Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine

Handyman Service

250 US Route 1

Scarborough, ME 04074

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

B
6 months ago
I was duped
I hired this company to paint my mobile home they sent 1 person and it took her 3 days and she's still wasn't finished.She left a terrible mess at $985 a day! Big paint globs everywhere.No second coats in areas. The franchise owner came over to fix the mistakes which were under warranty,however he was there 3 hours and didn't put a dent in it.I don't believe they are used to doing professional paint jobs and I asked them not to come back. I now have to have the whole place redone. I feel like they should return some of my money.All my friends and relatives and the new paint company said I was ripped off and it looked like a 5 year old painted it.The new painter will charge $40 hour not 985.per day.!! (Kate the office manager was polite)
Response from Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine
This client was not duped. We have records of every phone call and email interaction with this customer. From the very first call, we were upfront of the cost of our service, how many people would be sent(1), and that we worked on time and materials, not a flat bid. We also reiterated more than once that for her purposes, a painting crew would be a more economical choice. This customer chose to hire us anyway. We arrived with the scope of painting two rooms, which she then changed to the entire home, on a tight deadline and among other underlying conditions, which we tried to work around. The finished result was not to her or our standards(although not as stated in her review), and we apologized and let the customer know we would return as many times as needed to fix the issue, at no cost to her. She decided not to have us remedy the situation, and instead write negative reviews online to besmirch a small business that like anyone, does make mistakes. While we can understand her frustration, we have been transparent, responsive, and endeavored to fix her issue to her satisfaction- however, this does require her to work with us to do so.
C
8 months ago
Great experience, quality work with attention to detail
Craftsman Justin G. did an excellent job installing a replacement range fan hood for us. And, he left the work area as clean as it was when he arrived. He also replaced some ceiling tiles in the family room after another "handyman" had started the job, but left an uncompleted mess. Justin not only did a great job installing the replacement tiles, but he also straightened up the mess left by the other handyman. He did such a great job that we couldn't even tell where the new tiles were installed. I would give his work six stars if I could! I highly recommend Ace Handyman Services for any projects around your home.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine
Thank you Charlie, for such a thoughtful review. We appreciate you taking the time! We loved working with you, and look forward to doing so in the future!
S
1 year ago
I would never scedule with thus compny again. I was unable to obtain a specific price.... I did all my research well in advance and picked Ace as the reviews were positive. The service was to be performed on the 24Th of May, 2023. However They have canceled my appountment due to staffung shortages and did not offer me another appointment.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine
Looking back at our records- we spoke with Ms. Gagnon about her project, booked a day, and followed up with an email reiterating our pricing and suggestions. While we were looking forward to working with this customer, we did need to reschedule her project due to a staff illness, which is understandably frustrating. Prior to allowing us to propose a new time on the phone, she hung up on our team coordinator. We wish this customer the best of luck with their project.
A
1 year ago
Don't touch this company with a 10-foot pole.
The rip orff artists wanted $495 for nailing four ~6ft pieces of 2x4. When i refused, they referred my to a collection agency.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine
This review is patently false(even including the amount of his invoice), save the correct statement that we did send this account to a collection agency. Mr. Goykhman hired us in January to install stairs to his second home. We provided clear terms and expectations around service, pricing, model, payment terms and approach to work. We have all of this documented, as Mr. Goykhman communicated primarily via email and our scheduling system. He approved the work plan and estimate. He also agreed to our terms of service requiring payment upon completion of an appointment. There were multiple challenges throughout this process, due to the customer’s refusal to communicate clearly. We arrived multiple times at the job site to an unplowed road. As the customer lives out of state and perhaps is not familiar with Maine winters, we explained that we did need road access to perform the work we were hired for, and that it was not safe for our employees to carry heavy tools and materials over large snowbanks and across ice and snow covered roads. Our Team Coordinator offered a referral for plow services, which he refused. Despite these challenges, we completed the work we were hired to do. We also returned for a second project requested, though we were owed for the first, as he refused payment unless we returned. All work was completed and approved. We provided exemplary labor, materials, consultation, coordination, and time. Our scheduling system is very accurate and tracks travel time, job start time, any breaks, materials, and job completion. We have extensive notes and photographs, as well, from the craftsmen who performed the work. We provided all of this information to Mr. Goyhkman in great detail in accompaniment to his invoice, as well as made ourselves available for any questions or concerns. He did not express any. We were forced to follow up multiple times for any payment whatsoever. Mr Goykhman continually avoided phone calls and refused to answer emails(that our system shows were opened many times). Eventually we explained that were payment not tendered, we would be forced to report the account to collections as well as place a lien on his property. In the end, Mr. Goykhman paid only the invoice for the first project, leaving the second invoice, for $425, unpaid. Our choice was to take the loss, or report the amount to collections. As a small, family owned business, $425 does have an impact. Mr. Goyhkman then disappeared... until a couple of weeks ago, when he reached out to our company to ask us to winterize his home. He then followed up with a phone call to inquire as to why we were not scheduling him for further work. As he has an outstanding balance, we did exercise our right to refuse service.
G
2 years ago
Hire these guys!
Great experience with Ace Handyman Services replacing flooring, fixing drywall, cleaning air vents and a few other odd jobs. Zach was fantastic -- highly experienced, friendly and worked really hard to get the job done. Kate was also great on the phone setting things up and following through. Not only that, they were able to come quickly -- rare these days. Would definitely use them again and highly recommend!
Response from Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, Ginger! We loved working with you on your projects. Thank you for your trust!
M
2 years ago
Trustworthy, great diagnostician, extremely capable and professional
Zach (and Handyman Services) were terrific! They were very personable, great communicators, dependable, easily identified our concerns and went above and beyond to make the necessary repairs on our sliding closet doors, bathroom fan and closet shelving. Zach has excellent carpentry skills, was a pleasure to work with, and I would highly recommend!
Response from Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine
Mary, thank you so much! We really enjoyed working with you, and appreciate you taking the time to write such a thoughtful assessment.
D
2 years ago
Dynamite! ;-)
Today was a quick fix but the greatest benefit was discussing several other projects with Zach for which I was very happy to learn that most, if not all, of them can be completed with Ace Handyman. Woot woot!
Response from Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine
We're so happy you are thrilled, Dawn! Thank you for your business, and this review.
A
2 years ago
EXCELLENT SERVICE!
Had Zack back again to install handrails to the outside deck. Again, can't say enough good things about Ace Handyman Services! They are on time and communication is excellent. We have another project in the works and can't wait to work with them again!
Response from Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, Adriana. We are so grateful for your business, and look forward to working together in the future.
K
2 years ago
High quality service, on-time, efficient, friendly
Zach crams a lot of work into 6 hours and goes above and beyond the job. If he sees something that needs to be done, he does it without asking. He has done plumbing, electrical, pocket door repair. He's installed 2 vanities and numerous light fixtures. Always cleans up after himself and either takes the trash with him or takes it to my garage to be disposed of. Looking forward to the next set of jobs I can find for him to complete to get my house the way I want it.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine
Thank you so much, Kathleen! It's been a pleasure to bring helpful to your home and we are so appreciative of your business and review!
R
2 years ago
Good service, professional and friendly
Reasonably priced and good work - I plan to use ACE Handyman in the future.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Southern Maine
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Rob!