Handyman Matters

Handyman Service

Lexington, MA 02420

Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

handymanmatters.com/offices/greater-boston

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
8 hours ago
Cellar windows.
Your new carpenter Scott did a very nice job. If he questioned anything he asked me what I would like ti have him do. Very happy with the work. Thanks, John A Great value for the money spent!
Response from Handyman Matters
Thank you for your on-going business and positive review. It is always a pleasure to work for you. We look forward to your next project.
H
1 month ago
This is a great company but their latest visit was a very mixed experience: B-/C+
I've used Handyman Matters on numerous occasions in the past 8 years. Normally their workers are outstanding, both highly skilled and efficient as well as pleasant. They've done every kind of job in my house from small repairs to major projects involving carpentry, masonry, as well as some minor plumbing and electrical...all have been excellent in the past...I'd usually give them at worst an A- and usually an A grade on their work. Unfortunately, the new handyman who came this time, Scott, did a B-/C+ job. He did not manage his time at all well and spent several hours just going to the store (three times) to search for materials because he hadn't planned the correct amounts. He did an adequate job on the specific repair tasks but left a mess afterwards. In particular, after doing some cement work, he emptied his buckets on my driveway and did not wash away the slurry. I now have large cement stains all over the newly paved driveway, which have not been able to be removed by a power wash and lots of rain; I think the stains will be permanent and require a re-sealing coat of asphalt to eliminate them. Very frustrating. Bob, the boss at Handyman Matters is aware of the difficulties with this last job and has been appropriately responsive on the phone. He is a very nice guy and I know that he cares about the quality of his workers' performance. However, I am waiting to see if he refunds me a meaningful portion of what I paid for the job so I can afford to pay for a cosmetic repair to the now-damaged driveway.
J
2 months ago
Friendly, accomodating, great work, quick results
All I needed was a single screen-door frame re-screened. It was oddly difficult to find anyone to do it. Bob not only willingly took on this small project, he also offered to come by to pick it up and then delivered it back to me in just a couple of days so that I didn't have to wait for the appointment I had made a couple of weeks from then. I will happily use him again in the future!
S
3 months ago
Quality work coupled with great customer service
Handyman Matters was a pleasure to work with from beginning to end. They were very responsive when first answering my request for a quote and came out very quickly. Scheduling the job was easy to do. The actual cost was very close to the original estimate, despite the fact that the job was more complex than originally thought (due to corroded siding on my house). The person who did the actual work (Tom) was a pleasure to work with - knowledgeable, pleasant, easy to talk to. I would definitely call them again if I had another repair project.
Response from Handyman Matters
Thank you for your business, it was a pleasure working for you.
S
3 months ago
Prompt and Professional
Bob answered my phone calls promptly and came out for a free estimate at the time promised. Although we ultimately hired a lower-cost provider, we felt that Handyman Matters would have done a good job and we will consider them again in the future for other home repairs.
Response from Handyman Matters
Thank you for the kind words, I'm sorry that we were not able to help you with your project. Please keep us in mind for future projects.
A
7 months ago
I'd Hire Handyman Matters Again
This company is fantastic. I got an appointment within a week of calling them to fix the water damaged dry wall in my bathroom. Brian was assigned to my project. He was on time, reliable, fast, and even fixed my door (it was put on incorrectly) on the last day of working on my bathroom. I will be calling Handyman Matters the next time I need a home improvement project done.
Response from Handyman Matters
Thank you for your business and kind words! It was our pleasure to help you resolve your water damage issues, I am happy to hear that you are pleased with the end results. We look forward to working with you again.
C
7 months ago
Fantastic work that helped sell my house!
I hired Handyman Matters in August of 2016 to fix up my old 1920s house prior to selling it. I was totally thrilled with the quality of the work and the cost. The same handyman came out each time; he was friendly, courteous, prompt, and very skilled. Over the course of a few visits, he replaced some missing siding, put up sheetrock in a basement stairwell, replaced the landing on my basement stairs, fixed two exterior door frames, and fixed a large crack in the kitchen ceiling. To save a little money and time, I went to the home improvement store to get the supplies, and my handyman always gave me clear instructions on what to pick up. I had never used a handyman service prior to hiring Handyman Matters, and I was a little apprehensive. They put my mind at ease, and I would hire Handyman Matters again for any home project big or small. Thanks to their great work, selling my house was a lot smoother!
Response from Handyman Matters
Thank you for your business! I am glad to hear that we were able to help you get your house sold! A relatively small investment in making repairs can yield big results when it comes time to sell. We look forward to working with you in your new home.
T
7 months ago
Professional Service
The project went well, the technician they sent showed up on time, was friendly and knowledgeable. He also answered a few questions I had about other projects while he was here. He left the work area very clean, and helped me move furniture back when he was finished. This is a bigger company with multiple technicians and an office staff, so they answer and return calls promptly, which was important to me as I had been trying to get this work done for a while. I'd gotten a lower estimate from a local one-man operation for this job, but he never showed up to do the work. I was OK with paying a little more for the increased professionalism. Would definitely use this company again.
Response from Handyman Matters
Thank you for the review! I am glad to hear that everything went well with your project. We consider our professionalism to be our differentiating factor and love to see that customers appreciate it!
L
1 year ago
Quality work, No hustling
The project went smoothly with great results. We had a fairly major project of replacing clapboards and windows. We turned to Handyman Matters based on the success we have had with them in the past. In this case, we had multiple quotes from contractors for thousands of dollars more. Handyman Matters explained exactly what needed to be done, how intensive the work would be, and how long we should anticipate it would take. As an example, HM projected the clapboard work would take approximately 2 hours to replace. Meanwhile, contractors were ready to charge 1/2 to 1 full day of work for the clapboards alone. Contractors automatically included replacing our windows as opposed to simply replacing the window frames/sills. Until we spoke with Handyman Matters, we didn't know we could salvage our windows and simply replace the frames/sills. All of these details saved us money, thereby saving us financial headaches! The quality is exactly what you would find a contractor to provide, plus you get the level of trust that there is no "hustling" involved. In addition to this work, they: - Repaired Chimney Flashing - Repaired inside water damage, paint - Repaired Screens - Repaired cabinets - Cleaned and repaired gutters - Replaced Tile - Repaired water damage and lighting in bathroom Plaster walls and ceilings Installed window treatments Our handyman was able to explain what caused many/most of the problems with each of the projects. They were able to find simple solutions to what other contractors relayed as difficult and complex. They are prompt, consistently courteous and trustworthy. They made us more knowledgeable homeowners. Can't get much better than that!
B
1 year ago
I am speechless. They were absolutely terrific!
Rich, the technician who came to my house was organized, neat, professional, friendly, experienced, and if that was not enough, so efficient, that he got the job done for less than the quoted price! I am sold on them. I would not hesitate to hire them again, and would be happy to be a reference for them! Great company, great communication, from management on down!! Very pleased and happy!!
Response from Handyman Matters
We appreciate your kind words. I am happy to hear that Rich was able to resolve your issues quickly for you. Please keep us in mind for any future home improvement projects.