Handyman Matters

Handyman Service

Eldersburg, MD 21784

Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

handymanmatters.com/offices/columbia

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
4 days ago
Always great service
I have used Handyman Matters on several occasions and have always been satisfied. Michael did a great job.
K
6 days ago
Professional, Courteous, Clean
I had someone come over to update my small (tiny) bathroom. I needed the vanity, toilet and flooring taken out. I ordered everything from Home Depot. I had to have the contractor pick up the toilet and vanity. The first day, the vanity and toilet were removed and the flooring scraped up. Excellent job. The next time the contractor came, he came to lay the tile on the floor. It took almost 8 hours for the sub-floor to be put down and the tiles done. Since I'm not a handyman, I have no idea how long it takes to lay a sub-floor and put down tiles in a small bathroom but to me it seemed a long time. On the plus side, there's not a single squeak in that floor. It's perfect! He cleaned up after himself and was very neat with his work. Since the toilet I originally got was damaged, I had to wait another 2 weeks for another toilet to come in, but then my son was home from a business trip and he picked it up and finished the bathroom for me. Based on the work done, the pleasantness of the contractor and the quality of the work, I would definitely recommend Handyman Matters to others.
A
1 week ago
Would use again!
The handyman that came to our house was very knowledgeable and courteous. He was able to fix things right away and give advice when needed. I would highly recommend this company.
J
1 week ago
Great service
Great service fair prices and no mess.
S
3 months ago
Never Returned Call
I am in need of the replacement of my pull-down attic stairs. When my wife described the job to the woman who answered the telephone at the office of Handyman Matters, she assured her that "Brian" would return the call. That call is yet to be received. A.E.S. Builders, whom I hold in high regard, recommended Handyman Matters to me because of the size of the job, and I could not be more surprised nor disappointed. If Handyman Matters was not interested, someone could have at least called to decline. Was that too much to ask? I can only assume that it was.
A
3 months ago
Very good and efficient service
Chuck worked with a series of different problems in each residence in our 5 unit apartment building. He was personable, but focused and very efficient. He did, in 3 hours, what it would have taken me 8+ hours to accomplish.
J
5 months ago
Questionable work
The handyman William was a nice enough guy but the quality of his work was subpar. A drywall patch in our master bathroom needs extra trips now because and additional skim coat is needed. And the texture of the patch doesn't match the rest of the wall. A brand new bathroom looks awful now. Then we had him look at our kitchen sink to potentially tighten the handle. He took the faucet apart and now we can't get hot water in our kitchen. We were told we need a new faucet and another $95 if we want him to install it, when it worked just fine before he looked at it. Just feel we are getting scammed for multiple visits and unsatisfactory work. We won't use the service again.
Response from Handyman Matters
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Matching drywall usually takes several trips in between coats and we would be happy to come apply additional texturing. We did not know that you were not happy since you had signed the invoice provided by the Craftsman. We always allow clients to purchase their own materials and would love to come back to install a new faucet since the old one was shot. As indicated, we would wave our service charge for the return visit. We have been open since 2004 and customer service is our number one priority! Thanks again. Best, Brian
D
1 year ago
Great Friendly Service!!
Handyman Matters provides great quality service and great customer care. Rose is awesome to deal with and makes the process super easy and fun!
H
1 year ago
Good Carpentry for Stairs
As part of replacing a tank for heating oil we need the stairs leading to a screened porch removed. Once the tank was removed the stairs then had be reinstalled at the original location. The work on the stairs was a small job, but it was essential to the larger project. The carpenter from Handyman Matters accomplished both the removal and installation without difficulty and on schedule. We were pleased with the work, and we intend to use this company again.
V
1 year ago
Knowledgeable worker, but very time consuming
Ultimately, the job (install iron railings on a front porch) was completed to my satisfaction, meaning it looks good. It just took 6 hours, which is about twice the amount of time I thought was required. The worker (obviously very skilled) had about ten boxes of tools, but told me he did not have the correct drill bit (a diamond-tipped bit to cut circles through stone) for the job. Therefore, to create the holes for the railing posts he used small drill bits and chisels. It did not make things better by letting me know it could have gone a lot faster if he had known it was a flagstone on top of concrete, not just concrete. I hired the company to be prepared to do the task, and knowing what I know now about this type of job additional questions should have been asked by the scheduler about the work surfaces. By making assumptions about the job (install railings) the scenario was set up for the laborer to immediately have to go to Plan B (small bits, chisel and hammer). The worker was very knowledgeable, friendly and careful not to damage the flagstone. That care, however, took extra time. I will also never know if the holes that were created are larger than necessary. When the holes were finally cut it took relatively little time to install and level the heavy railings. He knew how to tie them off so they would not sag prior to the quikrete setting, which ensured that after her departed nothing shifted. My final comment is that when the job was completed the time was rounded up to the next full hour (only about 15 minutes extra). Overall the job looks great, but knowing that it could have been done much faster/cheaper with the right tools did not make this a completely satisfying experience.