FSS - GDM Construction

Sunroom Contractor

5893 Winfield Blvd.

San Jose, CA 95123

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

fourseasonssanjosesunrooms.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

B
5 months ago
It's been about 6 months since Robert and the GDM Construction crew completed our Four Seasons sunroom, and this review is long overdue. The last 6 months of enjoying the sunroom has solidified our belief that working with Robert and GDM Construction to build this sunroom has been the best home improvement decision by far, and we wish we would have undertaken this project a long time ago! We hired GDM construction to build a large sunroom (900+ sqft), which included building a level-walkout, cathedral style ceiling with a complicated roofline. Given the size of the project, the fact that we did not have much previous experience with construction projects, and our weariness of contractors, we had concerns about undertaking such a large project, and wanted to proceed carefully. We interviewed several sunroom contractors, and Robert's team stood out immediately from the start. We chose GDM based off their no-nonsense, honesty, which was apparent from our first meeting with Mark to the followup meetings with the owner, Robert, who came on-site a number of times to ensure that the quote was accurate given the size and complexity of the project. They worked with us throughout an involved design process and were always very prompt in turning around quotes and maintaining communication to answer any questions we had. Through the entire 6-month process, we received a weekly update emails detailing the progress, outlining what would come the next week and letting us know of decision deadlines which were coming up; these folks are professional and never leave you with surprises. They handle both conventional and sunroom builds and support rough construction, trim, flooring, electrical, and plumbing. The qualities which really make them stand out are their budgetary estimation skills (very accurate against final cost!), honesty, follow-through and importantly the quality of their work and attention to detail. They're customer oriented and are happy to incorporate your vision into the budget and the project. The GDM crew consists of a collection of seasoned and conscientious builders who kept the job site clean with a daily routine to blow, vacuum, pick up stray nails/screws, safely stow materials and lockup. They are good, hard-working, sincere people, and we got to know several of them fairly well during the 6-month build process. They always made sure things were clean and locked up at the end of the day, and we never had any reservations leaving our property open to them throughout the construction. In fact, we joked that Robert's crew was our security service! At the end of each workday, because they were so thorough with the cleanup, we had no concerns letting our children "explore" the daily progress. They were very conscientious about even small details, which most contractors would probably not be, for example, they always communicated material delivery and OK'd with us the placement of anything delivered beforehand. They also were very mindful of the construction through the holidays and were able to leave the room in a useable state, in the midst of construction, for us to host a very memorable Thanksgiving and Christmas in the new sunroom, which was above and beyond any experience we've had with contractors, and we sincerely appreciated. Despite his busy schedule, Robert himself would come by to check in on the job site, and on his crew, to make sure everything was coming together. We were very impressed with how the group treated each other like family, and it shows in the pride and quality of their work. The build itself was equally impressive with Robert incorporating additional bracing and structure on-top of the engineered requirements to ensure that our room wouldn't have issues. From an insulated, overly reinforced 4ft raised slab, to additional reinforcement to the walls of the existing house, Robert took the time to ferret out anything which could yield problems over the span of decades. In addition to the basic sunroom, he also constructed dividing walls and wired them with ethernet connectivity creating a pair of offices inside the room. He also has a wealth of contacts to provide trim, doors, blinds and flooring at very reasonable pricing and handles the installation himself. The end result was a beautiful sunroom that has taken us through this season's storms and heat without any issues whatsoever. Surprisingly, the sunroom is better insulated than our existing house and is now the focal point for all our activities. We can wholeheartedly recommend Robert and the crew at GDM Construction for projects both large and small, sunroom or conventional construction. Robert and the GDM construction crew are a joy to work with; their straightforward and honest approach, combined with the quality of their work create a rare find in the contracting business. We recommend Robert and his crew 100%, and will be seeking them out for additional projects.
W
5 months ago
Exactly what we wanted
We had an existing but 30 year old Pella Window greenhouse system. It was leaking badly. Rob and GDM gave us a new modern system that’s more beautiful than the old. We are completely satisfied and love our new windows. Rob’s a good contractor. He’s seen it all.
R
5 months ago
Strongly Recommended
We hired GDM to design and build our sunroom late last year. The whole process went quite well even there were several storms while the sunroom was under construction. Mark and Rob did a great job. We are quite happy with our new sunroom and would strongly recommend GDM construction!
Response from FSS - GDM Construction
You are most welcome sir! Your cathedral sunroom project looks wonderful! And we did have a bit of stormy weather during the installation process however that never stops us! We hopr you and your family enjoy the project for many, many years to come, thanks again!
M
5 months ago
Recommend to all my family & friends
GDM Construction did an excellent job on installing my Life Room. My wife and I are very satisfied on how it turned out. I found out about the Life Room online as I was actually looking into the sunrooms, but this one caught my eye with the remote shades, recess lighting, ceiling fan and entertainment center. I now have and indoor/outdoor Wellness Room. GDM helped install all everything I requested, including my jacuzzi and much more as I had additional work I needed done. They made it happen. Thanks to Mark (coordinator), Robert and team they did some extensive electrical work and a re-do of my original foundation. I would recommend GDM to all my family and friends.
