Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care

Auto Repair Shop

4503 N Roxboro Rd

Durham, NC 27704

Closed Today Closed

durhamtransmission.com

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

L
3 years ago
Very knowledgeable and friendly!
I just wanted to let you know that I had a really great experience at your Durham, Roxboro Rd. location. Jeff was very knowledgeable and friendly. I dropped my car off on Friday and he indicated that it maybe Monday before they had any word on what needed to be done. When I call first thing Monday morning he indicated that they still hadn’t had a chance to get to my car but promised to call me in the afternoon. He kept his word. The estimated cost and day that my vehicle would be ready was accurate. Even though it cost me a small fortune it was still a pleasant experience.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you for letting us know you had the perfect experience at our Cottman, Lakisha! It was truly our honor and pleasure to serve you in your vehicle needs. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
E
3 years ago
Rebuilt Transmission
I had my transmission completely rebuilt at cottonman transmission they did a wonderful job. My vehicle hasn't driven better. The simplicity and ease of billing was as I expected. The staff was completely knowledgeable and payed close attention to all my concerns. I recently stopped by several months after they repaired my vehicle. Although my car was out of warranty the wonderful friendly staff serviced my car at no additional cost. Thank you CottmanTransmission I would definitely recommend them to any friend or family member they have shown me, that they care about their customers.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
We will be happy to welcome you back the next time you need assistance, as well as any friends and family you send our way. Thank you so much, Eric! Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
R
3 years ago
Quality Work
In December I had a lot of work done on my transmission by these guys, and it was not a good experience. About a month ago my transmission had trouble - all the sudden it had a huge leak, and somehow the front axle had separated from the transmission. Didn't hit anything with the car, so this seemed bizarre. This was very troubling, but since the transmission was under warranty I took it back. I was pleased to see that this location is under new management. Jeff, took care of me right away and he even gave me an extra breakfast burrito he had when I dropped my car off. He had only been there a couple of weeks, and was short on staff so it took them 3 weeks for them to get my car fixed. This was frustrating, and after about a week I got a call from Jeff saying that the mechanic that was working on my car quit his job and my key was lost. So I had to bring another car key over to the shop. I was upset as they weren't sure what exactly what was wrong with the car, what they were responsible for, what I was responsible for, the cost, and how long it would take to fix. After my car had been sitting there 2 weeks I got a nice call from the Jody, the General Manager in Greensboro. By the way this was not the same Jody (store mgr) that I worked with in December, thank goodness. Jody apologized for the key being lost, and offered me a rental car and really listened to my concerns. Even though I felt like there was a lack of communication and a misunderstanding from Jeff early on (ie at first he thought my transmission was not under warranty), he was always patient and professional with me. Jeff really came through in the end and his communication improved a lot. Finally my car was fixed, but I still didn't know what it was going to cost. I was expecting to have to pay for the axle, however Jeff told me there was no charge and that all he wanted was a happy customer. I was pleasantly surprised, and I appreciate Jeff and Jody for footing the bill for all my troubles. No store is perfect all the time, but these guys did what was right and I'm thankful for their help!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Rob, working with you to ensure your vehicle got safely back on the road, and doing what we could to ensure your satisfaction, was an honor and pleasure. Thank you for the opportunity and thanks for your feedback. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
S
3 years ago
Excellent service and professionalism!!!
I just left Cottman Transmission on Roxboro road and has a wonderful experience. The manager and the staff was very friendly and honest in their dealings. Being a woman with no experience with auto mechanics, it is always scary to go to get your car checked out for fear of being ripped off. My check engine light was on and my car was saying there was sensor issue. The mechanic checked out the car and cleared the sensor error. They could not find any problems and gave me reason on why I may have received this code initially and that it probably just needed to be reset. The codes and check engine light did not come back up once cleared, and they did not see any problems with the transmission! They were honest and that speaks volumes to me. I will definitely recommend them to others and go back to them if I have issues again.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
No matter who you are or what your vehicle's issue, we take pride in helping you with only the best advice, along with great service and professionalism. It makes our entire team proud to know you found nothing less. Thank you so much, Sherri! Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
T
3 years ago
Check engine light
