Mr. Electric of Southwest Missouri

Electrician

2002 E Republic Rd

Springfield, MO 65804

Open Today 24 Hours

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

N
6 months ago
Do Not Recommend
UNETHICAL BUSINESS as stated in one of their other reviews through google. Cheats! Dishonest. Better Business Bureau will be informed of their trickery. Would give no stars if possible. BEWARE when you call this company. They are a trickster with words over the phone. We were led to believe that for $70 a technician would come out and diagnose our issue. She did tell us repairs would be extra, which seems obvious and understandable. However once Gavin (he was a lovely young man just doing his job) arrived he was here less than 15 minutes speaking with us then told us it would be $320 dollars for them to start a diagnostic. We told him we were under the impression that the $70 was for their estimate. We were told to call the manager. We did they were not helpful at all, “we have you on a recorded line” was the ONLY solution she wanted to give us. She refused a refund. The page we were given states “trip fee waived” and it most certainly was not. We had another company clear up our issue quickly and professionally, saving grace, unlike Mr. Electric taking advantage when and where they can. We want our $70 back that they made off from us for 15 minutes of talking to us. Edit: They also did not care to cooperate with the BBB in responding to the complaint submitted. They will take whatever $ they can get out of you at their advantage and your expense.
S
6 months ago
Can not say enough about this awesome company!! Edward and Taner were outstanding in their knowledge and professionalism. They were awesome and dealing with bad weather conditions to run power to my shop. 2 thumbs up!! Also, Kathlyn in the office was great. Edward fixed a few things in the shop with no charge. He just wanted to help. You don't see that much these days. Good down to earth people wanting to help with what you got going on. Everybody in the office I talked to through the whole process was awesome!! These folks are who you want for any electrical needs.
Response from Mr. Electric of Southwest Missouri
Scott, thank you for your awesome review of Ed and Tanner. We will be sure and pass on your kind words to them. Customer service is a top priority at Mr. Electric and Kathleen does an amazing job running our local call center. Thank you for putting your trust in Mr. Electric! - The team at Mr. Electric
M
12 months ago
Very professional
Mike was great. We have a lot of service people here over the last 20 years, and he was really the best. I would recommend this company and Mike to anyone.
Response from Mr. Electric of Southwest Missouri
Thank you Mary! Mike is a very skilled professional and provides superior customer service. We are so pleased that you would recommend Mr. Electric and Mike! - The Team at Mr. Electric
P
1 year ago
Second experience with this great company!
This is my second experience with Mr Electric. Once again I had a wonderful experience with this company and their staff. Last visit I had Ed who was very informative and had a delightful personality. This time I had David, who was very personable and easy to discuss my electrical needs. He completed work in a timely matter and I am overall happy with the service provided. Would deal with either of these two electricians in the future.
Response from Mr. Electric of Southwest Missouri
Patrick, thank you for your kind words about Ed and David. They are upstanding gentlemen and true professionals. We appreciate your trust in Mr. Electric. - The team at Mr. Electric
S
1 year ago
Very professional service, very kind and considerate technician. Will definitely be asking for him to come back when needed
Mr Alex McGuire was our technician today. We found him to be quite kind, very professional, he did a wonderful safety check and his work was exceptional. We will definitely be asking for him the next time we need somebody
Response from Mr. Electric of Southwest Missouri
Thanks for the awesome review Steve! We think rather highly of Mr. Alex also. We will be sure and share your words with him! Thank you for trusting Mr. Electric with your service needs. - The Team at Mr. Electric
R
1 year ago
0/10 Steer Clear. Don't even get a quote. Do not make eye contact. You will pay hundreds of dollars.
