and outdoor furnishings. These droppings also contain dangerous fungi and bacteria including histoplasmosis, cryptococcosis, psittacosis and strains of encephalitis, potentially causing harm to humans or pets that may accidentally ingest droppings. 314-502-8339 Pigeons can become an expensive problem for businesses if droppings have contaminated stored goods. 314-502-8339 Bird removal and pigeon control are services that we provide through installing bird spikes, bird netting and bird exclusion. Pigeon trapping using traps and mist netting, a fine net used to capture smaller birds, is also available. We also offers the services of a Master Falconer, a natural and environmentally friendly alternative to bird control.
B
7 years ago
Excellent Experience
They are problem solvers. We had squirels in the attic and they caught a squirel before they even left the house. It was incredible. Chris is respectful and very knowledgeable. I highly recommend their services.
Response from Wildlife Command Center
Thank you Brian, it was a pleasure to serve you and help get things under control! WILDLIFE REMOVAL SERVICE NATURAL AND HUMANE ANIMAL REMOVAL Providing gentle, humane wildlife removal service in St Louis MO and surrounding areas. We are devoted to preserving the balance between people and nature 314-502-8339. Owner and operator Michael Beran 314-502-8339 and his team of skilled wildlife technicians are trained specifically for the animals local to your area. We specialize in squirrel removal, raccoon removal, rat removal, snake removal, groundhog removal, bat removal, and dead animal removal. We also offer a wide variety of other humane nuisance animal removal services covering moles, skunks, and other unwanted wildlife, nuisance animals and pests. Once your home or property has been humanely cleared of wildlife, our experienced technicians make sure that it is restored and repaired so that wildlife cannot re-enter the property. 314-502-8339 All our wildlife professionals are licensed and insured for your protection and comply with all laws regarding wildlife control and pest prevention. Our wildlife experts are just a phone call away. For information on humane wildlife removal and pest prevention services in St. Louis MO or surrounding areas, please contact us today! 314-502-8339
K
7 years ago
The best wildlife guys in St Louis
These guys are the very best wildlife control operators. They really know there stuff, if you have wild animals in your house I HIGHLY recommend you give them a call!! Micheal and Chris are the VERY best!!
Response from Wildlife Command Center
Kelly, you are awesome, Chris and I enjoyed our visit to get to know you more, getting to know the people in St Louis has been a wonderful adventure! What Health Risks Do Squirrels Pose? Squirrels are typically not important vectors of disease - I don't think there's any documented cases of rabies transmission from squirrels, for example. Like all animals, squirrels can carry parasites, they leave behind excrement, and they can leave both in your attic. Squirrel droppings, like pretty much any wildlife dropping, are associated with Leptospirosis and Salmonella. Why Would I Want To Remove Them? That’s up to you. People who have squirrels in the attic often first object to the noise they hear. That’s enough for most people. Some people simply don’t like the idea of having wild critters in the attic. However, the main problems are that if the squirrel lives in the attic for enough time, it almost always starts to cause damage, in particular to wires. They also sometimes chew on various areas outside the home, especially wood trim, though this is a minor issue. There’s also the issue of the waste, which is scattered prolifically throughout the attic. It is up to you, but aside from just the noise, the risks of damage and risk of fire make the removal of the squirrel(s) a good idea. What About Squirrels in a Chimney? Squirrels get into chimneys as well. Some of the same principles as outlined below apply to squirrels in chimneys. However, odor deterrents are more effective due to the concentrated area. DO NOT START A FIRE if you have squirrels in the chimney - you’d have to open the damper to let the smoke out, and they will enter the fireplace instead of climbing out. Even if they don’t get into the your house or fireplace, you will cook animals alive and get a horrendous odor that will last a long time. Many professional wildlife removal experts have special squirrel in chimney removal systems if odor deterrents don’t work. If you’ve got a slick metal flu that the squirrel has fallen down, the only way to get the animal out (aside from letting it into the fireplace) is to lower a thick rope, with a weight on the end, down the flu. This will allow the squirrel to climb out on its own. Won’t They Just Leave on Their Own? It depends on the situation. If it’s a female with young, she may leave after three months, when the young are grown. But then she will be back a few months later for her next litter. If it’s squirrels that are just happy to have a good place to live, the answer is generally no. Are you going to just leave your house in a few days for no good reason? How Do I Get The Squirrels Out of My Attic? I will now discuss the various methods used to remove squirrels from attics, outlining their various degrees of effectiveness and the level of expertise needed to successfully achieve permanent removal. Remember, it is my goal to be as humane as possible to these remarkable and cute creatures. I get inundated with squirrel emails. I don't mind your questions, but I don't respond every day. Oftentimes, your best bet, if you have a difficult squirrel problem, is to hire a professional - wildlife control is ABSOLUTELY NOT for amateurs, any more than electrical work.