I had a check engine light come on and my regular repair shop said it indicated a bad transmission. They recommended that I take the car to Cottman Transmission in Durham and see Jeff. I followed their recommendation and am glad I did. Jeff at Cottman handled everything. He showed me around their shop and gave me a good sense of what needed to be done and how they would do it. He was very courteous and clear and when I picked the car up, he said to come back in a week and he would check the repairs to make sure everything was working the way it should. He also went the extra mile to keep the cost within the range he quoted when an unexpected issue showed. Thanks for your professionalism Jeff!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Professionalism, along with only the best in repairs, is exactly what our customers deserve. Thank you for being one of those customers, and then for validating our efforts with your rating and review. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
S
3 years ago
Go Quickly or be Towed
The transmission didn’t seem right on Tuesday evening, but maybe I was just a little stressed and trying to get to the meeting. On Wednesday I decided that something was wrong. On Thursday I had my son drive and his first comment was “Hey, WHAT was that.” I explained the symptoms to my regular mechanic and his only response was “Here’s a coupon for Cottman’s” I called and was asked to bring it in Friday at 9 AM. I took the backroads because I didn’t want to have a break down on the Interstate. Great service, good communications, and back in the driver’s in three days. Cottman keeps you rolling!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Keeping you and your vehicle rolling is our absolute pleasure, Sankey! Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience online. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
S
3 years ago
Correction On My Review (5 Star Service)
This is in response to your reply. I truly don't know what happened to the other 4 stars in my review. That was the very start of my review. I clicked 5 stars. There is no way that Cottman Transmission on N. Roxboro Street deserves 1 star. Somehow those extra 4 stars were dropped or over looked. The service I received was outstanding. My review rating is a definite 5 star commentary. Please make the correction to show 5 stars. Thank you for your great service. I would recommend Cottman Transmission on Roxboro to others.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Thank you so much for the update, Sondra! It makes us proud knowing you found such a perfect experience from our team. Gratefully, Cottman of Durham
S
3 years ago
All Around Professional Service
Last week my nephew and I took his car to Cottman Transmission on N. Roxboro Street. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful manager. There were several problems wrong with my nephew's car. His car is 18 years old with over 152,000 miles. Jeff, the manager, was confident that my nephew's car could be fixed. We were ready to give up on this 18 year old car. All of his professional recommendations turned out to be correct. We needed a rebuilt transmission. Jeff also showed us and explained thoroughly about the transfer casing being removed so they can see what was causing a lot of the problems that my nephew was having with the car. He kept us informed on the work being done. We are so thankful for having the work done at Cottman. Jeff was professional and courteous. He explained the warranty and told us if we have any problems to give him a call. The price was reasonable for all that work that had to be done. We are very pleased with the work that was done. We've had no problems since picking up the car. The car runs smoothly thanks to Jeff's recommendations. Thank you.
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Hello Mrs. Rhyne, Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate great reviews from our customers. However, the star rating that you left for this review indicates an unsatisfactory experience. Judging by the review I am sure your intention was not to leave a single star. If you are for any reason dissatisfied please let us know. If you are completely satisfied with our service, please adjust your star rating. Thank you from all of at Cottman Transmission.
S
3 years ago
High quality service
Thanks to Cottman transmission for taking their time to look at my car to see if I had an issue with my transmission. the staff was very professional and friendly. they also took their time to see what was wrong to with my car. thanks to them they were honest about me not having any problems with my transmission!
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
At Cottman Transmission the Transcheck21Plus service is here to help our customers identify issues before they get out of control. Sometimes our free TransCheck21Plus will reveal problems other than transmission issues, like engine drivability or drivetrain noises that can easily be confused for transmission problems. It was our pleasure to help you, We will be happy to see you in the future. Should the need arise we, are here for you. Thanks for the Great review !!! 5 STARS !!!
J
3 years ago
Professional
Jeff is A1 just like the business he is very honest and professional, he made us smile and he is very understanding and takes out time to help you understand, this is Jonathan thks jeff
Response from Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care
Jonathan Thank you for the review. We love making you smile we hope we can do it again. It was truly our pleasure to serve you; we believe that educating the customer helps them to make informed decisions. Decisions that build relationships that last. Our TransCheck21Plus Service is always free at Cottman. Thanks again Cottman Management