***I'd like to remind everyone who has been wronged by Mr. Electric and owner Nathanael Toms that you have rights as a consumer. I encourage you to do as I have and file a complaint with the BBB and the office of the Attorney General (links below). You deserve to be treated fairly in business, and it's only when we stand up to these deceptive practices that a change will be made. https://www.bbb.org/us/mo/springfield/profile/electrician/mr-electric-of-southwest-missouri-0734-33320/complaints https://ago.mo.gov/app/consumercomplaint SUMMARY: Inhumane, greedy swindlers. Steer clear. They present well on the phone and have lots of availability, but they use that as a reason to aggressively overcharge for the actual services. Charged us $387 for a quote (labeled it a “diagnostic fee”) and to move an existing outlet up half an inch. The technician talked me out of doing 90% of the work he quoted. Furthermore, he didn't even raise the outlet as high as I wanted it. I had to talk him into doing it at all. He originally suggested just cutting the bottom off an outlet cover so it would fit. I left to get my kid from school and came back to a $387 bill for 15 minutes of work. I told the technician that seemed awfully steep and he said it was because he ran a diagnostic. I couldn’t argue the price because I was in a vulnerable position with my two small children present and didn’t feel comfortable declining to pay that amount with a strange man in my house, so I wrote the check and signed. After over week of emailing back and forth with a manager, we were offered a $100 refund. We are concerned that the company stands by their deceptive practices, so we refused the money and told them we would be taking further action to bring awareness to their deceptive pricing as this is illegal behavior. I looked through the Mr. Electric reviews on every site that offers them, and blindsiding hardworking people with a phony $300+ fee for a quote and labeling it a “diagnostic fee” seems to be a pricing strategy for this company. We’ve learned our lesson and are sounding the alarm to help others avoid being cheated out of their money.
Response from Mr. Electric of Southwest Missouri
Rachel - We do not have a $300 plus fee on every job. There are lots of jobs that are less than that. Our manager was trying to show some good faith by offering some compensation for your experience. We are sorry that the price did not align with your expectations. It is our understanding that you chose not to go forward with the other work once the technician returned from his van. We strive to provide honest and professional service at all costs. It saddens us to hear of your unfortunate experience.
J
2 years ago
Do not hire
Highway robberly way overcharge I think I knew more than tech more worried about Bill than fix I finally had to tell tech what was wrong do hire this company
Response from Mr. Electric of Southwest Missouri
It's disappointing to see your feedback. We understand that after attempting to work on your electrical yourself, you reached out to us to for input and help. Our service professional completed a diagnostic on your system and discussed the details of the situation. We informed you that we would need to charge you for junction repair to change out the transformers at the property. We understand that you felt our diagnostic charge should have covered everything, which is not the case. After taking the time to review our service notes, we stand behind the recommendations we made for your repairs. We understand that you declined to have us perform the rest of the work, and we would be glad to speak with you directly if we can provide any more clarity
B
2 years ago
Exorbitant price charged for VERY SMALL JOB
Exorbitant price for 1 light switch, 1 outlet, 2 screw-on wire end covers and labor ( about 30-40 minutes ) Dispatch fee of $70 was waived, no estimate was given, $20 was cost of material used. Total cost HANG ON TO YOUR HATS was $431.00 I am more than angry…..this iS PRICE GOUGING and I feel like I’ve been scammed and with the economy in the toilet anyway to do this to an 83 year old widow woman on a very limited income is just WRONG on so many levels. Barb O
D
2 years ago
Highly Professional and Friendly
James was very polite, professional and did an outstanding job. He explained the problems and options very clearly to us. No question as to who we will call for electrical work going forward. Electricity is not something to mess around with. You need someone experienced that knows what they are doing and it is not something to cut corners on. You get what you pay for, and we feel the cost for James work was reasonable and fair. Thank you James!
Response from Mr. Electric of Southwest Missouri
Thanks for your 5 star review of James and Mr. Electric. As a Master Electrician, James is very meticulous and takes pride in his work. Thank you for trusting Mr. Electric! - The Team at Mr. Electric
N
3 years ago
Professional and knowledgeable
Mike was on time, professional, and very knowledgeable. He kept us informed and made suggestions for the safety of our home. We’re very happy with his work and will call him when we need electrical work in the future! Kudos to Mr. Electric.