S
7 years ago
Fast and courteous!
These guys are awesome! They came out within a few hours of first calling them. They were super nice and knew exactly how to help us. They educated us on the issue at hand and were efficient in their work. I would highly recommend them to everyone I know!
Response from Wildlife Command Center
Susie I am glad we could help, it was good you called us when you did, that chimney cap really needed the repair! Squirrel Noises: If you hear noises in your attic and you are unsure as to the source, it’s relatively easy to determine if it’s squirrels – squirrels are active during the daytime. Thus, if you hear scampering and scurrying noises during the day, it’s likely squirrels. Other attic-dwelling critters, such as rats and mice, bats, flying squirrels, opossums, and raccoons, are nocturnal, so they mostly only make noise at night. Flying squirrels are also nocturnal. If the noises happen at night, there's a strong chance of mice or rats, so in that case, please visit my other website about how to get rid of rats in the attic: www.attic-rat.com. Gray squirrels are most active during the morning and evening. They can be heard as they exit the attic in search of food and as they come back in, as well as during the times they simply run around in the attic. Mostly, it sounds like a quick and light scampering. Sometimes people can hear them as they gnaw on wood, and sometimes as they roll nuts around. Depending on the acoustics of the home and the sensitivity of the listener, the noise may sound faint or like a “pack of wild dogs” as I’ve heard it described. Squirrel Sightings: Because squirrels are active during the daytime, and because they often chew a large entry hole, many people often see the squirrels exiting and entering the house. That’s the best way to be certain that the critter(s) you hear are actually squirrels. Why Are They There? Attics make a great place to live! They are warm and dry and safe. Eastern Gray Squirrels are highly adaptable animals, and they are very agile. They are arboreal, which means they live in trees. Female squirrels give birth to two litters of young per year, one in summer, and one in winter. The exact time of birth can vary a bit based on several factors, but generally the winter litter is born in early February and the summer litter in early August. Much of the time, the female makes a leaf and twig nest high up in a tree. If she can find a hollow tree, that’s even better. If she can find an attic, that’s better still. Squirrels are very urbanized animals, as you can see when you look out your window. They are members of the rodent family, and are excellent at gnawing and chewing on wood. Combine these factors, and of course it makes sense that female squirrels chew their way into attics in order to have and raise young. In fact, male squirrels or any squirrel at any time of the year may find that an attic makes a good place to safely spend the night and store nuts. Though the squirrels mostly live in the attic, they’ll also live in soffits, squirrels down in walls, between floors in the ceiling, and other areas inside the architecture. How Did They Get In? Squirrels are excellent climbers. Most of the time, they’ve chosen an attic based on convenience or proximity to their normal home range. Squirrels are excellent chewers, so they often chew through wooden fascia boards or other areas to gain access. If there’s an easy and obvious way in, all the better. A house with wide-open holes and easy access stands a higher chance of seeing a squirrel enter at some point. Squirrels can fit through small areas, so most of the time they don’t even need to chew their way in – they just find a gap somewhere in the architecture. Easy climbing access, such as trees adjacent to the house, also increases the probability of animal entry and habituation. But even without nearby trees, squirrels have no problem climbing almost anything. The most popular area of entry is any place where an eave meets up against a roof portion of the house, such as a dormer, or any architectural bend leading sections of the roof to meet. They also often get in where the roofline meets the fascia. Vents, both on the roof, the gables, and under eaves, are very common entry points, especially if they are not sealed properly.