Response from FSS - GDM Construction
Thank you Madric. Your LifeRoom project looks fantastic! I'll bet you are hoping the cold weather comes a bit early this year so you may use the spa within the LifeRoom! It was a pleasure working with you and we appreciate the opportunity to serve your needs.
R
5 months ago
Strongly Recommend
We hired GDM to design and build our sunroom late last year. The whole process went quite well even there were several storms while the sunroom was under construction. Mark and Rob did a great job. We are quite happy with our new sunroom and would strongly recommend GDM construction!
Response from FSS - GDM Construction
You are most welcome sir! Your cathedral sunroom project looks wonderful! And we did have a bit of stormy weather during the installation process however that never stops us! We hopr you and your family enjoy the project for many, many years to come, thanks again!
R
5 months ago
Strongly Recommend
We hired GDM to design and build our sunroom late last year. The whole process went quite well even there were several storms while the sunroom was under construction. Mark and Rob did a great job. We are quite happy with our new sunroom and would strongly recommend GDM construction!
Response from FSS - GDM Construction
You are most welcome sir! Your cathedral sunroom project looks wonderful! And we did have a bit of stormy weather during the installation process however that never stops us! We hopr you and your family enjoy the project for many, many years to come, thanks again!
E
1 year ago
Great service, great communication & great work
I am very happy with my new Four Seasons Liferoom. From the initial meetings to completion of the project, the process was very easy. GDM is great regarding communication, service & the work was very well done. Everyone on their team is very nice & personable. I would highly recommend them.
Response from FSS - GDM Construction
Thank you Elana. Your new LifeRoom looks wonderful. We hope you, your son and daughter enjoy it for many years to come. With retractable solar shades, LED mood lighting and recessed lighting tied to a dimmer switch, you will enjoy your LifeRoom all year long. Thanks again.
B
1 year ago
Lots of experience and “Can-Do” people
We needed to replace an old Pella sunroom after 35 years—tired of fighting the leaks! After some research and some luck, we found Four Seasons Sunrooms and Rob Shipstead at GDM Construction. Rob is Four Seasons contractor in the South Bay. Before starting GDM, Rob had been installing the Four Seasons windows for over 25 years. We are very happy with our new room. We were extremely happy with Rob and the guys st GDM. Very can do. Always felt that their primary target was/is customer satisfaction. Highly recommend.
Response from FSS - GDM Construction
Bill, it is not often that a client opens a design magazine, points to a picture of a sunroom stating that is exactly what they are looking for, only to have Robert proudly state that he had in fact built that project himself! What are the odds!! But we were very happy to gain your confidence and complete the project on your behalf. The solarium wall and partial roof looks fantastic. The interior wood trim was installed and painted to your exact specifications. And the French doors were a wonderful finish to the project. We are glad you are pleased with the outcome and thank you again for the business.
L
1 year ago
GDM Construction & Design is the way to go!
I usually don't take time to sit and do a review on a company but GDM was so outstanding, I just had to. I recently interviewed 4 companies to get quotes on adding an enclosed sun room onto my home. GDM was the last of the 4 companies that came out here to talk to me and give me a quote. Instantly, after speaking to Mark (their salesman) I knew hands down that they were going to be the best and I wanted to go with them. Truly, I couldn't be more pleased with everything, from start to finish. They were so professional, polite and prompt. They knew I was moving my elderly Mom into my home and needed the space ASAP and they were here every day, until they finished my room. Things got started right away and in a 2 week period, they were done. Rob (the owner/contractor) was here daily, checking up on the job and making sure things were done perfectly and on time. The Four Seasons panels are insulated and gorgeous and the windows, slider and skylight are all energy efficient. I absolutely LOVE the addition to the house and have not one complaint, other than I will miss their friendly faces. If you are looking for a beautiful sun room addition, look no further than GDM! Seriously, you won't be sorry.
Response from FSS - GDM Construction
You are too kind Lori. It was our pleasure to provide the sunroom project for you, your brother and mother. And we do believe we fare very well against our competitors when it comes to customer service, material quality and precise installation methods. We are glad you concur. The Sandtone panels combined with the White window frames look wonderful! The finished flooring and smooth back wall finish make the sunroom look like it has always been part of the residence. We hope you enjoy it for years to come.
G
1 year ago
Simply Excellent
I found this place through a brief Google Maps search, and based on the owner's great phone manners, I went with GDM. What a lucky strike! After working with him through the quote and job, I found Robert to be honest, fair, reliable, and prompt. Pretty damn knowledgeable too. Add in a decent sense of humor, and he's a guy I'd work with over and over again. We put up a Four Seasons sunroom on an existing second-floor deck. The deck was sloped, but the final product was plumb and true to better than my eye could see. Every piece was carefully measured, cut, and fit, and the final product is outstanding. Windows slide effortlessly with the touch of a finger; colors are exactly as we chose. Functionality and aesthetics are simply excellent. I was watching the work progress fairly carefully, and every time I asked a question or made a suggestion, Robert and his crew were already "on it", either with me or ahead of me. Also, I had a couple of jobs going in parallel, and Robert even took over some of the (extra) stucco work, with no extra charge or nickel-diming me after the original quote. Highly recommended.
Response from FSS - GDM Construction
Thank you Greg. Robert is indeed quite knowledgeable regarding Four Seasons Sunroom materials and installation. With over 25 years experience with ONLY Four Seasons he makes sure the project installation and overall production schedule runs smoothly. We hope you enjoy your sunroom project for many years to come and thank you for the kind words. Mark - Design Consultant - GDM Construction