Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh

Handyman Service

1610 Fourth Street

Monongahela, PA 15063

Closed Today Closed

acehandymanservices.com/offices/south-pittsburgh

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

R
2 years ago
Always a great experience
I always enjoy talking to Dave. He listens and understands the projects.
Response from Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh
Thank you so much for your business and positive review! We're so happy to hear you were pleased with Davids's installation of the hose reel and GFI, all at a fair cost too. Don't hesitate to call us in the future for your home repair projects, and we look forward to working with you again!
D
2 years ago
Very Proffesional
The repairman was very professional & courteous. Would recommend.
Response from Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh
Thank you for your business and kind words, Donna. We are happy we could take care of your lamp post and shower rod, and that you are satisfied with the work! Our Craftsman David is multi-skilled in all of the trades and does a wonderful job. Don't hesitate to call us in the future for your home repair projects, and we look forward to working with you again!
L
2 years ago
Great experience and fantastic work!
We had Ace Handyman Services out to replace our outdoor door trim. Rich came and replaced the old wood with the vinyl trim and did a fantastic job! He was punctual, neat, and clean. Worked efficiently and cleaned up the area after he finished. We will definitely use Ace Handyman Services again.
Response from Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh
Thank you for your business and kind words! We are so happy we could take care of your outdoor door trim and that you loved the work! Our Craftsman Rich is multi-skilled in every trade and does a wonderful job. Don't hesitate to call us in the future for your home repair projects, and we look forward to working with you again!
S
2 years ago
Not the quality I had hoped
I had a split entry wooden staircase to be redone. This entailed ordering stair parts most of which I picked up or had delivered to-my home. Oak stair treads and risers were cut as well as 2 new railings and everything was stained and got a clear coat. David Fredrick brought the newel post that was put into the tile floor instead of into the staircase as before. I had approximately 9” for the front door to clear the stairs now I have 4” which is not ideal. The project is apparently more specialized than most handymen want to tackle. Running out of options I hired this company. I now have a rosette wood piece that holds the top railing to the wall with a small crack in it. The railing is not centered on that piece and haven’t gotten a clear answer as to why that is. The wrought iron balusters look good against the wood but the nailing was not uniform so the whole project looks much nicer from afar. Lastly, the project was originally supposed to be 3 days that dragged on over a week. David was taking smoking cigar breaks in his truck which is fine but I don’t think I should pay for them. He arrived later than expected and charged for the full day. Dont recommend.
Response from Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh
Thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear your experience wasn't 5 stars. We have tried to contact you numerous times to make this right for you, but we've had no luck. After speaking with David and our office manager, we were a little confused. We originally estimated 3 days to install the balusters, handrail, and stain, which were complete in 15.75 hours (not including unbillable dry time). When David walked you through his work he showed you the nail holes and offered to fill them in but he was told it wasn't important. While he was there, you presented a great opportunity for us to install 12 overlay riser and treads, stain, and polyurethane the steps which were not part of the original estimate. In regards to David's efficiency and billable time, the longest day he had was 7 hours. You were not billed for his labor/travel when he provided you with custom stain samples on similar pieces of wood. Once you chose the stain and he began his work, it took longer than anticipated because the stain wasn't what you were envisioning and we ended up restaining with a new color. Ultimately, we're here to create a great experience and if our service isn't up to your standard we'll work until it is. We truly hope you'll return our messages so we can make this right for you, but in the meantime, we appreciate the job opportunity and the feedback to improve.
B
2 years ago
High Quality Service, Friendly and Competent
I needed pressure washing completed at my home. Rich did such a wonderful job pressure washing my sidewalk and deck! He was done in no time at all and everything looks so nice and clean! He is a hard worker and very nice to have in your home! Thank you to Rich, and Ace Handyman Services.
Response from Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh
Thank you for your business and kind words, Bev. We are happy we could take care of your pressure washing, and that you are satisfied with the work! Our Craftsman Rich is multi skilled in all of the trades, and does a wonderful job. Don't hesitate to call us in the future for your home repair projects, and we look forward to working with you again!
M
2 years ago
Over priced and did finish job
