Ace Handyman Services Hartford and New London Counties

Handyman Service

100 Linwood Avenue

Suite 200

Colchester, CT 06415

Home Improvement Contractor: CT HIC # 0664056
Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

10 months ago
Great work highly recommended !
Calvin was professional, friendly & honest.. He arrived early and waited to knock. I would Definitely hire again if needed in future projects!
Response from Ace Handyman Services Hartford and New London Counties
Hi Christina! Thank you for allowing us to help with your home improvement project. We are proud that you are so pleased with the work and service provided by our Craftsman, we try our hardest to make our customers happy. We appreciate you taking the time to give us such a nice review. We look forward to being your home improvement ally in the future!
10 months ago
Great Service
Calvin was extremely friendly, professional highly recommend! Came early and waited to knock! I wouldn’t definitely hire again if I needed in the future!
10 months ago
maybe it's just a weird collection of flukes?
I am disappointed that I am giving this review, but I feel that it's important to be truthful about my experience. Jobs requested: installing 2 gable vents on a two story-house, and patching stucco on the inside ceiling of garage (~10ft tall). 1) Submitted an online request for job estimate, did not hear back for several business days, then when I gave a follow-up phone call, was informed that person wasn't alerted about online request. (I understand this, tech glitches all the time, even in 2022, but this set the backdrop for the rest of my experience). Office was able to locate online request, talked over the job details with me, and later in the day I got an emailed estimate for my projects, and a request that I call back to schedule. Was informed that the project and estimate was talked over with lead craftsman. 2) Call back to schedule, and set up an appointment. Talk it over with the assigned craftsman with as much detail as I can give including necessary heights of the project, and he's collaborating with me on what materials he's gonna purchase and says he can tackle it. Following our discussion over a few phone calls, he says that he wants to reschedule because of weather (totally understand this being that its mostly outdoor projects - installing gable vents - and large rain storm is predicted for that day). He says he'll have the office call me to reschedule. Office doesn't call me, and I have to call the next day to reschedule. 3) Morning of rescheduled date, get a call 13 minutes before the assigned craftsman is supposed to arrive for the job by an office staff member that it needs to be rescheduled due to him having a medical emergency. (Again, I understand this. That needs to be taken care of 100%. Work is nowhere near as important as health). Rescheduled for later in the week. 4) Evening before third appointment, I get a voicemail that the job has to be canceled all together because they don't have the equipment to properly and safely complete the job (i.e., don't have a ladder tall enough to reach gable vent locations). The garage patching job wasn't mentioned, but was canceled as well (disappointing). I understand that not having the equipment to complete the job, and I wished that this limitation came up in initial conversations. I'm just disappointed with what feels like a lack of coordination/communication leading to over-promising a prospective customer and time lost.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Hartford and New London Counties
Hi Mike. Although we endeavor to get it right, every time, we swung and missed on this one. Our Craftsman Calvin determined he did not feel safe doing your project, fearing working at that height on a ladder with power tools, and failed to relay that to you or the office. We did not learn of his concerns until late afternoon the day before the scheduled work, and as soon as we knew, we notified you via telephone message. We did not have the option of scaffolding, etc. at that point, and should have known this well beforehand. We apologize for the inconvenience and poor communication between our Craftsman and you, and the Craftsman with the office staff. We should have done much better.
10 months ago
My service person was very professional, showed up on time. She was pleasent and, did an excellent job. 👍👍👍
Response from Ace Handyman Services Hartford and New London Counties
Hi Kelley! Thank you for your complimentary review of our exceptional Craftswoman Emily and her excellent work. We are proud to have Emily as part of our Ace Handyman Services skilled team of professionals. We appreciate the opportunity to be your home improvement ally and look forward to being of service to you again soon!
10 months ago
Disappointing, The gentleman who came here to work on my house was very sweet. However he said they didn’t give him pictures of what needed to be done even though I sent pictures of what needed to be done. Therefore, we ended up with the wrong supplies and he had to run to Home Depot. Nothing that I had expected to be done got done we switched gears and framed out around my chimney, I don’t believe it was his fault but what looks like it should’ve been under $100 job ended up being over $500 because of the lack of information the person that came to my house had. The few in instances we ran into obstacles should’ve been easily overcome had he had the right information from your company. I did send pictures I did explain in depth what was going on. I’m really not happy. Call me if you’d like to learn more about my experience.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Hartford and New London Counties
Hi Lisa. Thank you for reaching out and clarifying your review. Together, we have determined that photographs of the project were NOT sent, or received, and the office staff member was not spoken with regarding that aspect of the project. Unfortunately, the Craftsman did not have any information other than a small sized drywall repair. Fortunately, our skilled Craftsman was able to work with you and develop a satisfactory remedy for your project. We understand you were unable to remove the review, but appreciate your efforts to correct the information. Thank you again for choosing Ace Handyman Services Hartford-New London for your home improvement!
11 months ago
Emily did an excellent job caulking our bathtub. Professional, friendly and talented!
Response from Ace Handyman Services Hartford and New London Counties
Hello Nancy! Thank you for appreciating the the hard work Emily did for you on your home improvement project. Emily is a highly skilled and proficient Craftswomen who always gets the job done right and on time. We are lucky to have pros like her here at Ace Handyman Services Hartford-New London that provide premier service to our customers. We look forward to helping you again soon.
11 months ago
calvin and emily repaired damaged wood around chimny. calvin was very professional and correctly repaired the damage we are so pleased with the result. would not hesitate to use this service. felt very safe having them in my home . ********** multi star rating over 5
Response from Ace Handyman Services Hartford and New London Counties
Hi Donna! It was our pleasure to be your home improvement ally for your project. Calvin and Emily are two hardworking and talented craftsmen who always do their best to make sure our customers are satisfied, on time and done right. We at Ace Handyman Services Hartford - New London are proud of the skilled work the women and men we employ do for homeowners. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to serving you again.
11 months ago
High quality service and a great Service man.
Chris was on time and VERY PROFESSIONAL. He helped me with my over the stove vent hood, and got it working GOOD AS NEW !! I am going to be RECOMMENDING him to all my friends.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Hartford and New London Counties
Hello Gary! Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend Ace Handyman Services Hartford-New London. We are happy that you are so pleased with the service provided by our skilled Craftsman. We are proud of the work all our talented Craftsman provide, and hope to be your home improvement ally in the future!
12 months ago
Excellent work
Calvin installed an railing in my stairwell. He did an excellent job. It needed to be sturdy for my 84 year old dad to use. Calvin knew what he was doing and did a great job.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Hartford and New London Counties
Hi Julie, we are so glad that Calvin was able to assist you in keeping your father safe in your home. With Calvin's extensive skill set and attention to detail, you can rest assured the project was done correctly and on time. Thank you for allowing Ace Handyman Services Hartford - New London to be your home safety ally.
12 months ago
Efficient and professional
Excellent, professional and friendly service rendered in a timely fashion. Chris was able to explain and fix our heavy glass shower door and place it back on the track in less than an hour.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Hartford and New London Counties
Hello Roz! Thank you so much for appreciating the hard work our Craftsman did on your behalf. All our Craftsman enjoy working with our homeowners and customers. Ace Handyman Services Hartford-New London is here for you in the future as well and looking forward to being you home maintenance ally!