Ace Handyman Services Columbia

Handyman Service

6235 Sykesville Road

Eldersburg, MD 21784

Open Today By Appointment

acehandymanservices.com/offices/columbia

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

J
4 years ago
Great service
Great service fair prices and no mess.
S
5 years ago
Never Returned Call
I am in need of the replacement of my pull-down attic stairs. When my wife described the job to the woman who answered the telephone at the office of Handyman Matters, she assured her that "Brian" would return the call. That call is yet to be received. A.E.S. Builders, whom I hold in high regard, recommended Handyman Matters to me because of the size of the job, and I could not be more surprised nor disappointed. If Handyman Matters was not interested, someone could have at least called to decline. Was that too much to ask? I can only assume that it was.
A
5 years ago
Very good and efficient service
Chuck worked with a series of different problems in each residence in our 5 unit apartment building. He was personable, but focused and very efficient. He did, in 3 hours, what it would have taken me 8+ hours to accomplish.
J
5 years ago
Questionable work
The handyman William was a nice enough guy but the quality of his work was subpar. A drywall patch in our master bathroom needs extra trips now because and additional skim coat is needed. And the texture of the patch doesn't match the rest of the wall. A brand new bathroom looks awful now. Then we had him look at our kitchen sink to potentially tighten the handle. He took the faucet apart and now we can't get hot water in our kitchen. We were told we need a new faucet and another $95 if we want him to install it, when it worked just fine before he looked at it. Just feel we are getting scammed for multiple visits and unsatisfactory work. We won't use the service again.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Columbia
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Matching drywall usually takes several trips in between coats and we would be happy to come apply additional texturing. We did not know that you were not happy since you had signed the invoice provided by the Craftsman. We always allow clients to purchase their own materials and would love to come back to install a new faucet since the old one was shot. As indicated, we would wave our service charge for the return visit. We have been open since 2004 and customer service is our number one priority! Thanks again. Best, Brian
D
5 years ago
Great Friendly Service!!
Handyman Matters provides great quality service and great customer care. Rose is awesome to deal with and makes the process super easy and fun!
H
6 years ago
Good Carpentry for Stairs
As part of replacing a tank for heating oil we need the stairs leading to a screened porch removed. Once the tank was removed the stairs then had be reinstalled at the original location. The work on the stairs was a small job, but it was essential to the larger project. The carpenter from Handyman Matters accomplished both the removal and installation without difficulty and on schedule. We were pleased with the work, and we intend to use this company again.
V
6 years ago
Knowledgeable worker, but very time consuming
Ultimately, the job (install iron railings on a front porch) was completed to my satisfaction, meaning it looks good. It just took 6 hours, which is about twice the amount of time I thought was required. The worker (obviously very skilled) had about ten boxes of tools, but told me he did not have the correct drill bit (a diamond-tipped bit to cut circles through stone) for the job. Therefore, to create the holes for the railing posts he used small drill bits and chisels. It did not make things better by letting me know it could have gone a lot faster if he had known it was a flagstone on top of concrete, not just concrete. I hired the company to be prepared to do the task, and knowing what I know now about this type of job additional questions should have been asked by the scheduler about the work surfaces. By making assumptions about the job (install railings) the scenario was set up for the laborer to immediately have to go to Plan B (small bits, chisel and hammer). The worker was very knowledgeable, friendly and careful not to damage the flagstone. That care, however, took extra time. I will also never know if the holes that were created are larger than necessary. When the holes were finally cut it took relatively little time to install and level the heavy railings. He knew how to tie them off so they would not sag prior to the quikrete setting, which ensured that after her departed nothing shifted. My final comment is that when the job was completed the time was rounded up to the next full hour (only about 15 minutes extra). Overall the job looks great, but knowing that it could have been done much faster/cheaper with the right tools did not make this a completely satisfying experience.
M
6 years ago
Pet Doors Installation.
My tradesman was named Scott. He showed up promptly on time, ready to work. He was patient and diligent in installation two pet doors, taking his time to read all instructions, and followed the directions well. Great job in a timely manner. I was very happy with the mechanic and the whole job.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Columbia
Thank you so much for your business, and kind words Mark! We're delighted to hear you're beyond satisfied with the work of or handyman Scott. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you again!
J
6 years ago
Getting exactly what I ask for
I love the Handyman Bud, he comes in prepared to work, goes to it, tells me what is happening and allows me to ask how things are going. Since I always have a long list of things to be done but challenged finances, he allows me to say let's do these items and see how much it has cost me approximately so I don't go over budget. What a concept!! I will continue to use your services and refer people to you.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Columbia
Thank you so much for your business, and kind words Joyce! This is such a splendid review, and we are delighted to hear you've had such a positive experience with our handyman Bud. Our handyman work to help you be involved in the process, and will alert you of the progress of the project, doing so in an efficient and cost effective manner. We appreciate you spreading the word about our business, and we hope to hear from you again soon!
R
6 years ago
Good, professional service
Arrived on time, did a good job, reasonably priced. Could do several different kinds of jobs.
Response from Ace Handyman Services Columbia
Thank you so much for your business, and kind words Ruth! We're delighted your experience with us has been one of complete satisfaction. Handyman Matters works to get the job done with our multi-skilled and diligent craftsmen. Hope to hear from you again soon!