Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo

Self Defense and Martial Arts Course

615 Simpson Ave

Salt Lake City, UT 84106

Open Today 4:30PM - 5:30PM

selfdefenseschoolsaltlakecity.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

R
1 year ago
Awesome Judo Club
This is an awesome judo program. My child loves it.
Response from Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo
Thank you Rhonda, Ellie is a joy to teach. She has a great attitude and is not afraid to try new things. I have noticed that her ability to focus is improving. She loves sparring with the Baker boys and it is fun to watch them. All great kids. Zenbei is dedicated to training champions for the future on and off the mat.
A
1 year ago
We have been at Zenbei for almost a year now. My son has confidence, focus and love's practicing Judo. My son had competed in tournaments and he learned a lot.
Response from Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo
Asmaa and Khaled, First of all I want to thank you for seeking out judo to help with Yousuf's prior inability to focus. He is doing so much better now. I think he has helped me more than; he is full of energy, oh my god his great sense of humor, he has great attitude, this kid is very intelligent, he can hold a conversation with most adults. I can't wait to see what career this kid decides to pursue in the future. Unfortunately, I am going to lose him for the summer but please find a judo club in Saudi Arabia so they he can continue to improve. I hope to see you and Yousuf in the future, hopefully you will only be gone for a short time. Asmaa and Khaled, thank you so much for your support, driving to tournaments after doing a shift at work, going to tournaments only after a few months of training; that showed courage. Thank you again for being A Zenbei! Sensei Louis
M
1 year ago
Sensei Fred is the BEST!!
We have been at Zenbei for over a year now, and couldn't be happier. Fred is amazing. He has help our daughter in ways that I didn't think possible. She has confidence, focus and love's going to Judo each week.
Response from Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo
Michelle, Madison is a great student and I am glad she is still here, I thought I was going to lose her to wrestling. Thank you for keeping and helping me keep her engaged. Thank you for your support and look forward to great accomplishments from Madison in the future.
J
1 year ago
The real deal
My son started judo at Zenbei after 6 years of Wing Chun kung fu. The change in his interest and attitude has been amazing. He's competed in 3 tournaments and just got back from a good will judo trip to Japan. At the age of 14, this has been a life changing experience for him. Sensei Fred Louis knows his stuff. He's a retired SLCPD cop and a friend of many years. I encourage anyone with an interest in martial arts or fitness to visit Zenbei and see what you and/or your children could be doing.
Response from Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo
Jim, Thank for trying out my judo school. Ike took to it immediately and he became fast friends with the Baker boy's, they are a force to be reckoned with in the future. He is doing better in school and I am so happy to see that things turned around with the problem he was having there. Our trip to Japan was a great learning experience culturally. He made some friends for life on and off the mat in Japan. I look forward to the day we can go back to Japan and learn more from our Japanese brothers and sisters. Thank you for bringing him to Zenbei.
J
1 year ago
Highly recommended
I originally started looking for a place to take judo after a couple of years of BJJ and found my standup was not a strong as it could be. Most BJJ schools have little standup game. Sensei Lewis showed up one day to where I take BJJ and began sharing our facility. Now I have the best of both worlds. Even though I don't have children, I have seen Fred interact with children of all ages and he is great with kids. He encourages people, but also pushes them to do better. This year he went with a couple of his younger students to Japan on a cultural exchange program and stayed with some Japanese families and trained at some dojos in Japan.
Response from Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo
Hello Jared, Hey, I hope you job interview went well and I look forward to seeing you in class again. Thank you for review's, I am glad I am meeting your expectations of my judo program. It may be a little boring at times but I believe in repetitions and drills and not overwhelming the students with a lot of techniques in the beginning. You are a great person, student to have in both BJJ and Judo. Thank you for your support.
J
1 year ago
Could Not Ask for a Better Experience
I knew from past experience that a marital art discipline would be perfect to teach my son community, patience, and respect. What I found at his judo class at Zenbei that I hadn't expected was a personal connection with each student. Fred and his students have a mutual respect that comes from high expectations mixed with humor and individual attention to true learning. I am so happy we found this dojo.
Response from Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo
Thank so much Jamie, Actually, it is I, who think that I am lucky you came to my judo school. Your little boy is a sweetheart. I am glad that he likes my classes and I am happy that you see the benefit in my training style. Zenbei means All American, and those values of being an All American is what I am trying to instill in my students. Thank you for being a Zenbei.
R
1 year ago
Awesome Judo Program
We love this program. I can see my daughter's confidence build each week. Great instruction. Highly recommend!
Response from Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo
Thanks Rhonda, it's been many year's that we have been talking about getting Ellie into my judo school. Back then it was not possible because you lived in Colorado, but now that you are back in your home state I am so happy that you and Ellie still wanted to try my judo school. Ellie has made fast friends with the other kids in the school and she has loved learning the throwing techniques, she is very outgoing and happy kid. She will do well in Zenbei Judo.
B
1 year ago
Amazing experience!
We have been taking our daughter to Zenbei Judo for over a year and we are very pleased at the progress she has made. She started when she was 4 and now she is 6 and we hope she will continue to improve. I know Sensei Louis had helped Lily with discipline and helped her become a better a well rounded individual.
Response from Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo
BreAwn, I remember when you guy's first brought Lily in, she was 4 and we did not know how she would adapt to the judo routines and exercises. I think over the last two year's she has developed confidence, coordination; her listening has improved and continues to improve I think on a weekly basis. She is a joy to teach and I am glad you have decided to continue with Zenbei Judo. Thank you.
G
1 year ago
Professional Martial Arts instructor
The Judo instructor Sensei Louis is knowledgeable about what he teaches. He teaches great stand up and ground techniques. What really surprised me is that he also teaches striking. He has so much experience and is a teacher that is worth training under. Another thing I like about coming to Zenbei Martial Arts is that we go to tournaments together. I just went to Phoenix and had so much fun. He also has a great kids group class. The youngest child I have seen is four years old. He makes it fun for them to learn Judo.
Response from Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo
Thank you Galaad, it is an honor to teach you.
A
1 year ago
Fantastic Experience
I had never taken any sort of martial arts before and was a little apprehensive about starting, but I'm so glad I did! Sensei Louis provided relaxed yet challenging and informative lessons that started out right where I was at - the beginning! Everyone is very kind and I was never intimidated. I would definitely recommend Zenbei for anyone of any age!
Response from Zenbei Martial Arts Academy - Olympic Judo Dojo
Thank you Amy, I hope to see you this summer.