Preece Heating And Cooling

HVAC Contractor

1139 West 26th Street

Erie, PA 16508

Open Today 8:00AM - 2:00PM

preeceheatingandcooling.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

T
1 week ago
Best heating and cooling company. Look no further!
We started with Preece when looking for a furnace. The product, installation and cleanup were top notch. The price was also the lowest of six quotes. Later, we added central air. Again, Preece came through with the same quality product, work and cleanliness. One warranty item was replaced for free in the dead of winter with only a service charge. Most recently Preece added ductwork to a room that previously had only a space heater, providing four season climate control. Russ is always available for free home comfort advice. I wouldn't go anywhere else for heating and cooling.
K
3 weeks ago
Shotty install and not impressive product
Preece came in and promised to replace my furnace as well as run duct work to a bedroom over my garage and one to my mud room as you entered the house from the garage. They did just that and did a terrible job of it. The duct to the bedroom kept falling down. The duct to the mud room that runs into the garage was all soft pipe that mice could get in. I argued with them about the shotty install and didn't get much satisfaction. They said the best that they would do is drop off the material (rigid duct that they should have used from the door) and we would have to install it. I have now had this furnace only 9 years and I will admit our heating bills decreased tremendously, but it has quit running 7 times. When I call to talk to them, Russ is arrogant, condescending, rude and offers NO help. My suggestion is run away and find someone else.
Response from Preece Heating And Cooling
We are very sorry that you are still dissatisfied, even after we explained that we will come back and do the requested repairs, free of charge, as it fell under warranty conditions. The furnace and duct work was installed per original proposal. After you began having issues with the flexible duct work tearing, we agreed to drop off new hard duct work, free of charge. And we complied. In January, we responded to an agency request to repair your furnace, free to you, which we did. At no time in the last 9 years have you contacted us as to any issues or to perform annual maintenance. I take that as you had another company doing your repairs and service. Preece is not responsible for how the other company serviced the furnace and how many times it broke due to their repairs. Again, our apologies, and as we stand behind our work, we will come and repair the furnace free under the warranty conditions that apply to the last work we performed for you, as stated on the phone.
A
1 month ago
Professional
These guys ain't amateur's. Highly recommended
D
2 months ago
Prompt but Expensive
My tenant called them to come look at furnace, the filter was clogged and was charged $165.00. Just feel it was a little over the top for something that simple.
Response from Preece Heating And Cooling
Hi sir, I did try to contact you the day i was there, but it was a Saturday and we have a 1 hour minimum charge. I did also clean the flame sensor and checked over the furnace while I was there.
D
5 months ago
Quality service
Had an issue with a dirty flame sensor late in the day. Got a tech here within an hour and had us back to good in 30 minutes. Highly recommend Preece heating and cooling
J
2 years ago
High quality, friendly service
Preece has done several jobs for us. We have them give our furnace and AC a maintenance check every 1-2 years. They do quality work with no unnecessary add-ons..
R
2 years ago
Great
I bought my heating, cooling & hot water tank from these people . Everyone was just great them come & service the units every year ,Judy also help me get all of the rebates I had coming. Thank-You .
Response from Preece Heating And Cooling
Thank you Mr. Pietropaoli! We love having you as one of our loyal customers!
K
3 years ago
FANTASTIC!!!!!
We requested service to install a new furnace and AC unit on a Thursday or Friday and Preece had a crew at our house Tuesday morning the following week. Very professional and had us all hooked up in half a day! Very friendly group of guys and left no mess when they were finished. Absolutely, 100% recommend them!!!! Thank you so much!
J
3 years ago
Better at Cooling than Heating
The Carrier furnace they installed wasn't to the manufacturer's specifications. The air intake pipe rests only 8 inches off of the ground and is just 2 inches from the exhaust pipe. A couple months after installation the intake pipe clogged with snow. When a technician came on a service call they diverted the air intake to take its air from inside the house negating the increased efficiency of the unit. As the temperature turned warmer, the snow melted and filled the motor with water. Another service call to drain the water. We were not shocked, the following winter when we experienced the same problems. Instead of calling Preece for the service call, we called Nerthlings who happens to be a certified Carrier dealer (Preece was not). They informed us that the air intake should have been installed 18 inches above ground, but because of the amount of snow in our region, they usually install them at 36 inches above the ground. When I asked Preece to make necessary corrections they said that they don't do that because it is an eye sore. They told me they would do it, but I would have to pay them for it. To make a long story short, with over 12 instances with no heat since I have owned this unit, and having had to pay for 2 additional motors for my unit, I am not happy with Carrier or Preece. The Carrier air conditioner they installed at the same time has worked and still works wonderfully.
Response from Preece Heating And Cooling
We have gone back numerous times to address these warranty issues for you and the last time we were there (11/19/14) we moved the pvc pipe to where you requested and also gave you a new filter. These service charges will be taken off our books as a token of our attempt at making things right. I apologize if you are still having issues! If you still are having a problem, I would like to discuss this with you personally if you would please call the office. I'm sure that we could come conclusion that would make you happy!
H
3 years ago
FIXED MY BOILER RIGHT AWAY!
I CALLED IN THE MORNING WITH NO HEAT AND WITHIN 2 HOURS HE WAS THERE TO FIX IT. GREAT SERVICE! WORTH EVERY PENNY. I WILL CALL THEM ALL THE TIME!!!!!