I talked to the owners of Handyman Matters several times about getting my laundry room painted, and a few other minor repairs. They were very friendly on the phone. I had used them previously about 18 months ago. When the handyman got here he very brusquely ask me what paint was in which can. We had bought all the paint, and emptied everything out of the room in advance. Within 25 minutes of arrival, he said he would not get finished painting in one day! I was startled he would arrive at that conclusion so shortly after beginning the job. The owners never once requested to see the job ahead of time to estimate how long it would take. He painted the room and trim, but did not paint any of the doors. He said his boss said I never mentioned doors. Doesn't a room have doors? He did the other small repairs at the end of the day, with no problem, which is why is why I gave 2 stars instead of one. I think painting was not his strong suit. He said call the office to schedule.another day to do the doors! He was here (counting his cleanup and making out the invoice, 9 hours). The price for the day was just slightly under $800!!!. That was with a $25 coupon. I could kick myself for not asking about charges before booking them. After this experience I would not recommend them for painting, nor for jobs that take a full day.
Response from Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh
The charges for the days work including painting supplies was $ 750 (not $ 800). The room was not empty. We had to remove a coat rack from the wall and replace it after the painting was complete. We also had to disconnect the washer and dryer and move them to access the walls and then move them back and reconnect after completing the painting. Paint around and underneath the laundry tub. The ceiling height was 9’6” tall (standard ceiling is 8”-0”) and we applied 1 coat of paint on the ceiling. 2 coats of tinted paint on the walls and 1 coat of trim paint on the trim. Door painting was not initially requested, however we did offer to do the door painting on another appointment. After completing the painting and putting the room back together, we then installed a toilet seat, installed and adjusted a storm door closer, and replaced a light in master bathroom. Considering the amount of work completed (as listed above), I feel that our craftsman completed all of their projects in a timely manner.
G
3 years ago
Always great service!
We recently used Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh to fix our toilet and install a new shower head. Dave was very nice and worked quickly and efficiently. He actually had the part we needed in his truck and saved us time and money. We always have a great experience with this service.
Response from Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh
Thank you for your business and kind words. We are happy we could take care of your home repairs, and that you are satisfied with the work! Our Craftsman David is multi skilled in all of the trades, and does a wonderful job. Don't hesitate to call us in the future for your home repair projects, and we look forward to working with you again!
S
3 years ago
High Quality Handyman Service
In February, we contacted Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh to install crown molding in our master bedroom. Normally, my husband likes to complete our home repair projects himself, but he had never installed crown molding before. We did some research and found Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh, and we're so happy we did! Rich was our handyman, he arrived on time and did a beautiful job installing the crown molding! We have cathedral ceilings in our bedroom, which made this a more difficult task. Rich was very knowledgeable on how to tackle this project, and it turned out even better than we were expecting! The whole process, from booking the job to completing the work, exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend using Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh!
Response from Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh
Thank you so much for your business, and kind words Sarah! We are so happy you are pleased with the quality of work completed during your crown molding install in the bedroom. With us you're getting hardworking handymen that will work in an efficient manner to get the job done, all at a fair cost too! Hope to hear from you again soon, and thank you again.
B
3 years ago
Wonderful Experience!
I needed a cast iron tub removed and a walk in shower installed. I checked out Handyman Matters and their reviews and contacted them for the installation. They were very friendly on the phone and answered all of my initial questions. They offered to send someone out to review the project with me so we scheduled an appointment. The craftsman that they sent out was very knowledgeable and suggested some things that I had not thought of. They prepared an estimate and we scheduled the work.The craftsmen that came to my home were courteous and respectful of my home. They showed up on time each day and kept me informed along the way. Clean up was done at the end of each day. The new shower with ceramic tile walls looks fantastic. They installed a niche, a corner shelf, and grab bar for my safety. The whole experience went even better than I expected and I loved working with Pat.
Response from Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh
Thank you for this splendid review. We are so pleased you were happy with our service and Craftsman! We agree the ceramic tile walk in shower looks beautiful and is so much better for you (no more stepping over the side of the tub). Enjoy your shower and don't hesitate to call for all of your projects!
B
3 years ago
High quality service and friendly service personnel
I've used Handyman Matters before and each time, they did not disappoint at all! Everyone is very professional and the work done is excellent. Rich did excellent work; our bathrooms look lovely! I look forward to the next project that Handyman Matters will do for me! --Dr. B. Chametzky
Response from Ace Handyman Services South Pittsburgh
Thank you for choosing Handyman Matters to update your bathroom! We are so pleased you are happy with the quality of work that Craftsman Rich completed. He is very skilled at all of the trades and aims to please. It has been a pleasure working with you on your bath remodel projects, please don't hesitate to call when you need us in the future! Thank you again and enjoy your new bathroom!