Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care

Auto Repair Shop

4503 N Roxboro Rd

Durham, NC 27704

Open Today 8:00AM - 2:00PM

durhamtransmission.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

D
3 weeks ago
Top Shelf Service
Great service. My Wife and I had a transmission issue. The service we received was great. They took the time to show us the problem. Very professional and very fair prices. If you don't go here first for your auto needs, then great service is not important to you.
K
3 months ago
Helpful, professional and friendly advice
My granddaughter went to Cottman's on 5/24/2017 because her car failed to pass inspection. She had been given three codes that were obtained when the mechanic who did that inspection ran a diagnostic scan on her car. She was told that, at least, one of the codes pointed to trouble with the transmission in her car. The General Manager at Cottman's, Jody Preston, was friendly and helpful. He took time to drive her car, check her fluid levels, rescan the car and give it a thorough inspection. All of this was done free of charge. After Jody did his inspection, he gave her advice so that she would know how to proceed and be able to get resolutions to the problem codes that were found. We appreciated his helpful, friendly attitude and the recommendations that he made. The advice that he gave her helped to allay her fears and gave her a plan of action. We will certainly use Cottman's in the future and will recommend it to our friends and family.
C
5 months ago
The were thorough with their work and went above and beyond. Thanks so much Cottman!!!!
L
9 months ago
Awesome service!
Was told my car needed a torque converter and they recommended Cottmans. I took it to Cottmans expecting a 2,000 bill. They were very thorough and honest and ended up fixing the car for 200 dollars. Highly recommend the place!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Your high recommendation is greatly appreciated, Lisa, and it makes our team happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for sharing your kind words, and we look forward to serving you more honest and thorough service the next time you're in need of our care. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
L
11 months ago
Very knowledgeable and friendly!
I just wanted to let you know that I had a really great experience at your Durham, Roxboro Rd. location. Jeff was very knowledgeable and friendly. I dropped my car off on Friday and he indicated that it maybe Monday before they had any word on what needed to be done. When I call first thing Monday morning he indicated that they still hadn’t had a chance to get to my car but promised to call me in the afternoon. He kept his word. The estimated cost and day that my vehicle would be ready was accurate. Even though it cost me a small fortune it was still a pleasant experience.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you for letting us know you had the perfect experience at our Cottman, Lakisha! It was truly our honor and pleasure to serve you in your vehicle needs. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
E
11 months ago
Rebuilt Transmission
I had my transmission completely rebuilt at cottonman transmission they did a wonderful job. My vehicle hasn't driven better. The simplicity and ease of billing was as I expected. The staff was completely knowledgeable and payed close attention to all my concerns. I recently stopped by several months after they repaired my vehicle. Although my car was out of warranty the wonderful friendly staff serviced my car at no additional cost. Thank you CottmanTransmission I would definitely recommend them to any friend or family member they have shown me, that they care about their customers.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
We will be happy to welcome you back the next time you need assistance, as well as any friends and family you send our way. Thank you so much, Eric! Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
R
11 months ago
Quality Work
In December I had a lot of work done on my transmission by these guys, and it was not a good experience. About a month ago my transmission had trouble - all the sudden it had a huge leak, and somehow the front axle had separated from the transmission. Didn't hit anything with the car, so this seemed bizarre. This was very troubling, but since the transmission was under warranty I took it back. I was pleased to see that this location is under new management. Jeff, took care of me right away and he even gave me an extra breakfast burrito he had when I dropped my car off. He had only been there a couple of weeks, and was short on staff so it took them 3 weeks for them to get my car fixed. This was frustrating, and after about a week I got a call from Jeff saying that the mechanic that was working on my car quit his job and my key was lost. So I had to bring another car key over to the shop. I was upset as they weren't sure what exactly what was wrong with the car, what they were responsible for, what I was responsible for, the cost, and how long it would take to fix. After my car had been sitting there 2 weeks I got a nice call from the Jody, the General Manager in Greensboro. By the way this was not the same Jody (store mgr) that I worked with in December, thank goodness. Jody apologized for the key being lost, and offered me a rental car and really listened to my concerns. Even though I felt like there was a lack of communication and a misunderstanding from Jeff early on (ie at first he thought my transmission was not under warranty), he was always patient and professional with me. Jeff really came through in the end and his communication improved a lot. Finally my car was fixed, but I still didn't know what it was going to cost. I was expecting to have to pay for the axle, however Jeff told me there was no charge and that all he wanted was a happy customer. I was pleasantly surprised, and I appreciate Jeff and Jody for footing the bill for all my troubles. No store is perfect all the time, but these guys did what was right and I'm thankful for their help!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Rob, working with you to ensure your vehicle got safely back on the road, and doing what we could to ensure your satisfaction, was an honor and pleasure. Thank you for the opportunity and thanks for your feedback. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
S
11 months ago
Excellent service and professionalism!!!
I just left Cottman Transmission on Roxboro road and has a wonderful experience. The manager and the staff was very friendly and honest in their dealings. Being a woman with no experience with auto mechanics, it is always scary to go to get your car checked out for fear of being ripped off. My check engine light was on and my car was saying there was sensor issue. The mechanic checked out the car and cleared the sensor error. They could not find any problems and gave me reason on why I may have received this code initially and that it probably just needed to be reset. The codes and check engine light did not come back up once cleared, and they did not see any problems with the transmission! They were honest and that speaks volumes to me. I will definitely recommend them to others and go back to them if I have issues again.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
No matter who you are or what your vehicle's issue, we take pride in helping you with only the best advice, along with great service and professionalism. It makes our entire team proud to know you found nothing less. Thank you so much, Sherri! Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
T
11 months ago
Check engine light
I had a check engine light come on and my regular repair shop said it indicated a bad transmission. They recommended that I take the car to Cottman Transmission in Durham and see Jeff. I followed their recommendation and am glad I did. Jeff at Cottman handled everything. He showed me around their shop and gave me a good sense of what needed to be done and how they would do it. He was very courteous and clear and when I picked the car up, he said to come back in a week and he would check the repairs to make sure everything was working the way it should. He also went the extra mile to keep the cost within the range he quoted when an unexpected issue showed. Thanks for your professionalism Jeff!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Professionalism, along with only the best in repairs, is exactly what our customers deserve. Thank you for being one of those customers, and then for validating our efforts with your rating and review. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
S
1 year ago
Go Quickly or be Towed
The transmission didn’t seem right on Tuesday evening, but maybe I was just a little stressed and trying to get to the meeting. On Wednesday I decided that something was wrong. On Thursday I had my son drive and his first comment was “Hey, WHAT was that.” I explained the symptoms to my regular mechanic and his only response was “Here’s a coupon for Cottman’s” I called and was asked to bring it in Friday at 9 AM. I took the backroads because I didn’t want to have a break down on the Interstate. Great service, good communications, and back in the driver’s in three days. Cottman keeps you rolling!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Keeping you and your vehicle rolling is our absolute pleasure, Sankey! Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience online. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham