Handyman Matters

Handyman Service

Open Today By Appointment

handymanmatters.com/offices/greater-boston

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

S
1 week ago
So happy
The company was very quick to get back, schedule, and communicate. Geno was very pleasant, clear and fast. The work involved securing loose doorknobs and weatherproofing a basement door.
Response from Handyman Matters
Glad we were able to help with your To-Do List! Thank you!
J
2 weeks ago
Geno arrived exactly as rescheduled, with all the equipment required for the job, including special carbon drill bits. He took time with the user of the grab bar to see where it would be most useful. He was very quick and efficient in installing the bar and thoroughly picking up after himself. He had a pleasant manner and communicated well with the customer
Response from Handyman Matters
Grab bars in the bathroom are a simple low-cost way to dramatically increase safety. Thank you!
L
4 weeks ago
Prompt, efficient service
This was our first time using Handyman. We found the entire service, start to finish, prompt, efficient, and courteous. Initially we were informed that our problem might not have a solution. It was very valuable to know exactly where we stood. However, that said, Geno was able to find an easy and satisfactory solution to the problem.
Response from Handyman Matters
Thank you for your business, I am happy that we were able to repair your windows.
R
4 weeks ago
Friendly, high quality service
Geno came by to hang a television on our bedroom wall. He worked independently when appropriate and involved me when decisions of various sorts needed to be made. Afterward he looked at a small fixit job, unscheduled, and succeeded in solving that too. We have used him before and requested him because we were so happy, and we will undoubtedly use him again.
S
4 weeks ago
Great customer service
Geno came out today to do a series of small jobs around my house. He arrived on time and went through the entire punch list with me. His work was really great. I would highly recommend Mr. Handyman.
Response from Handyman Matters
Thank you for your business and kind review. We are Handyman Matters, not the other guys :-)
L
1 month ago
Excellent Experience
Mike from Handyman Matters repaired a hole in the paneling in my basement. The job was done well and in a timely fashion.
J
1 month ago
Fast service, professional and prompt
Handyman Matters called back within minutes of inquiry. They were able to come out the next day. Very professional and I would use them again!
R
1 month ago
Diagnosis of water damage
We had some water seepage through a wall and ceiling in the basement. We had called multiple masons and waterproofing experts to diagnose the problem and give an estimate. Some came by and said that there could be serious water issues with a crack in the foundation. Others suggested a leak in the pipes. Handyman Matters indicated that it will be best to open up the wall/ceiling area, look into it, and then decide. Scott came and discovered a leak in a pipe joint. He tightened it, and then suggested that we get a licensed plumber to look over. We got a plumber who looked over and said everything looks good.
I
1 month ago
A good beginning turned into a rude, surprising visits.
I was recommended to Handyman Matters by a dear friend on Facebook. I trusted him so I called them. The people I spoke to were friendly, professional and courteous. I had a few hours worth of work as I'm a 70 year old woman and cannot do some of these chores I could do when I was younger. Originally Geno came and was marvelous. We went over what I wanted done, any specifications I had and the priorities. Geno worked well, did what I asked, and worked well independently. So what happened to earn them a 2? I had asked him to make two of the 2nd floor close. We are a three generation family here and having the bathroom door open when my son in law is coming up the stairs is not acceptable. The other door was my bedroom and an open bedroom door is an invitation for people to come in - even if the door opened after I fell asleep. I called and explained to Bob that the doors were still opening. He asked if I'd asked Geno to do it at the last minute and I assured him I hadn't as I had asked him to do one more thing after he was done "fixing" the doors and there was almost a half hour left on the time. Because of the holidays, we had a hard time rescheduling and I told Bob it wasn't an emergency and would could follow up. I wanted to wait until he finished the job before rating them because up to then the work was five stars for a good job well done by a respectful professional. Last Friday someone named Scott came. I had a busy morning planned as there had been a basement flood (not their fault, of course) and I had that company coming at 9:00 to remove their machines, Scott was scheduled at 9:00 to 9:30 and the insurance adjustor coming at 10:00. Scott showed up about 10:30 when the insurance adjuster and I were in the living room discussing the cost of the objects lost due to contamination. He came in and I explained what the problem was and what I wanted. I admit I was businesslike but I was not rude. I told him that people stomping up the stairs was one of the main reasons for the doors opening (house is close to 100 years old). I'm not sure why he reacted as he did, but he then proceeded to stomp like an elephant up and done the stairs, declared that he couldn't make it happen and declared he was leaving. He didn't touch a door. The insurance adjuster was totally shocked with his behavior and his manner of communication. So was I. So that is why I can't recommend them. Before he left, I told Scott to tell Bob I wanted a refund for the time that Geno worked on the door as it didn't work. There was a brief email interaction with Bob where he simply stated that they'd done the work and there would be no refund. I contact the national office and no one got back to me. I gave them several days to see if they would resolve this. I am patient. It ran out. My guests joke about my bathroom door that opens by itself and it's a complete embarrassment. They obviously don't truly care about customer service.
S
1 month ago
Very happy with Handyman Matters
I have been using Handyman Matters for various repairs around my house for about fifteen years. They have replaced a deck, renovated a bathroom, put up walls and replaced exterior doors. In every case, the job was done in a timely economical fashion. Furthermore, the quality of the work is very high. I would recommend their services to anyone who needs this kind of work done quickly and reliably.
Response from Handyman Matters
Thank you for your on-going business, we appreciate your confidence in us! We look forward to your next home improvement project.