Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care

Auto Repair Shop

4503 N Roxboro Rd

Durham, NC 27704

Open Today 8:00AM - 6:00PM

durhamtransmission.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

M
4 years ago
My name is Mark Shaw. I am a businessman as well as a Pastor here in Durham. I am writing about my experience with the Cottman Transmission family. I have known and used Cottman for all major transmission issues that I or others I know have had for quite some time. I have 5 daughters, a wife and mother that I am responsible for. Cottman is and has always been polite as well as honest when dealing with me and my family.I never have to pay to have my vehicles analyzed. Most importantly is the fact that recently on my daughter's 2013 Ford Focus it was Cottman Transmission that discovered major internal problems and took it upon themselves to check on the warranty, contact University Ford and make arrangements to have to car towed to be repaired. I could not have asked for anything more. I say thank you Cottman Transmission. You guys are the best!!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Mark thank you for the kind words, we look forward to helping you and your family in the future. Thank you from all of us here at Cottman.
J
4 years ago
Watch city man in Durham
I had my 2007 Nissan maxims in the shop I was told it needed to come out ok fine then they try to hit me at whopping $3200 to fix it then i ßhopped around for a diffrent transmission at 2200 but found a used one for 1000 plus install now they say they can fix mine for 1700 i feel like somebody gonna retire on me jody baron was harsh to deal with and jody preston the general manager makes me feel so belittled and all I heard the employees complaining about how they get pay and they are always broke and missrbule I will never give anybody my recmondation to go there sorry but no a good experience
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Jon, Our customers have come to know us for honesty, professionalism, and above all, reliable repairs. We're very sorry you feel you received otherwise when you brought us your Nissan, and what you describe is certainly not a reflection of our standards. If there is anything we can do to earn your trust moving forward, please let us know by emailing durham@cottmanauto.com. Respectfully, Cottman of Durham
T
4 years ago
I am very satisfied with the quality of work and service on my vehicle thus far. It seems that the condition of the transmission ultimately determines the lifespan of the vehicle. On my follow-up visit (following a failed state emissions test), the technician left no wire unchecked in making sure that my "Check Engine" light didn't stay lit after I left the garage. I greatly appreciate that, and even more that his service was covered by the repair warranty!! He was honest about the causes of the "light problem", and thus far he remains correct...no more "Check Engine" light!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
We always want our guests to drive away knowing they received friendly and helpful service, so our team is thrilled to read you did and that your Check Engine light problem was solved! We appreciate all of your positive feedback, Timothy, and we hope to work with you again in the future. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
C
4 years ago
Another shop was trying to sell me a used transmission but Cottman's told me what was really wrong with my car. They explained everything.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
We’re honored by your trust in our team and we’re pleased to know you left completely satisfied with your Cottman experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and for letting us take care of you! Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
A
4 years ago
Amazing service and honesty. After being screwed over royally by N-Tune Automotive on Erwin St. Who checked my car as requested then tried to charge me 150.00 for a repair that was never approved. Cottman of Durham found the problem and came up with the proper resolution in a timely manner.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
It was a joy to read your review, Alex. Thank you for taking the time to write it, and for sharing your experiences with our team. Cottman has built a reputation for always providing the kind of service you describe, and we attribute this to how much we value integrity in everything we do. Thank you for pointing out that we are living up to our values and for coming to see us. Please let us know the next time you need anything. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
C
4 years ago
Cottman Transmission has done a fantastic job. I have had no problems. The price was fair. I had gone to other places and it seemed like the other places were trying to gouge me. I have been to Cottman Transmission several times now.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you for your review. Our focus isn’t only on offering your vehicle an efficient maintenance, but also on providing you the absolute best experience with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and thank you again for your comments as well as choosing Cottman. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
C
4 years ago
We dropped our car of at 8:00 am on Monday, and by 5:30 PM that same Monday, it was done. They rebuilt our transmission in one day and I am driving it now happily.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Hi! We’re glad we could help with your vehicle's transmission, and thank you for the amazing review! Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
C
4 years ago
My experience with Cottman Transmission Durham has been very good. I have used them for years, since about 2003 or 2004, and I have had no problems at all.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Knowing you have absolute trust in us makes us very proud! We appreciate your continued business throughout the last few years, and thank you so much for the wonderful compliment about our team. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
K
4 years ago
They repaired my 1997 Honda CRV transmission and it is running like a new one. Thanks to all.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you, Ken, for your five-star review. We're glad we could provide you with excellent service, and get your vehicle's transmission back and running like a new one! Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
C
4 years ago
Cottman Transmission Durham did a good job fixing my transmission. They maintained great communication with me throughout the process. I am pleased with the results so far. I think that Mike is running a really good shop there.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you for your great, five-star review! We appreciate your business and hope you'll keep coming back to us for years to come. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham