Ace Handyman Services SW Austin

Handyman Service

15950 Ranch Road 12 STE 6

Wimberley, TX 78676

Open Today 8:00AM - 5:00PM

acehandymanservices.com/offices/sw-austin

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
5 days ago
Poor quality, long delays, way over estimate. Had to hire someone else to demolish and restart. Still demanded payment.
Job was to install tongue-and-groove ceiling board on a covered patio. Estimate was for a 1-day job (8 hours) for a price of $2000. All materials were provided, no need to haul away debris. I had lower bids, but wanted to ensure quality. Workers were on time, but did not bring the right tools. --They did not have saw horses or a miter saw. When I noticed this later in the day, I lent them saw horses. After 6 hours, mostly spent on cell phones, the crew went home with approximately 20% of the are covered. They said it would take another day, but it would be at least two weeks before they could return. The next day, I received an invoice from the manager for $1000 for the first day's work, and an updated estimate for $3000 to finish (50% over initial). I informed the manager I was not happy with the price increase, and being billed with only a fraction complete. She did eventually offer a free-day, however, it was not a positive interaction. I became concerned the crew might rush or cut corners to finish. I went outside to inspect the quality of the work to determine if we should proceed. The quality was not there. The boards were cut to length free-hand with a dull circular saw. --Many of the cuts were ragged, not square, or had corners rounded off. There were gaps of 5/16" on the ends and where boards came together. The paint was damaged by stacking boards for cutting (no saw horses). I sent photos to the office manager, to no effect. I ended up cancelling the second appointment with Ace, and hiring a different contractor to take the installed boards down and restart. Unfortunately, the removed boards were full of nails and not reusable, at a materials cost of $400. Much to my surprise, I was still charged $1000 by Ace for labor, and was told I had 30 days to pay it. Since the work needed to be demolished and redone by another company, I did not believe this was fair. I paid the bill to avoid collections. I will not call or recommend Ace for any future projects. --Despite the name, you just don't know who they will send, or what experience they'll have. What I can say is that they will not stand behind the work.
Response from Ace Handyman Services SW Austin
We are sorry that your experience with Ace was less than satisfactory, we take our customer feedback very seriously. When booking appointments we make it very clear that we do not bid jobs but provide a very rough guess over the phone as to how long a job may take and then our experienced craftsman provide a more accurate estimate when they arrive. You had originally talked to us about this project months before and decided not to move forward with us because you felt you could get it done cheaper. After our craftsman arrived it appeared that you had hired someone else prior to this and the work they had done was very poor and so it was going to take a much longer time to fix the previous work than thought based on conversations or pictures. At that time we provided you with an updated estimate as per our standard procedure and its up to the customer if they want to move forward. We offered you a large discount as is to account for your dissatisfaction. We apologize that there was a misunderstanding when we laid out our process as we cannot provide a firm bid for an extensive job like this over the phone and expect that things will never change when we actually get onsite and see the job first hand.
C
1 month ago
Entertainment Center
Since the above post Alex has been to our home three times, The first time I had a checklist of various home repairs. About a month ago, Alex installed a ring doorbell and bathroom grab bar as well as completing a smaller checklist of items. Yesterday, 8/22, he was back to install shelving in two entertainment areas upstairs, downstairs that had previously housed built in televisions. His concept (using a beautiful blacked grained wood) and execution were beyond my expectations. I had put this project off for five years dreading the cost and work involved in finding someone to match the existing cabinetry wood. Alex’s concept is much more aesthetically pleasing, as well as functional and economical, A TV can go in both areas, but for now we like it open. Alex drilled holes do that the top shelf can be moved up or down and actually out of sight at the very top behind the frame. Added to his craftsmanship is that Alex is intelligent, mild mannered and nice to work with. The completed project is posted on the website cover. Thank you Alex. Office Manager Michelle Smith is incredible with her follow through and attention to communications. Cynthia and Bill
A
9 months ago
Excellent Service
Your representative was awesome. Was smart, efficient and a problem solver. Great work! Already making a list for more projects.
Response from Ace Handyman Services SW Austin
Al, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that Cody was efficient and you loved his honesty and work ethics. We hope to send him back out for you again for any other projects you want to throw his way. We love taking care of wonderful clients like yourself--THANK YOU!
S
9 months ago
Furniture Assembly/Laundry Rack
Cody, once again, meticulously assemble an important piece of furniture for the dining room. Also, he did a great job attaching a complicated laudry rack to the wall of the laundry room. Tricky location, well executed.
Response from Ace Handyman Services SW Austin
Your such a wonderful client Mr Shipman, thank you so very much for taking the time to give us your review and positive feedback for Cody. We love taking care of all your important projects ; )...cheers
R
9 months ago
Very efficient with their time and does quality work.
Response from Ace Handyman Services SW Austin
Mr Toney, You are very kind in taking the time to give Alex your positive feed back, that means a lot to us to hear that we were please with their professionalism and repairs. We hope that you keep us in mind whenever you need Alex to assist you with any other projects that you might have in the future, you were a wonderful client for us!
A
9 months ago
Exceptional Service Delivered
The installation of my new write-on glass white board was done perfectly. The installer was on time and took care to have it all done perfectly. I would recommend using them.
Response from Ace Handyman Services SW Austin
Thank you very much Mr Gonzalez for your positive feed back, and taking the time to let us know that Cody got your board installed perfectly, and that you were pleased with our professional services.
D
9 months ago
Excellent Job
I had Ace come out to put together a playhouse for my girls (Christmas gift) and they did an EXCELLENT job of taking care of it quickly and professionally. I would highly recommend using them in the future.
Response from Ace Handyman Services SW Austin
Mr Hawkins, thank you so much for your positive feed back for us & Cody. From Michelle taking the call and Cody doing the assembly for the playhouse and getting to be "SANTAS" little helpers we really enjoyed this project it was super exciting and we loved doing it for you, I can only imagine your daughters faces on Christmas morning. Super happy to hear that you were pleased with us.
C
9 months ago
Outstanding Craftsman
Alex was at our home today to complete a list of home repairs. From the first phone call Alex was professional and responsive to our home repair needs. He was patient as we wondered about certain items on our list and how they would be executed. Most of all he is skilled and talented. Thank you, Alex for helping us stay in our home. To ACE Handyman Services and Michelle, compliments.
Response from Ace Handyman Services SW Austin
Ms Hayes, Thank you so much for your positive review for Alex and I. We are pleased that Alex was able to get your honey do list taken care of and your able to rest that all your projects were taken care of.
S
9 months ago
Five Stars! Cody was great, the job was tough but he performed like a champ & got it done… looks very professional! He came early and was very polite. Would very much recommend your services. Thanks Ace Handyman Services!
Response from Ace Handyman Services SW Austin
Ms Campbell, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your positive feedback, and we are happy to hear that you were pleased with Codys professionalism. Cody comes from many years of experience and loves to use that to take care of clients like yourself. We take great pride in how our craftsmen work and take great care of our clients
I
9 months ago
Love this company!
2nd 5 star review and still want to acknowledge how much I appreciate this company. Especially Michelle!
Response from Ace Handyman Services SW Austin
Thank you so much Ingrid, yall have been an amazing company to work for, thank you so much for your positive feed back for Alex & I!!