Handyman Matters

Handyman Service

Lewisville, TX 75067

Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

handymanmatters.com/offices/lewisville

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

T
16 hours ago
Prompt, inventive
First the Handyman was amazingly punctual, arriving within minutes of the appointment. We had two doors that had become problematic. The one I expected to be costly and maybe involving a complete replacement was solved with two screws. The foundation had shifted and the door was impacting the frame. The foundation wasn’t going to solved anytime soon but those two screws driven into the top of the frame pulled the top of the frame up into the header more than enough to obviate a new door and frame or immediate foundation work. Ingenious! The second door (exterior security door) needed realignment so that it would seal with the weatherstripping and all the bolts close. the Handyman solved the problem by tightening the hinges and realigning the strike plate. My only disappointment was I preferred a more comprehensive solution that would have reinforced the strike plate framing, with better alignments, but because of schedule pressure the Workman declined. We would have accepted a whole new prehung frame and door to do it completely. After he departed I retrofitted a new deadbolt with a properly aligned strike plate and reinforced the frame.
K
1 week ago
Quality assurance
This is my second time using Handyman Matters. 1st experience was great...they installed a stovetop vent and vented it to the outside. This time I called them to clean up after another failed contractor on the install /grouting of a backsplash. Not an easy job, but the worker did a substandard job ( scratched some of the tiles with his power tool and did not do a good job of QA on his work (missed some spots with regrout)). Had to call Bob out and rework was scheduled. I guess with most contractors , the customer ends up catching the errors ( or not).
Response from Handyman Matters
Kevin, Yes, we learned something on this job as well - basically, don't try to fix somebody else's mistake. I don't think I will attempt this kind of project in the future - that is scrape out the wrong colored grout and re-grout tile that was installed by somebody else. I noticed razor marks on the tiles prior to us starting the job that your previous contractor had made when he scraped out the grout. Yes, my guy nicked a few tiles, but we did come back to replace them. We fixed our mistakes unlike your previous contractor. Bob Z.
R
3 weeks ago
Punctual, professional, good workmanship...would highly recommend.
K
1 month ago
Professional, great service
Reasonably priced, and excellent service. Would recommend this company to others.
S
1 month ago
Sheet rock , Base boards , and a little tile work.
First off Bob was very nice and so was the other Bob that did the actual work. And first off again Bob said he was not the cheapest in town due to his business and his " skilled craftsmen ". We had a water leak and all of the wood floors were replaced , took 8 days ( not by handyman). So to finish the remaining work we called Handyman. Shame on me for not getting at least 3 quotes. I was in a hurry to get the work done before it got to cold and my usual handyman was in Houston. They did some sheet rock work in 2 rooms , put tile in 2 small closets, put base board down around the hall way and my son's room. Pretty simple stuff. Not a major job at all. They replaced a door side molding but the paint was way off color. Bob said he would be back out to make it better. A tile in the closet was sticking up a little bit (not flush) but Bob said he couldn't get it flush due to uneven floor. Hum...Anyway the work looks fine. Very expensive though for work that was done. We have had many contractors over the years and he was very high priced. Not very professional as cigarette butts left in front yard. brand new floors not covered ( when walking in and out many times) and a very not caring if paint didn't match or a tile floor was not flush or molding was different. He also wanted to charge me 285.00 bucks to paint a very small hall way. Which I said no too. It was like it would take to long. Anyway, work looks good just a shame that Bob was worried more about his business and his craftsman's pay over what the work should actually cost. My fault for not getting more quotes or wait for my normal handyman to return. Just being honest.
Response from Handyman Matters
Scott, My apologies for the cigarette butts. I will address that with my craftsman. I agree that you should have gotten additional quotes. Maybe you would have then realized that my quote is in the mid range for a legitimate, fully qualified business. An individual "handyman" may not be bonded, covered by workmen's comp insurance, or be there when you need them - like responding to communications or maybe even gone out of business. I would be happy to correct any quality of workmanship issues with the work that was completed. Bob Zeffery
E
1 month ago
My go-to for everything
Bob's crew has done all the larger improvement projects around my house -- from jobs as simple as painting exterior trim, to complex projects like replacing all my kitchen cabinets. Most recently, they retiled my kids' bathroom! The guys are always prompt, professional, and fair. Can't say enough good things about them.
J
2 months ago
Very Impressed!
This was the first time I worked with Handyman matters. Tom was very knowledgeable, courteous and super efficient . His input on making our bathroom/vanity area was very unique and helpful. We look forward to him coming back to finish the job.
D
2 months ago
Extremely dedicated to the job.
Tony worked non-stop on each request I had. He was very good at everything he did, like painting my pantry door, replacing broken tiles, and patching up a hole above my new vent-a-hood. He was very professional and nice and friendly. I would absolutely recommend Handyman Matters and Tony to anyone.
S
3 months ago
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent
I hired Handyman Matters to build a cedar closet for my wife. I was very reluctant to hire anybody from the internet because of many bad experiences in the past with other contractors. Bob at Handyman Matters was great. He looked at the purported job, my sketches and even tried to source the materials for the project. My wife was very picky and specific with regards to the building materials so we ended up purchasing the materials ourselves. However, once we had the materials in our possession, Handyman Matters scheduled my project and completed the job within 1 1/2 days. Tony, the carpenter showed up on time, cut and installed the materials to our liking and we are very pleased with the outcome. I would attach a picture to this written endorsement if I could. Handyman Matters earned my trust and I would certainly consider hiring this outfit again for a future project.
C
3 months ago
Great Job!
Second time we've used them. On time, thorough, professional, and great work! Final cost less than estimate! Anthony is terrific!