Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care

Auto Repair Shop

1505 West Brandon Boulevard

Brandon, FL 33511

Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

cottmanofbrandon.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

R
1 month ago
Poor quality of work, unacceptable service
I hired Cottman of Brandon to rebuild by transmission. I was told they would send the gearbox for outside services and I received my quote. The office manager called a week later, and was excited to say the repairs ended up being done in house. There was no reduction of cost to me. I paid in full at the time payment was due, and as I had to raise my debit card spending limit to cover the $5,700 bill, the office manager joked and used the word deadbeat. My transmission has failed twice since then, in less than 5,000 miles. The second attempt to repair failed due to damaged parts being re-installed. I am more than disgusted with the lack of accountability demonstrated at this location. The shop has outright refused to produce a detail of the parts they told me were installed. I cannot trust them and will not give my endorsement for anyone to hire their services. My experience is leaning toward potential fraud and has been reported to the Better Business Bureau.
R
1 month ago
Disappointed
I hired Cottman of Brandon, FL to rebuild my vehicle's transmission. I experienced poor communication and a sense of unease from the start of what would become weeks of lost business while multiple attempts were made to preform the repairs. To add to suspicion after the first transmission failure, the office manager refused to provide any detail of parts or service provided. The second failure was caused by installing bad parts back into the vehicle, causing a output shaft seal to be damaged and begin leaking. The office reused to participate in any meaningful compensation for the weeks of downtime, and has still yet to even return calls when I am told that they will do so. For these reasons I do not recommend their services. I cannot advise anyone to visit them.
J
4 months ago
Work Performance/Quality
Had Cottman replace the transmission on my 2005 Chevy Avalanche with a used GM 4L60E trans (which Cottman provided) with only 67k miles on it back in March 2019. Haven't driven my truck much since then as I'm retired. Was initially happy with the work and the customer service was great, however, since then, my truck has suffered from numerous transmission oil leaks. Have found several trans oil puddles in my driveway since the work was done and continue to find them to this day. Most recently, my truck suffered a major engine oil leak from the rear crankshaft main seal, which cost $1,500 to repair. Am quite tired of dealing with these leaks. If they persist, and my truck requires any additional related repair(s), will consider taking my business elsewhere.
T
5 years ago
I'm extremaly happy with the service.
I'm extremaly happy with the service that Rick from Cottman of Brandon provide. They are always friendly and you can trust that they have your best interests in mind when you take your car to them, they always explain with details any work that needs to be done, you're in the best hands with Rick and his team. Thank you Rick / Cottman of Brandon, for sure I always will highly recommend you as the best Auto Repair business that I've ever known. Tim B
R
6 years ago
Trust is extremely valuable!
For me having a relationship with a mechanic you trust is extremely valuable.  Rick and his crew from Cottman in Brandon are the one.  You will be treated like family from the time you call until your car is finished.  Every single time I have had a positive experience.  When my car was under warranty I would take it to the dealer who would provide me with  a laundry list of things they "recommended."  I would then take my car to Rick and that list would be 20% of what I really need, the rest would give me more time to make a more informed decision.  Of course he was always able to beat the price of the dealer.  With my my car out of warranty, I was looking for a independent shop not a big corp or franchises.  Rick destroys the stereotype of the shady mechanic and big corp shops. I wonder 🤔 if he pay fees for his franchisor? Should be in backwards, he should be paid for the great service and honest way that he gives to Cottman Corporation. Sorry Rick, not my problem but a have to say!!😬 Hey Rick, thanks for everything.
M
6 years ago
This Place should be 6 Stars!!
Definitely this place should be 6 stars. Rick is a gentleman and the service was quick and highly professional, a lot of experience in a automobile field, I was impressed. The customer service is above any star. Rick put the customer first and there is no BS. I went there after been told that I need a $945.00 blah, blah, blah services from one of big corporation "Tires and NOTHING". Well, Rick took his time and show me exacly what I need and after less than 300.00 my vehicle was running smooth and quite like new! I do strongly suggest try Rick from Cottman in Brandon for your next service, you won't regret it.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Offering you strictly the service your vehicle needs is what our team is all about, Mario! Thank you for taking some time to share your feedback, as well as your perfect rating. Gratefully, Cottman of Brandon
S
7 years ago
Been Loyal ever Since!
Quite simply - if you want you car repaired properly and not be screwed over and taken advantage of go see Rick at Cottman Transmission in Brandon. First time a took my car to Rick I had an estimate from another shop from over $ 700.00. Cottman replaced a belt and the whole bill was around $ 100.00 including diagnostic, parts and labor. Been loyal ever since and Rick have never give me cause to even slightly doubt his work. Once more and always, thanks Rick!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you for remaining loyal to us, Sam! We're always happy to assist you and look forward to continuing to do so for many years to come. Gratefully, Cottman of Brandon
C
7 years ago
Thankful to have businesses like this still in existence!
We just moved to Fishhawk area, and definitely found the place we'll take our cars for any kind of service and repair. Rick from Cottman Transmission in Brandon is extremely knowledgeable and professional. Cottman Transmission in Brandon goes above and beyond for their customers. Thankful to have businesses like this still in existence who are friendly, thorough, excellent, and exude integrity. Worthy drive 12 miles or any miles, for maintenance or any kind repair on my car. Chris
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Welcome to the neighborhood, Chris! We are honored to know we'll have your business from here on out, and we were grateful for the opportunity to earn it. Thank you so much! Gratefully, Cottman of Brandon
R
7 years ago
Just Awesome
I knew that my truck needed repair but I did not know where to turn. The place I would normally take my truck, for the past 8 years, wanted $90 just to take a look at it and told me the starting price for repair was $250. I did a google search and found Cottman. They were able to fix my truck, at half the price I was originally quoted at the other place. It has been two weeks and my truck is riding like new. Thank you so much Cottman. I have peace of mind. I will be back and I am telling all of my friends about the experience.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Our team is so happy you found us, Roxie! It's also great to read your truck is running like new, and we are proud to have earned your trust. See you next time. Gratefully, Cottman of Brandon
T
7 years ago
Professional and knowledgeable
I take my Volvo here for Cottman Transmission to take care of it. He is very professional and knowledgeable. Rick is an honest and reliable person/mechanic I trust him with my vehicle. I recommend him to everyone. If you want the job done and done right you need to bring it to Cottman Transmission of Brandon. They have taken care of my brakes, coolant and drive shaft. Thank you Rick for everything. You are the best.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thanks Tina, your review is the best! You are a great friend and customer! We always will be here to better serve you. Thanks again for your referrals and for trusting your vehicle needs to Cottman of Barndon. Rick