Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care

Auto Repair Shop

4895 Ward Road

#3

Wheat Ridge, CO 80033

Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

cottmanofwheatridge.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
6 months ago
Dishonest and unprofessional
I think we all share getting ripped off by a dishonest mechanic. Well, my worst fears will realize after I brought my truck into cottman's. This place is a nightmare, do yourself a favor and sign another shop to work on your vehicle. I brought my truck into these guys when it started making a specific bad noise. They said that the noise was coming from the transfer case and that it needed to be rebuilt. An expensive repair. I swallowed hard and gave them the go-ahead to do the work. Later, as I was driving it home from their shot I was surprised to hear it my truck making the same noise that I brought it in for. They said it was a separate problem and it was coming from the rear axle. They totally misdiagnosed the problem and did nothing to rectify it. I even talked to the owner Jim and became shocked when he was unwilling to make things right. These guys are good at taking your money but bad at diagnosing and fixing your vehicle. Don't take your vehicle here! $2,200 I gave these guys and they didn't fix the problem I brought it in for!
A
3 years ago
Just a comment--Thanks!! You guys, Scott & Gary, really gave me great service. Saved me a hundred dollars for a tow truck, and got the car fixed faster than I expected. Car works great--I'm a happy customer!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Happy customers are why we're in business, Anita! Thanks for telling the world about the great experience you found when you brought us your vehicle. Gratefully, Cottman of Wheat Ridge
D
3 years ago
Took my Dodge truck in to have the transmission & differential oil changed. This recommended by a Dodge dealer who said that the oil in the tranny was burned and the oil in the diff. was contaminated. The manager, Mark, went to have a look and promptly came back, handed me my keys and said that there was no problem with the oil in either mechanism. This saved me a lot of money as he could have gone ahead and changed the oil and I would have been none the wiser. He did perform some other work for me and the service was great. if I have a problem in the future or if I have a friend who needs transmission work, I will happily and confidently recommend this organization.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
And we will happily accept that recommendation, Donald! Thank you for your confidence in our Cottman, and for your initial visit with your Dodge. Gratefully, Cottman of Wheat Ridge
D
3 years ago
Scott,Jim and the entire Cottman crew repaired and replaced the transmission in my Accord for thousands less than the Honda quote. They didn't give up when the problems weren't easily fixed, and continue to service the car as needed. They have not only restored my transmission, but my trust in a business that provides genuine service,as advertised and then some. Thank you. Anyone reading this who has a similar problem, take your car here.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Our customers, their vehicles, and their complete satisfaction all come first for us, Dorothy. Thank you so much for pointing that out, after letting us serve you and your Accord. Your business and your review are greatly appreciated. Gratefully, Cottman of Wheat Ridge
B
3 years ago
To Whom it May Concern, My name is Brenda Cooper and several months ago the transfer case on my 2000 Tahoe was in bad shape. It had suddenly failed and of course when there was snow on Golden Gate Canyon where I needed 4WD to get home. Scott was wonderful and said "Bring it in right away." He and Eric had me back on the road in 2 days. Scott even walked across the street to get me a cup of coffee. I'm not good on the computer but wanted to let you know how very pleased I was with the work of the people and the overall performance. Since being at Cottman, I have recommended you to everyone I come in contact with who could use your services You're The Best! Thank You Again!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Brenda, thank you for calling us "the best!" It really means a lot to our team, as it validates all of the work we do to earn the trust and satisfaction of our valued customers. Gratefully, Cottman of Wheat Ridge
P
3 years ago
I went to Cottman because my car would not go into gear- I have a manual.. Since all I knew was that the problem had something to do with the clutch, they easily could have told me that I needed a new clutch and charged through the nose for this. But I was pleasantly surprised that they only fixed what needed fixing (not the entire clutch!) and did not overcharge me or lie to be about what was wrong. Thank you for your honesty in this day and age!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Honesty is a virtue that will never go out of style for us, as it's what's best for our customers. We value your business and you deserve only the best; thanks for letting the world know you found it here. Gratefully, Cottman of Wheat Ridge
K
3 years ago
I can not say enough good things about Cottman Transmission. I and my daughter were treated fairly and honestly. I live out of state while my daughter just relocated to the area. Cottman was recommended to her. Scott explained things so well and was very patient with us during this time. He has so much knowledge and care for the customer. You would be foolish to go anywhere else. Great job Cottman!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
We'll take it, Kathy! Our team is very proud to know you and your daughter found fair and honest service here, and we look forward to future opportunities when we might be of assistance. Gratefully, Cottman of Wheat Ridge
K
3 years ago
Scott, Thank you for taking care of my daughter, Samantha Roberge. I want to thank you again for being so fair, honest, and trustworthy. God has taught me many lessons in this transmission, but he also showed me that there are still good people in the world. May God bless you, your family, and Cottman Transmission.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Fair, honest, and trustworthy service is exactly what your daughter deserves, as a valued Cottman customer, Kathy. Thank you for your kind words about us. Gratefully, Cottman of Wheat Ridge
M
3 years ago
"I am extremely happy, with the customer service and the quality of service, I received. I dropped by the shop on Thursday, to get my car checked out to see why the reverse wasn't working. Scott quickly went to work and advised me that I would need my transmission rebuilt and gave me an estimate. We scheduled it for me to drop off my car today, Friday. When I dropped it off at 8AM, I asked if they would let me know when the tranny was out and apart, so I could come back & see what the inside looked like. I was only home about an hour and a half when Scott called me to come see. The tech, Jim was very nice and helpful, as I asked questions and I left with my questions answered. And my car was ready by the afternoon!!!!!!!! SUPER GREAT PLACE & STAFF. THANKS
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Super great review, Mike! Thanks for sharing the story of the fast, efficient, and overall excellent experience you found here with us. Gratefully, Cottman of Wheat Ridge
R
3 years ago
I have a 2002 Chevy Avalanche that had a problem with the transmission not shifting into second and had no reverse. I had a mobile mechanic come to my home to inspect and he assured me that the problem was with the transfers case not the transmission. He went on to say that with all of his years experience that he had seen this many times and that he could get this done quickly. I reached out to Scott to discuss this and he did not agree with the mobile mechanic's plan. He suggested that it be brought into the shop for them to look at it and confirm what was going on. I had a couple of calls with Scott before deciding to bring it in. Upon it arriving at Cottman's shop we were called to notify us that it had arrived and that the problem was not the transfer case it was in fact the transmission. We are so happy that we went with Cottman or we would have been out the money to work on the transfer case and then the transmission also. What a great and friendly place with great service!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Hi Randy, we were happy to help diagnose the correct issue and get your Avalanche back on the road! Your business means a great deal to our team and your review makes us proud. Gratefully, Cottman of Wheat Ridge