Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care

Auto Repair Shop

7116 North Oak Traffic Way

Gladstone, MO 64118

Open Today 8:00AM - 6:00PM

cottmanofgladstone.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

C
1 month ago
If I could give them a NEGATIVE 5...I WOULD!
If I could give them a Negative 5 stars....I would! DO NOT TAKE YOUR CAR HERE!!! The Husband is "suposedly" the Manager. The Wife owns the place. RUDE, RUDE, RUDE! I brought my car here to get s simple Axle Seal Kit put on for $240. I had spent $250 to purchase a brand new Axle that I had another dealer install with no problem. The Mechanic DID NOT PUT THE AXLE ALL THE WAY IN!!! I picked it up thinking these are "professionals" who know what they are doing. I drove it and heard a loud POP! Then the car stopped moving! I was on my way to work on a deserted highway. Now I'm stuck in the middle of nowhere calling a Tow Truck. I chose NOT to take it back to Cottman Transmission because I knew it was their fault and I did not trust them. I had my car towed to Ford. They informed me that the Axle was not pushed in all the way and popped out. They said the Cottman Mechanic did not install it correctly while installing the Axle Kit. They said it was his fault. So now I owe Ford $950 for fixing it. Cottman trashed my brand new Axle I bought so Ford charged me for another one. So now I'm out $240, $250, and $950. A total amount of $1,440. The so called Manager named Doug Scott was yelling at the Ford Mechanic and the Ford Service Writer. They were explaining to him how his Mechanic did not install the Axle all the way in. He was cussing and screaming at them in front of me. Doug told them the Owner would call me the next day. He said he needed to contact his Corporate office. We did some digging...there is no Corporate Office. He never called me the next day. So we went to Cottman Transmission to speak to the Owner. We spoke to "his wife". AKA..."The Owner". Rude and nasty toward us. We never yelled or caused a scene. She told me..."everybody has a bad day...nobody is perfect". So because your Mechanic had a "bad day"...I am now out $1,440. I was stranded at the side of the highway...had to pay for a Tow Truck...had to spend more money someplace else. She did not think she owed me a dime! DO NOT TAKE YOUR CAR HERE...EVER! THEY DONT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING! When we came in...a man was yelling at them saying he is getting his Lawyer to sue them! They are Scammers! They dont fix your car...they Sabotage it!
K
8 months ago
Liars and thieves
These guys did $2500 body damage to my Jaguar while working on the car and are refusing to pay for it. We had worked out a settlement and Doug Scott put a stop payment on the check. Under no circumstances should you have anything to do with Doug Scott or Cottman Transmission. They are liars and thieves. I am still having problems with the car. I am suing them to collect damages. I would not give them any stars but it won't allow that.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Dear Mr. Wheatley, we are sorry you experienced disappointment with us, and for the various miscommunications that occurred over the course of our interactions with you. That being said, we appreciated the extra time you gave us to sort this out to your satisfaction, following the posting of your review. After all, we will always do whatever we can to make our customers happy. Please reach out to us here at the shop if you have any other questions or concerns. Respectfully, Doug
J
2 years ago
Well done work
Took my 2006 Tacoma in for what I thought was a clutch replacement. The technician checked it out and determined the clutch was fine but the shifter was shot to pieces. The quote for the shifter repair was going to be about half what the clutch replacement would have been. When they called with the final bill, it was about $100 lower than the original quote for the shifter. The bill just kept going down. Shifter works great now and I'm very pleased. They did great work and didn't try to push any unnecessary repairs unlike several other repair shops I have used in the past.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
It's always a great feeling of relief when a repair costs less than you expected, John; thank you for offering us a chance to save you some money, while offering great repairs for your Tacoma! Gratefully, Cottman of Gladstone
D
3 years ago
Respect/Honesty
I was treated with respect! My car had a no crank no start issue. It had been towed 3 times to a Chevy dealer where I had paid over $1,100 with no results. I had been without my car for over 3 weeks. Cottman did a diagnostic test on it, for free, and said that we should take it to a different Chevy dealer, that they recommended, as they felt this dealer could serve us better. Because of their honesty, 2 days later my car is fixed, A big thank you to the guys at Cottman. Because of this experience, I took my van to Cottman to have the transmission serviced. They did a great job. They go above and beyond to give you the best service available, very appreciated and refreshing!!! From now on Cottman will service all my vehicles.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
We always do what we can to help our customers, even if that means recommending another shop that can better suit their needs. Thank you for offering us your trust after we did this very thing for you, and thanks for coming online to tell the world of your experience with us. Gratefully, Cottman of Gladstone
R
3 years ago
You can't go wrong going to Cottman Transmission for getting your car repaired. I took my car for a water pump replacement and they did a great job and it was very, very reasonably priced. I would recommend them for all types of mechanical work. Plus they are fast and very friendly. I would give them 10 stars.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
We agree, Rick! You definitely can't go wrong with our team, here at Cottman. It makes so proud knowing you trust us, and we were very grateful for the opportunity to assist you with your water pump. Thanks for the "10 stars"! Gratefully, Cottman of Gladstone
B
3 years ago
I had a problem with my transmission and tried to fix it myself and failed. I had my vehicle towed to one of Cottman's competitors for a diagnoses. They told me that it had low fluid pressure and it was likely that a pump was bad and if the pump quit working the whole transmission was probably damaged and should be rebuilt or replaced. They recommended that I have them install a re-manufactured transmission, $3,000 to $3,200. I decided to get a second opinion and had it towed to Cottman. Cottman's mechanics were able to find the true source of the low pressure problem. I had improperly installed the transmission filter when I changed the fluid. The problem was solved for less than $300. I am very happy with the service I was provided by Cottman. I am really glad I found a trustworthy mechanic that I can bring all of my future vehicle problems to.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Our team was happy to help you find the source of your transmission problem and get you back on the road, Bill! It means a lot knowing this has earned us your future business, and we want to thank you for your time and patronage. Gratefully, Cottman of Gladstone
A
3 years ago
I have taken my vehicle twice for a check up and they have done with out charging any money. This make me believe that we would get right service at reasonable rate. I would definitely take my vehicle to cottman for service/repairs in future. I would definitely recommend this place to others
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Your review means the world to us, Adarsh! Equally meaningful is the knowledge that you will be choosing us for all of your future vehicle needs. Thank you! Gratefully, Cottman of Gladstone
S
3 years ago
The people at Cottman treated me like I had been a loyal customer for years! They are kind, honest and concerned people...hard to find in the car business! They will be my "go-to-guys" from now on! Thanks all!!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Whether this was your first visit, or your 100th visit, we value your business. It makes us proud knowing this was apparent when you came in, and we want to thank you for your review. See you next time. Gratefully, Cottman of Gladstone
C
3 years ago
Great place!!! I've shopped around and this is my Top~Pick
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
We're honored to be your top pick! Thank you for recommending us and for choosing our Cottman. Gratefully, Cottman of Gladstone
R
3 years ago
Doug and Kenny replaced my transmission and did a superb job. My new transmission has provided trouble-free service. Better yet, I learned that they do other auto maintained besides just transmission work. When I had a problem with a repair made by another business, I took my car to them and they fixed the problem at no charge! Doug and Kenny are local guys who can be trusted to do the right thing at the right price. I highly recommend Cottman of Gladstone for honest and dependable auto maintenance.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Honest and dependable maintenance is definitely what we're about here, Richard. Thank you for taking the time to point that out to the world. We were just happy to help you in any way we could and look forward to future opportunities to do the same. Gratefully, Cottman of Gladstone