R
7 years ago
Rescued me from bat
i woke Michael from a deep sleep at 1:30am, he was obviously groggy but cam right out and searched my house and found the bat, then he did a complete inspection and found the entry hole
Response from Wildlife Command Center
Reiko, it was very good to meet you and help you out with that bat, I enjoyed the awesome pictures you have about your house. Bat removal is not easy, especially if you want to get rid of bats in the attic. As I said, I trained for many years and did dozens of jobs before I got good at it. Most of the do-it-yourself bat removal attempts that I see have ended in disaster, before I was called out. I do highly recommend that you hire a professional with experience to solve your bat problem. Click on my 2015 Directory of Bat Removal Professionals if you want to hire someone good in your city or town. I've researched this for many years. I have more in-depth info below, but you may just want to click any of the above links to answer your specific questions. If you have any special questions, feel free to email me. Bat Facts And Removal There are quite a few different species of bats in North America; however the ones that are known for colonizing are the species that most often cause problems. It is a general misconception that bats are related to mice or considered flying rodents. They are not. Among many biological differences is the fact their teeth don’t continuously grow unless worn down. Instead bats are more closely related to primates and shrews. People tend to be terrified of them but it’s important to note they are not aggressive and will not choose to attack a person. Even more critical is the important role bats play in the environment and ecosystems. How Can You Tell Bats Are In Your Attic It is not unusual for a person to find they have bats in their attic, garage or other outbuildings. Unlike larger nuisance animals like raccoons, it can be difficult to know you have a colony of bats until you have many. If you go into the attic often you may see signs of their residency more quickly. This can be in the form of piles of guano (bat waste) building up on the floor. One of the easiest ways to tell if you have bats is hearing their scraping, rustling or squeaking. These noises can come from your walls, attic or chimney. You may also see issues when outside around dusk or dawn. You can hear the slight peeping and see bats swooping around. Often people think this swooping is the bat diving in trying to attack people. In actuality, the bats are diving to snatch up bugs. If you hear this peeping and see bats it’s good to pay attention to where they go. Often you will see them head toward a section of the house and even disappear. This will help you know how they are getting in and you can use this knowledge when it comes time to exclude them. Another way to tell if you have a bat problem in a building is to look for signs of guano on the outside of a home. Often when they enter or exit a home they will leave droppings or urine. You may see staining around areas a bat can use to enter your home. Brown or grey streaks can be left near soffits, the roof and chimneys and are prime indicators of a bat colony. These stains are left by the oil on their skin and/or urine.
L
7 years ago
Bat experience
Excellent assessment, evaluation and follow up for our bat experience. Answered in a timely manner and presented for initial evaluation. Good explanation of expectations. Made us feel very much at ease and comfortable.
Response from Wildlife Command Center
Thank you Lisa and Tom, your confidence in us is very well taken, we will always be here to help. If any of your friends need a step by step guide read below: Step-By-Step Instructions For Removing Bats From Attics STEP 1 - Inspection: You have to find out how the bats are getting in and out of the building, where they are living, what species they are, and what damage they have caused. They fly out at dusk, and fly back at dawn. Not all at once, and they make several trips in and out per night. They usually roost in tight, hot areas in the structure. This means that they often roost in attics. However, they are not out in the open. They usually crawl down walls and wedge into gaps behind wood beams, fascia boards, etc. They can leave millions of droppings (guano) all over your attic. The exact species of bat is very important in performing the exclusion properly, because of different sizes, behaviors, and most of all birthing seasons. To learn more in detail, click how to perform a bat inspection. If it is not the birthing season, you can do a bat removal project. You absolutely do not want to remove the bats during the maternity season, when there are young, flightless bats in the attic. That will result in disaster. Read more about bat maternity season. STEP 2 - Pre-Sealing: The bats usually have several entry holes and gaps leading into the house. The key to a proper bat removal project is to find all of these areas. The holes and gaps are usually tiny, about a half-inch (yes, a half-inch), and very easy to miss. In order to remove the bats, you have to funnel them out. But if they can enter via dozens of spots, you want to seal off potential entry holes beforehand. Never seal a primary entry/exit spot before an exclusion. An expert can easily tell the difference. Read more about how to seal your house against bats here. STEP 3 - Exclusion: Install one-way exclusion devices on the primary entry/exit areas. Depending on the architecture, this may be exclusion netting, screening, funnels, or cones. Every building is different, and the bats relate to the architecture in very specific ways that require selecting the proper device(s). The exclusion netting or funnels must be set perfectly to allow bats to fly out naturally at night, but then not be able to fly back in. That is the main principle. Simple in concept, but very hard to get right! And it is crucial that it is done perfectly, or you'll have a big problem on your hands. Read about the bat exclusion process. STEP 4 - Seal-Up: After you are 100% certain that all the bats are out, remove the exclusion devices and seal the entry holes shut. Bats live a long time and remember for a long time, and will attempt to re-enter the building for a long time. Perhaps for the next few seasons. But they are fragile animals, and they can't claw or chew their way back in, so if you do your job right, you'll never have bats inside again. A variety of materials work well, from plastic or metal screening, to caulk, to high density polyurethane, depending on the situation. STEP 5 - Cleanup: The bats have left droppings in your attic or walls, perhaps by the million. Also, urine. In very small amounts it's not a huge deal. But in the average case, there is enough to corrode wood and drywall, and to grow mold. Though it's unlikely, this mold can cause health problems for people, so I must mention it. In most cases, the bats have left behind a strong odor as well. The attic and walls and other areas the bats have contaminated should be cleaned. Read more about the bat cleanup process here.