Handyman Matters

Handyman Service

Kansas City, MO 64118

Open Today 9:00AM - 5:00PM

handymanmatters.com/offices/kansascity

Write a Review

Describe Your Experience

Tips for writing a great review:
  1. Be specific about your experience and the services that were provided.
  2. Be truthful - this review will help other consumers as well as the business.
  3. Be polite - give feedback in a constructive way.

Your Contact Details

All Reviews

A
3 weeks ago
Done EXACTLY as promised
We had David give an estimate to give us a quality shower, as our current bathtub had a crack and was leaking water into the basement. He came and looked things over and said he would prepare me an estimate. What he proposed was a high quality shower at a fair market price. He had Tim and Loren come to do the work and I have never seen such quality craftsmen before. They knew just what to do and how to do it. There were some hiccups along the way and it took a little longer than expected, but it got done, and done right. They went the extra mile. The only problem is, I need to find a crown to wear in this shower because it makes me feel like a King.
L
1 month ago
Slow service and ridiculously high price!
Gosh, I don't know where to start. It took 5 weeks for this company to get someone to my house in Kansas City to review this problem and another 2 months to get it fixed - and actually it still isn't fixed because the paint they used did not match, so they are going back to repaint. The cost to repair carpet and drywall (after a sump pump was installed by another company) was over $850! I have talked to two repairmen who both estimated the cost should have been under $300 -and those two live in Colorado where the cost of everything is higher than in KC. I will never use this service again and would advise you to set a limit with them if you decide to use them.
R
2 months ago
Excellent work...
Tim did a great job on all our list of projects and completed them in a timely manner.
Response from Handyman Matters
Rob- Thank you, we appreciate the kind review. Handyman Matters is fortunate to have Tim as one of our solid team players.
K
4 months ago
Always professional, polite, and proficient!
I have engaged the services of Handyman Matters on both sides of the state line, and I can state with absolute honesty that they have never failed to deliver a superior job. This time I hired them to replace some siding on my house, and Loren and Tim did an OUTSTANDING job! The work was extremely professional, and they completed it all in a single day. What especially impressed me was how clean and tidy the work site was after their departure; everything was all nicely bagged up and all I had to do was to put it in my garbage! I could not be more pleased, and I give Handyman Matters the highest possible recommendation.
Response from Handyman Matters
Kent - We are glad you had such a positive experience with Handyman Matters of Kansas City, Loren and Tim make such a good team and we are so fortunate to have them.
C
4 months ago
High quality
Tim was very professional and did a great job
M
6 months ago
More than exceeds expectations
I am so pleased with the work Timothy from Handyman Matters performed for me. He arrived at the specified time and was very pleasant and efficient. He replaced a couple rail boards on my deck and shimmed the metal exterior doors in the basement. The work was skilled and neat. I will definitely use Timothy on future projects and highly recommend Handyman Matters for their high standards.
B
6 months ago
Not what I was hoping for
I hired Handyman Matters because a few years ago, I used them and they were great. This time.....my project is not complete and I can't get anyone to get back to me. There are brush strokes on the walls from painting and the trim paint is splattered on the walls, floor and on other surfaces it shouldn't be on. I had several light fixtures replaced. One ceiling fan was put in the wrong room and had to be changed. The outside lights are on crooked and not properly attached all the way. Many times showed up late or not at all. Like I said, my projects are not completed and no one will get back to me.
T
6 months ago
On time, knowledgeable and personable
Misty coordinated every appointment and every step in the process in getting my job completed, Rod was easy to work with and didn't dilly dally around, the house looks better than it has in 6 months
T
6 months ago
On time, knowledgeable and personable
Misty coordinated every appointment and every step in the process in getting my job completed, Rod was easy to work with and didn't dilly dally around, the house looks better than it has in 6 months
B
6 months ago
Chaotic Overall
I will open by saying that the owner called me personally to try and get to an acceptable compromise on the whole situation. But chaotic is the best way to describe my experience. First, I was dealing with multiple office staff providing differing quotes for the same job. This was coupled with the job taking twice the number of hours, which led to the final "price" being twice what I was quoted. While we compromised on the situation, it was not an easy situation to work through on what was a simple single-room drywall job. Just be aware that the "quotes" are provided as estimates and your actual price is based on work time, not on whether it actually takes them as short a time as they estimate. The work was good as expected. But then the "complete" state was a very dirty, extremely dust filled room that we had to clean ourselves. This even included some personal trash of the contractor that worked on the room. So the 2-star is because the owner called to work through a compromise and it was better than the last contractor that quit mid-job with no explanation or contact. But the overall experience was very chaotic, as if processes are still being developed.